RT Genre Spotlight

Romance

Young Adult

Paranormal

Erotica

Science Fiction

Mystery

Mainstream

Inspirational

Featured Top Picks View This Month's Top Picks »

RT Daily Blog View the Blog »

  • Where To Submit Your Manuscript: August 2014

    August 21, 2014 - 12:07pm

    Where To Submit Your Manuscript: August 2014
    You’ve written a book - congratulations! But if you thought that was hard, how about trying to find publishers open to submissions? Lucky for you, we gather open calls each month to help make the submission process a bit easier. This month, we have six exciting opportunities for you and your book. Take a look:Entangled Publishing continues to let the sparks fly with their Lovestruck line, an imprint dedicated to stories that feature a strong “meet-cute”. This is definitely the line for writers who love writing about the instant connection that ignites between two characters when they first meet. Lovestruck is one of Entangled category romance imprints, so all submissions must be driven by tropes.


    Read more »

    By: RT BOOK REVIEWS  |  Tags: Aspiring Authors, Publishing Industry News, RT Daily Blog
  • Spoiler Alert: When Is It Okay To Talk About Spoilery Things?

    August 21, 2014 - 11:02am

    Spoiler Alert: When Is It Okay To Talk About Spoilery Things?
    Spoilers — nobody likes them and nobody likes the person who spoiled a story for you. Friendships have been destroyed, marriages have ended and demons have been summoned because of unwanted spoilers. Okay, none of those things have probably happened due to spoilers, but spoilers are still pretty bad. And while we all agree on their level of awfulness, not everybody agrees on when it’s okay to finally talk about spoilery things.Recently, I was watching Epic Reads’s popular Tea Time video chat when the hosts spoiled Kiera Cass’s The One with a quick side comment. Naturally, I flew into a booknerd rage and wanted to take refuge in a corner and cry. I obviously still love Epic Reads — how could I not? Seriously. They’re amazing.


    Read more »

    By: DJ DeSmyter  |  Tags: RT Daily Blog
  • Cheaper By The Dozen - This Week's Hot E-Book Deals

    August 21, 2014 - 10:48am

    Cheaper By The Dozen - This Week's Hot E-Book Deals
    What do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In this column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee.


    Read more »

    By: RT BOOK REVIEWS  |  Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
  • Movie Thoughts: If I Stay

    August 20, 2014 - 12:00pm

    Movie Thoughts: If I Stay
    Gayle Forman’s If I Stay has been one of my favorite books since I first read it in 2010. It’s actually one of the few books that have made me bawl my eyes out. And I’ve been following the movie adaptation since the rights were first sold. Now, after a change of studios, directors and actors, the movie is a real, live thing. On Monday, I was fortunate enough to see the film at a special advance screening hosted by Refinery29.For those unfamiliar with the book, If I Stay tells the haunting story of Mia, a young cellist who finds herself existing in a sort of limbo state following a fatal car crash that kills her immediate family and leaves her in a coma. She must decide whether to live or to die.


    Read more »

    By: DJ DeSmyter  |  Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
  • Cover Breakdown: Vanishing Girls by Lauren Oliver

    August 20, 2014 - 10:48am

    Cover Breakdown: Vanishing Girls by Lauren Oliver
    It's no secret that I'm a huge fan of Lauren Oliver's work. With lyrical and evocative prose, intriguing characters and always refreshing premises, it's no wonder she's a bestselling author with a legion of fans. Next year, Lauren returns to her YA roots with Vanishing Girls and while we have to suffer the wait for the book, we at least have the pretty cover to tide us over. Let's take a look! Dara and Nick used to be inseparable, but that was before the accident that left Dara’s beautiful face scarred and the two sisters totally estranged.When Dara vanishes on her birthday, Nick thinks Dara is just playing around.


    Read more »

    By: DJ DeSmyter  |  Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
  • Very Short Reviews Of Difficult Books

    August 20, 2014 - 10:36am

    Very Short Reviews Of Difficult Books
    Ah, classic literary fiction. It can be so wonderful, but at times dense, leaving us wishing for a guide to lead us through the venerable prose. Enter: Italian artist and writer Francesco D'Isa, who reviews the classics in a candid, tongue-in-cheek (and very short) way. We're happy to bring his column, "Very Short Reviews of Difficult Books," to English language readers! Check back here every Wednesday for three new reviews from Francesco.Short Stories by H.P. Lovecraft.  If every rational man had an unshakable, irrational faith, Lovecraft's faith would be in the truth that comes from dreams.


    Read more »

    By: RT BOOK REVIEWS  |  Tags: RT Daily Blog
RSS Feeds: All Content | Blogs | More