RT Genre Spotlight

Romance

Young Adult

Paranormal

Erotica

Science Fiction

Mystery

Mainstream

Inspirational

Featured Top Picks View This Month's Top Picks »

RT Daily Blog View the Blog »

  • Weekly Web Wrap-Up: 4/18/14

    April 18, 2014 - 4:23pm

    Weekly Web Wrap-Up: 4/18/14
    Did you spend the whole week wanting to catch The Husband Show?Here's what you missed on the RT website:***Check out the latest RT Convention fashion tips from our editors!Elisa's PicksTricia's PicksRegina's Picks***MAINSTREAM: Working girls are the best heroines! Check Out Our Favorites >>INSPIRATIONAL: How Deeanne Gist went from bad girl to good girl. Keep Reading >>PARANORMAL: We have a super advanced excerpt from Keri Arthur, plus a giveaway. Read On >>EROTICA: Maya Banks brings us the latest Hump Day Excerpt! Don't Miss It >>YOUNG ADULT: Jenny Han shares a letter to a former crush. If He Could See Me Now >>COVER REVEAL: Check out the sizzling cover for Lauren Dane's upcoming release!


    Read more »

    By: RT BOOK REVIEWS  |  Tags: RT Daily Blog
  • Extended Review — Hard Time By Cara McKenna

    April 18, 2014 - 1:29pm

    Extended Review — Hard Time By Cara McKenna
    When I read the blurb for Hard Time by Cara McKenna I thought to myself: this book will either be completely amazing or an absolute train wreck. Luckily for me, it was the former. Told in first person, the story follows young public librarian Annie Goodhouse, who recently graduated with her MLS and has taken a position as an outreach librarian for a medium-security correctional facility, where she finds herself attracted to inmate Eric Collier. With such sensitive subject matter, which could have been handled carelessly, you can see why I thought this book might be a disaster. But McKenna does not sensationalize prison or the relationships male inmates can have with women on the outside.


    Read more »

    By: Elisa Verna  |  Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Romance
  • Tweethearts: Tweets We Loved This Week

    April 18, 2014 - 12:10pm

    Tweethearts: Tweets We Loved This Week
    The Internet is full of hilarious gems and memorable words of wisdom from the masses. Authors, readers and publishers on Twitter are no exception and continuously put smiles on the faces of Twitter users daily in 140 characters or less. We've started compiling our favorite Tweets. This week we dedicate Tweethearts to everyone who says that authors are "just like us."   We're going to be honest: some days the Internet is so much fun it's hard to work.Only go through with it if you're going to live Tweet, Tessa. Entertain the masses!Those pesky ninjas, with their office supply chicanery.


    Read more »

    By: RT BOOK REVIEWS  |  Tags: RT Daily Blog
  • 2014 RT Convention Outfits: Regina's Picks

    April 17, 2014 - 1:06pm

    2014 RT Convention Outfits: Regina's Picks
    The RT Booklovers Convention is only a few short weeks away! Which means if you're planning on attending the full week of books, babes (yes, we mean you) and shenanigans, you've got some packing to do. With a full schedule of panels, workshops, events — and, of course, parties — one outfit a day may not cut it. So bust out those extra large suitcases, because the RT staff is bringing you their dream outfits for the themed evening events and nighttime parties. Today, take a look at RT Senior Editor/Reviews Coordinator Regina Small's outfits. Pirates, Scalawags & MoreTo add a quirky twist to the pirate-themed soiree, this landlubber decided on a Tim Burton-influenced look, with lots of black and white — and a dash of red.


    Read more »

    By: RT BOOK REVIEWS  |  Tags: RT Daily Blog, Convention
  • Trailer Chat: If I Stay

    April 17, 2014 - 12:52pm

    Trailer Chat: If I Stay
    Let’s talk about the recently released trailer for If I Stay, shall we? This big screen adaptation of Gayle Forman’s stunning YA novel of the same name doesn’t land in theatres until August 22 (yes, this August! squee!), but this trailer sure gives eager readers plenty to ease the wait. Though, in my case, the wait has just gotten infinitely more unbearable! Let’s take a look at some of my favorite moments:Music -  Right off the bat, the trailer establishes the importance of music in the story. Mia’s a gifted cellist and Adam’s the lead singer/guitarist in a rising rock band. As a pianist/songwriter, I immediately connected with the music aspects of the story when I first read the book.


    Read more »

    By: DJ DeSmyter  |  Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
  • Self-Pub Like A Pro: Freelance Editing

    April 17, 2014 - 12:28pm

    Self-Pub Like A Pro: Freelance Editing
    Self-publishing is a brave new world, a sometimes confusing one for authors trying to navigate its many possible avenues. But as always, your RT Web Team is here to help with our monthly column, Self-Pub Like a Pro. This month we're tackling the ever-important process of editing. A big complaint readers often have is that self-published books aren’t edited, polished — or sometimes even spell checked. So how to avoid these pitfalls? Hiring a freelance editor could be the answer. To tell us more, today we’ve got longtime freelance editor Bev Katz Rosenbaum to give us the scoop.


    Read more »

    By: RT BOOK REVIEWS  |  Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog, E-Book
RSS Feeds: All Content | Blogs | More