Image of By the King's Design

BY THE KING'S DESIGN

Image of By the King's Design
Author(s): 

In the tradition of Rosalind Laker, Trent pens stories that illustrate the role women played in the world of art and commerce. She draws readers into the life of a 19th- century interior designer with an enticing backdrop of a love story between a strong woman and a man who is her equal.

Since her father’s death Annabelle (Belle) Stirling has run the family draper shop along with her wastrel brother. When her shop is destroyed by competitors, Belle goes to London seeking redress. There she meets the Prince Regent, who hires her to provide the fabrics for his planned Royal Pavilion. She also meets cabinetmaker Putnam Boyce. The attraction is instant, but Belle maintains a distance, fearing marriage would complicate her work. When her brother becomes intimately involved in a plot to kidnap Prinny, Belle is caught between concern for him, a growing love for Put and her allegiance to the Prince. (KENSINGTON, Feb., 360 pp., $15.00)

Reviewed by: 
Kathe Robin