Book Review

by Sandra Kitt

Genre: Contemporary Romance, Multicultural

RT Rating

The mother Lucas Scott never
knew has died. For reasons he doesn't understand, she's left him as executor and beneficiary of her will. Lucas learns that Rachel Givens is also one of the beneficiaries and that the terms of the will tie this complete stranger to him.

Lucas doesn't feel grief at his
mother's death; he feels deep pain, resentment and anger that he didn't
get to know her. While spending time
with Rachel at his mother's home in Highland Beach, Maryland, secrets
and revelations are aired.

This second book in a four-part
summer series is an affecting story
where acute awareness of Lucas'
pain and hurt, as well as the powerfully strong feelings that develop
between him and Rachel, are part
of the strong pull of Kitt's tale.
Smooth, consistent pacing and
deep emotion make Southern
an excellent read. (Jul., 320 pp., $6.99)

Reviewed By: Robin Taylor

Publisher: BET/Arabesque

Published: July 2004

Reader Rating

0 Stars

Average Rating: 0 Stars
(0 ratings)

More By This Author

Reader ReviewsWrite a Review