Book Review

DARKFEVER
by Karen Marie Moning

Genre: Fantasy
Sensuality: HOT

2006 Modern-Day Fantasy Novel Nominee

Message from the Author

RT Rating

In the vein of Charlaine Harris' and Kim Harrison's paranormal sagas, New York Times bestseller Moning launches a remarkable new series that's exotic and treacherous. Using a potential deadly invasion of the mortal realm by members of both the Fae Seelie and Unseelie courts as backdrop, this first-person saga follows a scrappy heroine as she desperately tries to get a handle on her new reality. The book ends in a cliffhanger, so clear off space on your keeper shelf -- this sharp series looks to be amazing.

Life as MacKayla Lane knows it comes to a screeching halt the day she learns of her sister Alina's murder in Ireland. Frustrated by police non-responsiveness and fueled by anger and grief, Mac flies to Dublin to discover the truth. A cryptic cell-phone message from Alina only adds to Mac's confusion, but things really start getting weird when Mac realizes she can see otherworldly creatures.

Mac meets the enigmatic and arrogant Jericho Barrons, who tells her she's a rare sidhe-seer (one who can see the Fae) and who wants Mac to use her special skills to help him recover the Sinsar Dubh, an extremely dangerous dark book that could open the gates between worlds. Determined to learn who or what killed her sister, Mac reluctantly joins forces with Barrons, but is he all that he seems? (DELACORTE, Nov., 320 pp., $20.00)

Reviewed By: Jill M. Smith

Publisher: Delacorte

Published: November 2006

Reader Rating

0 Stars

Average Rating: 0 Stars
(0 ratings)

More By This Author

Reader ReviewsWrite a Review