Book Review

DEATH MASKS
by Jim Butcher

Genre: Fantasy, General Fantasy

RT Rating

The fifth book in the Harry Dresden series will once again keep readers glued to the pages, as the only wizard listed in the Chicago phone book deals with more supernatural trauma. The Shroud of Turin is missing and Harry has been hired to track it down, but that's only the beginning of his troubles. His girlfriend is (almost) a vampire, he's been challenged to a magical duel, and there are demons after him. Life just gets more and more complicated.

Butcher brings an edgy humor to this installment, which is slightly darker than the previous series titles. The return of beloved characters will thrill long-standing fans but won't confuse new readers. Butcher deftly places the supernatural elements within the rough Chicago streets; readers will find his roving werewolf gangs and magic-protected mobsters entirely plausible. The balance between the mystery plot and the fantastical elements will please readers of both genres. Fans of Laurell K. Hamilton and Tanya Huff should pick up the Harry Dresden Files. (Aug., 384 pp., $6.99)

Reviewed By: Jen Talley Exum

Publisher: Roc

Published: August 2003

Reader Rating

4.5 Stars

Average Rating: 4.5 Stars
(1 ratings)

More By This Author

Reader Reviews Write a Review ›

Death Masks

Submitted by Robin in PA on December 29, 2012 - 4:24pm.

This is the 5th book in the Dresden Files series and it's a great one. Harry gets himself into a mess when he is forced to duel a Red Court vampire. While the duel is being set up, Harry is hired by a priest to find the missing Shroud of Turin. Harry tracks the missing artifact and almost steals it back...just in time to be attacked by demons who also want the shroud. And while dealing with all of this, Harry's ex-girlfriend, Susan, returns to Chicago.

Very entertaining from the first page. This series just gets better and better. My rating: 5 Stars.