RT Genre Spotlight

Romance

Young Adult

Paranormal

Erotica

Science Fiction

Mystery

Mainstream

Inspirational

Featured Top Picks View This Month's Top Picks »

RT Daily Blog View the Blog »

  • Laila Blake On How Writers Can Move Away From Sexually Objectifying Women In Fiction

    April 22, 2014 - 3:15pm

    Laila Blake On How Writers Can Move Away From Sexually Objectifying Women In Fiction
    What we consume in popular culture can affect how we see the world and each other. Even our beloved romance novels can change how we look at other people, and ourselves. Today Laila Blake is with us to talk about how fiction writers can avoid sexually objectifying women in their stories.Growing up in Germany, there was one magazine every teenager read, whether they admitted to it or not. On the surface, it was pretty much what you'd expect: news about celebrities, new CD releases or movies, a centerfold of the latest boy band. But there was one column that gave the whole magazine an air of exciting taboo.


    Read more »

    By: RT BOOK REVIEWS  |  Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
  • Cover Trend: Hair-y YA Heroines

    April 22, 2014 - 10:38am

    Cover Trend: Hair-y YA Heroines
    Did your grandmother always tell you to "get your hair out of your face"? Well these YA heroines, starring on recent covers, are obviously not listening to their grams! Someone get these ladies (and one gentleman) a barrette! Check out the latest cover trend in YA we've spotted: Heroines with outta control hair.                Are you loving these wild 'dos? Let us know in the comments below! And for genre news and coverage, visit our Everything Young Adult page.


    Read more »

    By: RT BOOK REVIEWS  |  Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
  • Same Book, Different Reaction: Eleanor Moran Talks Rebecca

    April 22, 2014 - 10:21am

    Same Book, Different Reaction: Eleanor Moran Talks Rebecca
    We love re-reading our favorite books as much as the next bookworm. But there's no denying that a book can lose its charm over time and when we return to it years later, our interpretations of the text can be skewed thanks to our life experiences. Don't even talk to us about watching Reality Bites once you're past your angsty twenties. Eleanor Moran, author of The Last Time I Saw You, knows this sad phenomenon to be true. Today, she talks about one of her favorite classics, Rebecca, and how her initial impressions of the book have shifted over the years.


    Read more »

    By: RT BOOK REVIEWS  |  Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mainstream
  • On the Shelves: 4/22/2014

    April 22, 2014 - 10:18am

    On the Shelves: 4/22/2014
    Here's a look at the titles we love that hit shelves this week.


    Read more »

    By: RT BOOK REVIEWS  |  Tags: RT Daily Blog
  • The Ultimate Convention Survival Guide For Bloggers

    April 21, 2014 - 1:21pm

    The Ultimate Convention Survival Guide For Bloggers
    Are you as excited as we are about RT 2014 in NOLA? Because we are really, really excited. And we want you to make the most of your time with us, so today we've got book blogger and reviewer Jennifer Morris from Books Make Me Happy with some great tips on how bloggers can maximize their RT time. These tips are not only great for RT, but for any book-related conference bloggers may find themselves at.Take it away, Jennifer! Getting ready for literary convention season can be a three ring circus of Barnum & Bailey proportions. Juggling day jobs, family obligations and deadlines is a tough act for authors, especially, but bloggers and other fans, as well.


    Read more »

    By: RT BOOK REVIEWS  |  Tags: RT Daily Blog, Convention
  • A Suspenseful Journey - Danger And Intrigue In April's Inspirational Fiction

    April 21, 2014 - 1:20pm

    A Suspenseful Journey - Danger And Intrigue In April's Inspirational Fiction
    In the mood for some high stakes danger, but with a message? In this month’s Inspirational Overview, we take a look at four noteworthy books that have a bit of suspense thrown in for good measure. These are perfect for readers looking for a little danger and intrigue mixed in with inspirational goodness. Take a look:Nancy Mehl starts off our overview with Gathering Shadows. In this romantic suspense read, TV reporter Wynter Evans is desperately looking for a major story to cover to not only please her boss, but also keep her job safe. When she stumbles across a photo of a boy who resembles her brother, who disappeared nine years ago, she sets out to uncover the truth.


    Read more »

    By: RT BOOK REVIEWS  |  Tags: RT Daily Blog, Inspirational
RSS Feeds: All Content | Blogs | More