RT Genre Spotlight

Romance

Young Adult

Paranormal

Erotica

Science Fiction

Mystery

Mainstream

Inspirational

Featured Top Picks View This Month's Top Picks »

RT Daily Blog View the Blog »

  • Cover Breakdown: I'll Meet You There by Heather Demetrios & Kissing in America by Margo Rabb

    October 22, 2014 - 1:06pm

    Cover Breakdown: I'll Meet You There by Heather Demetrios & Kissing in America by Margo Rabb
    It's cover reveal season and we're reveling in all the pretty as we add to our ever-expanding TBR piles. With two recent YA covers we're yearning for road trips, our tired eyes ogling neon signs as we get ready to hit the open road. Want to take a peek at what has us hankering?First up is I'll Meet You There by Heather Demetrios, which comes out February 3, 2015. Set at a quirky motel off the highway, the story stars Skylar and Josh, both of whom were desperately ready to escape the small town of Creek View — until everything changed. Look at this awesome cover! Next is Margo Rabb's Kissing in America.


    Read more »

    By: Elissa Petruzzi  |  Tags: Contemporary Young Adult, RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
  • Cinda Williams Chima: Creating Believable Magic

    October 22, 2014 - 12:05pm

    Cinda Williams Chima: Creating Believable Magic
    Creating a whole new world is one of the most exciting parts of being an author — but it can also be the most grueling. With two YA fantasy series under her belt, Cinda Williams Chima knows a thing or two about worldbuilding. And with The Sorcerer Heir, the latest book in her Heir Chronicles series, hitting shelves today, we wanted to know what tips and insight Cinda has for worldbuilding. Here's what she had to say:People associate worldbuilding with fantasy writers, but all writers need to master it. For example, if I set a novel in a small Georgia town or coastal Maine, I have to make that setting real to people who’ve never been there.


    Read more »

    By: DJ DeSmyter  |  Tags: RT Daily Blog, Science Fiction, Young Adult
  • Very Short Reviews of Difficult Books

    October 22, 2014 - 10:23am

    Very Short Reviews of Difficult Books
    Ah, classic literary fiction. It can be so wonderful, but at times dense, leaving us wishing for a guide to lead us through the venerable prose. Enter: Italian artist and writer Francesco D'Isa, who reviews the classics in a candid, tongue-in-cheek (and very short) way. We're happy to bring his column, "Very Short Reviews of Difficult Books," to English language readers! Check back here every Wednesday for three new reviews from Francesco.Our Need for Consolation is Insatiable by Stig Dagerman Almost a suicide letter, where when confronted with the absence of any consolation our only freedom is suicide. The happy ending is obviously a bluff.


    Read more »

    By:   |  Tags: RT Daily Blog
  • Unbosoming: Jay Crownover

    October 21, 2014 - 12:26pm

    Unbosoming: Jay Crownover
    We love authors, it's true. And sometimes we want to know more than just what their next book is about. So we asked, and they answered. Our very first victim, er, volunteer is New Adult and contemporary romance superstar Jay Crownover, whose Top Pick! Rowdy is out this week. What was the first book you read that meant something to you? The Catcher in the Rye. I thought I was Holden, then I wanted to date Holden when I got older, I still wanna date Holden now that I'm grown — which is creepy. What book do you wish you could live in? The Outsiders. I just love the angst and the greaser vibe and I want to squeeze Ponyboy. What book are you an evangelist for? Lately for the Innocents books by Sarah and Mary Elizabeth.


    Read more »

    By: Elissa Petruzzi  |  Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
  • Romance Is Awesome: Author Jennifer McQuiston Is Fighting Ebola With The CDC In Sierra Leone

    October 21, 2014 - 11:50am

    Romance Is Awesome: Author Jennifer McQuiston Is Fighting Ebola With The CDC In Sierra Leone
    Romancelandia is filled with so many awesome women who not only write wonderful love stories, but also somehow manage other impressive feats like practicing law, raising tiny humans and fighting infectious diseases. Historical romance author Jennifer McQuiston is a veterinarian and infectious disease researcher with the CDC, and is currently in Sierra Leone as part of the CDC ebola response team. She's sharing her adventures on her Facebook page and it's fascinating to follow. I first learned of McQuiston's day job after reading her article in the April 2014 issue of RT about infectious diseases in romance (Because a highly contageous illness is the first thing people expect when they pick up a romance, right?).


    Read more »

    By: Elisa Verna  |  Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
  • Darynda Jones on Pregnancy and Plotting

    October 21, 2014 - 10:47am

    Darynda Jones on Pregnancy and Plotting
    There's something about a long-running paranormal series with a cheeky proganist that we just can't resist. So of course we're excited that this week, Darynda Jones is releasing her latest installment in her Charley Davidson series: Seventh Grave and No Body. We, of course, had questions. Charley's pregnant but still dealing with hellhounds and other otherworldly concerns. How did you approach writing her "delicate condition"? Fortunately, even in her delicate condition, Charley is still Charley, and she approaches her pregtastic state as she does all of her states: in a very roundabout way. She’s decided that she’s going to start small and work her way up to motherhood by getting a goldfish and seeing if she can keep it alive.


    Read more »

    By: Elissa Petruzzi  |  Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
RSS Feeds: All Content | Blogs | More