COOKING UP TROUBLE

Author(s): 

As usual, by following her nose, culinary expert Angelina Amalfi has managed to embroil herself in another offbeat murder case. What should have been a romantic getaway with her significant other, Homicide Inspector Paavo Smith, quickly turns into a nightmare week from hell when the guests of the isolated Hill Haven Inn begin checking out "permanently."

For once Angie figures she has found the perfect job. Creating a gourmet menu for a new coastal resort hideaway sounds ideal, even though the clients seem a bit flaky. But when the resort owner Finley Tay disappears, Angie starts to get worried. Her fears are soon justified when more bodies begin turning up and a vicious storm traps the remainder of the investors at the Inn. Add to that the fact that the Inn seems to be haunted by the ghost of a former owner and you have a frightening and bizarre mix. Can Angie and Paavo divine the truth from the convoluted clues before any more guests find their registrations "canceled"?

With this third installment of her humorous, intriguing, not to mention tasty romantic suspense series, Joanne Pence continues her growth as an author, illustrating the talent that has made her a powerful new voice in the genre. Fans of Angelina and Paavo won't be disappointed, Ms. Pence has another hit on her hands. (May, 320 pp., $4.50)

Reviewed by: 
Jill M. Smith