Image of Ashton Park (The Danforths of Lancashire)

ASHTON PARK

Image of Ashton Park (The Danforths of Lancashire)
Author(s): 

Rich historical detail and vivid characterization bring the Danforth family to life as they struggle with wartime distress and the diminishment of class boundaries that result in romances between nobility and staff that would have been impossible before the global conflict. William in particular wrestles with his conscience and his faith as he is tempted to maintain social inequality while realizing that God loves everyone equally. Pura’s novel is perfect for fans of Downton Abbey.

Sir William and Lady Elizabeth Danforth of Ashton Park in Lancashire, England, along with their seven adult children and various estate servants, weather World War I and the ensuing social changes through mutual support and the power of prayer in this first book in Pura’s The Danforths of Lancashire series. (HARVEST HOUSE, Jan., 352 pp., $13.99)

Reviewed by: 
Kerry Sutherland