Book Review

I AM HALF-SICK OF SHADOWS
by Alan Bradley

Genre: Mystery/Suspense/Thriller, Mystery, Amateur Sleuth

RT Rating

This is a classic country house mystery in the tradition of Agatha Christie, and Poirot himself would approve of Flavia’s skills in snooping and deduction. Flavia is everything a reader wants in a detective — she’s smart, logical, intrepid and curious — but she’s remarkably normal despite her precociousness. This is a refreshingly engaging read, populated with realistic characters involved in believable relationships, from Flavia’s ongoing battles with her sisters to the petty jealousies of the actors who invade their home.

Eleven-year-old Flavia de Luce, budding chemist and experienced detective, is determined to uncover the truth about Father Christmas: Is he a myth or a real person? Her experiments are interrupted by the arrival of a film crew that is renting the house over the holiday season, and the family is soon caught up in the tangled relationships among the cast. When Flavia finds the film’s female star strangled with a length of film, she turns her detective talents to finding the culprit from among the many people stranded at the house during a blizzard. (DELACORTE, Nov., 320 pp., $23.00)

Reviewed By: Donna M. Carter

Publisher: DELACORTE

Published: November 2011

Reader Rating

0 Stars

Average Rating: 0 Stars
(0 ratings)

More By This Author

Reader ReviewsWrite a Review