Image of The Art of Lainey

THE ART OF LAINEY

Image of The Art of Lainey
Author(s): 

Refreshingly honest, sweet and romantic. The love story is everything readers want — a will they/won’t they with a satisfying ending — but the best part of Stokes’ debut is the portrayal of female friendship. It’s a friendship used as more than a plot device, something demonstrated as opposed to simply given. Perfect for fans of Stephanie Perkins, but with an edge.

Lainey has everything going for her: a commercial deal, a varsity soccer career and an adorable boyfriend who loves her. Or at least he’s supposed to, until he dumps her at her job. Lainey’s reeling, but she refuses to fall down. She and her best friend Beatrice turn to The Art of War for some battlefield inspiration. Determined to get her boyfriend back, in the process she gets so much more. (HARPERTEEN, May, 384 pp., $9.99, ISBN: 9780062238429, PB, 14 & Up)

Reviewed by: 
Ellen Parsons