Book Review

A MILLION DIRTY SECRETS
by C.L. Parker

Genre: Erotic Romance, Contemporary Erotic Romance

Read an Excerpt

RT Rating

Erotica is at its best in the opener to Parker’s Million Dollar Duet series. Super-sexy with snappy dialogue, this wonderful Cinderella tale begins the search for Lanie and Noah’s HEA. Lanie’s humorous approach to body parts tickles the funny bone and offsets Noah’s staid demeanor. The sequel cannot arrive fast enough.

Delaine Talbot’s mother is dying. She requires a heart transplant, and the family no longer has health insurance. To raise money, Lanie participates in an auction to sell the only commodity she has: her virginity. Noah Crawford is the lucky bidder who wins a two-year contract for a cool two million. In exchange for the money, Lanie must meet all his demands for the duration — except explaining why she needs the money. Although he gives his reasons for purchasing a companion, she unmasks a deeper motivation. Lanie is more than Noah could have hoped for, both in the bedroom and out. She’s just sassy enough to keep him on his toes while he falls for her charms. (BANTAM, Sep., 368 pp., $15.00)

Reviewed By: Donna M. Brown

Publisher: BANTAM

Published: September 2013

Reader Rating

4.5 Stars

Average Rating: 4.5 Stars
(4 ratings)

More By This Author

Reader Reviews Write a Review ›

Loved, loved, loved this

Submitted by donnaluv on September 4, 2013 - 2:20pm.

Loved, loved, loved this book. Cannot wait for the next one!

LITERAL ADDICTION's Review of A Million Dirty Secrets

Submitted by MichelleLOlson on August 26, 2013 - 12:51am.

*Our Review, by LITERAL ADDICTION's Pack Alpha - Michelle L. Olson:
*eARC received from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review

Since the blurb markets the book for fans of Fifty Shades of Gray and Bared to You, I feel like I need to start my review with a confession... I absolutely hated Fifty Shades, and I didn't finish Bared to You because I just couldn't get into it. Being a fan of horror, urban fantasy, paranormal romance, paranormal erotica, & some romantic suspense, I simply figured that straight erotic romance just wasn't my thing. With that all said, I'm not sure how useful my input will be, but I'll tell you what I thought and let you go from there...

Some of you may know from reading other reviews and things that this started out several years ago as Twilight FanFic. What I want to say first off is to forget that you ever heard that. This is simply a steamy erotic romance that happens to be on the same highway as Fifty Shades and the others who have followed in its wake, but it's its own beautiful creature and should be viewed and judged as such.

The concept is a familiar one - twenty-something virgin hooks up with hot billionaire business tycoon for hot sex. What it has in addition, however, is a moving baseline story for our heroine which makes her decision to enter into the contract entirely selfless and moving, and a catalyst for our hero that makes you want nothing more than for him to find his zen and mend is previously shattered heart. What really set the book apart were the characters and they're growth, both individually and toward one another - Noah starts out as a class A Alpha-hole (albeit a super sexy one), and independent, determined Lanie goes a little bit crazy mid book, but despite it all, their chemistry is page melting, and their dialogue is laugh-out-loud funny at times.

Having read & loved C.L's Paranormal series, hosted her several times on the website, and talked with her for years online, I know her personality, and it shines through like a beacon in this book in the best of ways! Her wit, snark, and absolute abandonment, compiled with her evident lust for life (and lust in general. Hee hee) make for some fabulous reading material, and a lightness in a book that could easily get much too heavy with the amount of sex and drama. And the nicknames... Yeah, gotta love it! :) Life's too short to be so damn serious, right!?

Now here's where I'm not much help... The eroticism was smokin' and there was plenty of it, but because I don't read these kind of books I'm not sure if it was enough, just right, or over the top. I felt it fit (from what I know of what fans of the genre look for) and even though I personally skimmed some parts (yeah, I get a little shy...), it was wicked sexy and fun at the same time.

This is book #1 of a Duet, so it does end on a pretty big cliff hanger, but the next book will be out before we know it. :)

In short, would I recommend A Million Dirty Secrets to erotic romance lovers who started out as fans of Fifty Shades, Bared to You, Wallbanger, etc? Absolutely!