HEAVEN IN YOUR EYES

Author(s): 

Judi McCoy continuous her tradition of fun paranormal romances in this tale of an unwilling and unlikely guardian angel. The last thing Tom McAllister expected from the afterlife was being blackmailed by his wife's guardian angel, Milton, to help his wife—er, widow—find true love in order to earn his way out of a purgatorial "holding pattern." He'd been a controlling jerk when he was alive, and he can only redeem himself by helping Annie find lasting happiness.

Annie McAllister's life has changed a lot since her husband's death six years ago. She realized her dream of becoming a federal marshal, stopped coloring her hair and going on the silly diets Tom used to force on her. Happier as her full-figured, gray-haired self, she's on her first big assignment, protecting a mob informant, and is determined not to screw it up. Of course, all is not as straightforward as it seems.

Annie is a heroine to root for. She's determined, ambitious and a curvy size 14 with the ability to take on most men physically and emotionally. As a nifty twist sets up a hair-raising adventure, witty dialogue and screwball comedic scenes mesh with paranormal elements and romantic suspense. Fans of Rachel Gibson and Kasey Michaels will appreciate this frothy comic romance. (May, 320 pp., $6.50)

Reviewed by: 
Jen Talley Exum