Book Review

by Beverly Lewis

Genre: Inspirational, Historical Fiction

RT Rating

In this conclusion to the Abram's Daughters series, long-hidden secrets shock the Amish and Mennonite communities of Gobbler's Knob. Jonas, Leah Ebersol's long-lost beau, miraculously returns, and her hope of marriage revives. But the Ordnung's bishop and Jonas' father oppose them. Sadie's youthful sin continues its painful consequences by wounding her sister Lydiann and throwing the houses of Ebersol and Mast into turmoil. But the pain could ultimately bring healing to the two families.

Meanwhile, Hannah defies her husband by seeking to become a hex doctor, and Mary Ruth prays her twin will find the truth in Christ, not incantations.
Lewis ties up the threads of love, tragedy and intrigue woven throughout the first four novels. Her signature fluency in Amish life delights as always, but too many pivotal scenes are told rather than shown. (Jun., 343 pp. $12.99)

Reviewed By: Jill Elizabeth Nelson

Publisher: Bethany House

Published: June 2005

Reader Rating

0 Stars

Average Rating: 0 Stars
(0 ratings)

More By This Author

Reader ReviewsWrite a Review