BLOOD BOUND

Author(s): 

Fans of Kim Harrison and Laurell K. Hamilton will enjoy this tightly plotted and fast-paced tale set in a world of vampires, werewolves, fae and one shape-shifter named Mercy. Mercy's
a likable protagonist whose ability to get herself into -- and out of -- jams
is unparalleled. Astute readers will notice a growing similarity between Mercy
and Hamilton's Anita Blake, but that's the only real flaw in an otherwise superb book.

Asked to accompany her vampire friend Stefan on what seems to be a simple message delivery, shape-shifter mechanic Mercy Thompson is pulled into a conflict that only she has the ability to resolve.

The vampire that Stefan takes the message to is hardly ordinary -- he's possessed by a demon. This makes him a bit harder to track down, especially once Mercy's friends are captured and she has no one to help her except for Andre, a vampire who may or may not be trustworthy. (Ace, Feb., 304 pp., $7.99)
Reviewed by: 
Natalie A. Luhrs