Book Review

ONE NIGHT RODEO
by Lorelei James

Genre: Erotic Romance, Contemporary Erotic Romance

RT Rating

The rodeo setting has been worked and re-worked ad infinitum. It may be time for James to move on. The protagonists aren’t very stimulating. There is constant bickering and nagging about events that took place years before. The characters abuse alcohol and the reader’s patience.

When barrel racer Celia and bull rider Kyle go to Vegas to see a friend perform at a local honkytonk, it results in an impromptu drunken wedding. Celia wants an immediate annulment, but Kyle needs her help running the ranch he’s inherited. She agrees to stay married for a short time — and in name only. Can Kyle persuade her to turn a short-term performance into a permanent passionate gig? (SIGNET ECLIPSE, Aug., 298 pp, $15.00)

Reviewed By: Laura Ellis

Publisher: SIGNET ECLIPSE

Published: August 2012

Reader Rating

4.5 Stars

Average Rating: 4.5 Stars
(26 ratings)

More By This Author

Reader Reviews Write a Review ›

I don't think the reviewer read past the 2nd chapter

Submitted by puddins-mom on August 19, 2012 - 9:38pm.

I am a reader that "goes by" what reviewers write about books. I am SO disappointed by 'Laura Ellis' and her inadequate and rather snarky review. Luckily for me, I had already read the book before I saw this review. I am going to look for more of Laura Ellis's reviews on the internet and will be very disappointed if I accepted any of her reviews as reason not to pick up a book.

A different take on One Night Rodeo

Submitted by redjuliet on August 8, 2012 - 2:14pm.

As others have stated, I don't think that the RT reviewer read the book that I did. Though both Kyle Gilchrist and Celia Lawson have been on the rodeo blacktop for a few years, this book takes place at the ranch Kyle has inherited from the father he never knew. Both characters also have interaction with their friends and family whom readers have met in other books. Their drinking seemed social to me and they've been fighting with each other forever so it's the way they communicate.
As a reader of the series, I thought these two belonged together but I love how Ms. James always surprises me. In One Night Rodeo we see a side of Kyle that we haven't seen before. We also see the depths of Celia's pain which she has kept hidden from everyone. Their journey to their happy ending is funny and heartfelt. I look forward to hearing about them in future books in this series.

Seriously how can you post a review without reading it!!!!

Submitted by KcLu711 on August 8, 2012 - 1:16pm.

I honestly can not believe RT would lower their standards to post such a review!!! I read One Night Rodeo basically at a marathon pase. Only reason I didn't finish the last 20% in that one sitting is because I couldn't sty awake anymore. This is quite possibly my favorite Lorelei James book.

What is there to say about Kyle, besides that is is the perfect character? He is not only tons of fun, but he is loving and beyond sweet. I absolutely loved the way he stood up to Celia's brothers for her. To go toe to toe with men that are your good friends was just amazing.

Celia is a wonderful woman. She hides her hurts from everyone, and has been doing so probably since her parents died. Her family has taken her for granted for years, and she feels all alone. But Kyle is so different with her now. Once the quit fighting each other they make a great pair.

I have to admit this one brought tears to my eyes a couple times, and there are some great laugh out loud moments!! I can't recommend this book and series enough!!!!! If you haven't started this series you should jump up and get them right now!!!!! :) THIS IS A 5 STAR BOOK!!!!!!!!!!!

Best Blacktop book yet!

Submitted by jduffey on August 8, 2012 - 12:27pm.

I'm not sure this reviewer read the same book that the rest of us have. True the bickering is there, but it's not overdone or annoying. It's part of what makes Celia and Kyle who they are. Here's my review of the book.

***

Lorelei has done it again with her cowboys. Kyle was simply too hard to resist. I couldn't put the book down until I read the last page! Of course, I've been waiting for Kyle's book since I read the first Blacktop Cowboy book, Corralled. So I had pretty high expectations for this one, and let me tell you....Lorelei blew every one of those out of the water.

Celia has been present in all of the books and she seemed a little distant. I liked her, but I always felt like there was more going on. There was. In One Night Rodeo you find it all out. She turned out to be a woman I think we could all relate to in one way or another. Celia didn't change so much as she grew and showed all sides of her personality. I loved the back and forth between her and Kyle, it's been present from the start, but in this book it was different. As I read the book I was entranced by their relationship, I felt like I was right there with them.

Kyle is one heck of a cowboy. He's a bull rider, but has always wanted to own a ranch. Now he gets his chance. If you liked Kyle before when he was cocky and sometimes a jerk, then you're going to love his sweet and vulnerable side. That was probably the most surprising part of this book for me. Kyle's romantic side seemed so natural, while at the same time you knew as you read that it was something he pretty much only showed to Celia. It drew me in and wouldn't let go!

There is a scene that rivals the fainting goats from Lorelei James's Rough Rider series. When you read it, if you don't laugh out loud I would be surprised. It's by far one of my favorite scenes in any book I've read. Humor is very present in One Night Rodeo, and considering the history between Celia and Kyle it was expected. Lorelei didn't leave out the emotional tug though, at one point Kyle was being a pigheaded male and I wanted to both shake some sense in him and hold him close.

I could go on and on about this book, but it's better for you to just go buy it and read it. You don't have to read the other 3 books to understand this one...although I would recommend that you do because they are really good as well!!

Reviewer couldn't have read the book

Submitted by anniesfunacct on August 8, 2012 - 9:59am.

Seriously. There's not a single rodeo scene in the book and the bickering only happened in the first one or two chapters. It feels to me that the reviewer is being petty and probably jealous of New York Times best selling author Lorelei James. Jealous of the devoted fans, jealous of her kick ass writing abilities, jealous of all her other books being rated here and elsewhere at 4, 4 1/2 and 5 stars. Romantic Times you have seriously failed your job as a respected review site. I have totally lost confidence in your opinions if you post a 3 sentence review of a book that the reviewer couldn't be bothered to finish reading and then to publish it as two stars in your publication and on the website. Well you are now the last place I will come to find a review.

Great Book

Submitted by kphall98 on August 8, 2012 - 6:05am.

I'm sorry but I am also a little confused as to what book the reviewer read. I am sure we didn't read the same book. One Night Rodeo actually took place on a ranch not in the arena. There was one drunken night but not the alcohol abuse stated in the review. I have read Lorelei James in the past and almost didn't read this book based on this review. I however thought, what the heck, and purchased this book. Glad I did, I really enjoyed it, even reading it in one day. I know each to her own but if you don't like cowboy romance maybe you shouldn't review it or at least read more than one chapter (I'm sure that is all the reviewer read based on this review)

Not sure what book this reviewer read....

Submitted by Dawn Griego on August 7, 2012 - 12:25pm.

I have always respected negative and positive reviews on RT, however this review doesn't even come close to what ONR is about. RT needs to have someone else, who will actually read ONR review this book. Seriously, because ONR has minimal mention of rodeo.

My ONR review
There’s a thin line between love and hate……or is it lust and hate?

Even as kids Kyle and Celia seem to rub each other the wrong way, arguing and fighting has always been their MO. They live and breathe to butt heads. So imagine the shock when Celia wakes up the morning after a fun filled and very drunken night in Vegas only to realize they also rub each other in all the right ways, and that’s not all, now they’re……married.

What happens in Vegas, stays in Vegas….NOT ALWAYS…
Kyle wakes up in Vegas married to his nemesis and secret crush…OH, she also just happens to be his best friends’ little sister. On top of that he gets an emergency call from his momma, that requires him to head home without taking care of the quickie Vegas wedding. NOT that he wants to, Celia has a different opinion.

We first met Kyle in CORRALLED (Blacktop Cowboys #1). I was ok when things didn’t work out between him and Lanie because I wanted Hank and Lanie together. I also wanted Kyle to have his own amazing HEA and Ms. James did not disappoint.

In CORRALLED I felt the loveable, fun, sexy Kyle had some growing up to do. Let me tell you, he grew up just fine, as much as I was already in love with Kyle in CORRALLED, I fell even more in love with him in ONR. He is sexy, sweet and not willing to give up on Celia or their love.

Celia is feisty, headstrong and vulnerable. The banter between Kyle and Celia is addicting, I truly did not want their book to end.

ONR is not just a book about Kyle and Celia dealing with their newfound relationship and smoking hot sex. Kyle and Celia have to deal with the reactions of her overprotective brothers and the fact that Kyle had a sexual relationship with her sister in law, one that included a menage with her brother (strictly MFM menage, no sex between Kyle and Hank). Ms. James took a sensitive subject that had the potential to ruin Kyle and Celia’s relationship and worked it out without making me think “JERRY! JERRY! JERRY!” while I was reading it.

ONE NIGHT RODEO is another outstanding example of the talent of Lorelei James. Once again she has written a unique story full of family, friends, conflict, romance and steamin’ hot sex. Ms. James amazes me with her ability to keep each book refreshing and different. She is one of my go to authors when I need a book I know will satisfy me from start to finish.

5 Stars

Amazing book!

Submitted by Becky Condit on August 7, 2012 - 12:19pm.

I can’t say enough about how much I enjoyed Lorelei James’ ONE NIGHT RODEO, the latest in her BLACKTOP COWBOYS series, which chronicles the lives and loves of men and women from Muddy Gap, Wyoming, as they travel the rodeo circuit. There has been quite a buildup to this book, Celia and Kyle’s story, so that means there were a lot of expectations to meet when Ms James was writing this book. I’m happy to say it does not disappoint even the least little bit.
Despite the title, there are no rodeos in this book, and except for the first chapter’s story of how Celia and Kyle happened to accidentally get married, no drunken cowboys or cowgirls. This is a different book from the first three Blacktop Cowboy books.
ONE NIGHT RODEO is, in my opinion, Lorelei James’s most romantic novel to date. That’s a bold statement from someone who has read every book she has written and enjoyed all of them. There was more sentimental emotion in this story and Kyle is the most romantic of any of her cowboys except possibly Kade McKay. It’s one thing to be an alpha male who is sexy, handsome, large and in charge, but quite another to be all of that plus aware of the romantic side of his own heart and that of his woman. Romance novel heroes have to be over the top in every aspect – looks, strength, intelligence, charm, because this is idealized fiction after all. While Ms. James’ heroes are all of that, they aren’t always able to show their gentle side without showing any weakness.
Kyle has a lot of anger against his mother for hiding the identity of his father all these years. When he finally works through his resentment he pays tribute to his mom in such an eloquent way Before you think this book is all mixed messages and tearful emotion, there is also the trademark Lorelei James humor in this story. You will have to read it to find this scene: mice, shrieking, and a smelly couch. Only about a page long, this little scene is so side splitting funny I read it and re-read it several times before moving on.
Loved. It.