Image of The Price of Temptation (Avon Historical Romance)

THE PRICE OF TEMPTATION

Image of The Price of Temptation (Avon Historical Romance)
Author(s): 

Newcomer Cornwall crafts an engrossing and atypical Regency complete with spies, forbidden passion and an engaging cast of characters. Fans of Madeline Hunter and Elizabeth Boyle should be sure to add her to their lists.

Because Lady Evelyn Renshaw’s husband Phillip is a traitor to both England and France, she’s under surveillance by agents of the Crown and cannot leave London. She endures the censure of the ton even though she knows nothing of Phillip’s actions and has no idea if he is alive or dead. Captain Sinjon Rutherford is on his way to a duel when he rescues Evelyn from attack, which brings him to the attention of the British secret service. He’s offered a choice: prison or spying on Evelyn to gain information. He becomes “Sam,” a footman in Evelyn’s household. She relies on him to protect her and when she decides to take a lover, he is her choice. When it appears she might be the key to locating a stolen French artifact — and Phillip — Evelyn becomes a killer’s target. They will either build a bond or be torn apart as they work to locate a stolen flag and clear her name. (AVON, Jan., 380 pp., $7.99)
Reviewed by: 
Kathe Robin