KING OF THE DEAD

Author(s): 

It isn’t often that a sequel surpasses expectations, but this is a rare exception. Once again, Nassise has written a thoroughly engrossing story that blends supernatural terrors with heart-wrenching depth and narrative wizardry. Fans of Mike Carey’s Felix Castor or Richard Kadrey’s Sandman Slim will revel in Nassise’s blending of “ghostsight” with vivid real-world descriptions, and his protagonists’ wisely sarcastic insight into the workings of both. Though this is a series to be savored, new readers will have little trouble becoming immersed in this tense, thrilling adventure.

Jeremiah Hunt sacrificed his sight in order to see the secret world of ghosts and darkness. Now he and his friends, berserker Dmitri and witch Denise, are on the run from the law, accused of heinous crimes and sorcery. As much as Jeremiah would love to go to ground permanently, Denise has been receiving terrifying visions that she knows cannot be ignored. Their quest takes them to New Orleans, where Gifted residents are being struck down by an affliction that science and conventional magic are powerless to cure. Only Jeremiah can see that the city is under siege from a power far darker than disease and more savage than death itself. (TOR, Dec., 352 pp., $24.99)
Reviewed by: 
Bridget Keown