RT Daily Blog

Samhain Publishing Announces Major Changes

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 19, 2014 | PERMALINK

Samhain Publishing has long been a driving force in the romance world thanks to their extensive list of authors, unique books and savviness in the digital market. Today, the company announced a few major changes that mark a new chapter in the publisher’s life.

In an effort to develop stronger industry relationships and stay ahead of the game, Samhain has announced owner Christina Brashear has returned as Publisher, resulting in changes in the editorial staff. Current Publisher Lindsey Faber will now serve as a consultant while Editorial Director Heather Osborn will now act as a freelance editor.

Brashear hopes this reorganization will bring Samhain back to “its roots of finding and publishing best-selling romance writers.” She also pledges to “continue to nurture and support our current authors while looking to find that next generation of best-selling writers…”


Read More>>

Tags: Publishing Industry News, RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST


Jay Crownover and the Do's and Don'ts of Dating a Bad Boy

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 19, 2014 | PERMALINK

Everybody loves reading about a bad boy and some of you might even be dating or have dated one in real life. But loving a bad boy isn't always easy, as many fictional heroines can atest. So we thought we'd ask New Adult author and bad boy expert Jay Crownover for some bad boy dating tips. Here's what she had to say:

Cover of Better When He's Bad by Jay Crownover I spend a good portion of every single day neck deep in book bad-boys. I really do have the best job ever! By now I think I’ve gotten a pretty good handle on what makes bad-boys tick and what makes them so much fun not only to write, but to love as well. I can’t say that there are any hard and fast rules when it comes to getting involved with a bad-boy because let’s face it, in the world of a true bad-boy, rules are always made to be broken. However, these are some do’s and don’ts that I think are pretty common if a lady or a book heroine wants to survive a relationship with a bad-boy.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

From Page to Screen: Upcoming Film and TV Adaptations

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 19, 2014 | PERMALINK

Page to Screen logo of a film reel

Summer is off to a great start and Hollywood shows no sign of taking a break as the heat rolls in and the days at the beach increase. This month's book-to-film news is rich with YA and mystery buzz with a dash of magic thrown in for good measure. Take a look:

Pretty Little Liars Lives On

ABC Family recently announced that it’s hit TV series, Pretty Little Liars, has been renewed for two more seasons. The show, based on Sara Shepard’s YA series of the same name, is currently on its fifth season, which means the show is now set for seven seasons. What twists and turns do they have in store for us now? We can’t wait to see!

Dumbledore and Rowling, Together Again

The cast has been revealed for HBO and the BBC’s upcoming miniseries adaptation of JK Rowling’s The Casual Vacancy. Included in the cast is Michael Gambon, who Rowling devotees will recognize as the actor who portrayed Professor Dumbledore in the movie versions of Rowling’s Harry Potter series. To see the full cast, click here.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cheaper By The Dozen - This Week's Hot E-Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 19, 2014 | PERMALINK

What do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In this column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee. All prices listed are accurate at the time of this blog's posting.

Historical Romance

Moon Racer by Constance O'Banyon

Buy It On Amazon For $0.99 >>

 

Contemporary Romance

Coulda Been A Cowboy by Brenda Novak

Buy It On Amazon For $1.99 >>

Buy it On B&N For $1.99 >>

 

Young Adult

Tiger Lily by Jodi Lynn Anderson

Buy It On Amazon For $1.99 >>

Buy It On B&N For $1.99 >>

         


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cleis Press Announces New Romance Imprint

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 18, 2014 | PERMALINK

In the November 2013 issue of RT Book Reviews we teamed up with Cleis Press to host a special contest that would determine the name of Cleis’s upcoming imprint dedicated to publishing unique and compelling romances. Readers were asked to submit their ideas and the winner would win a $250 cash prize, a complete collection of Cleis titles and a copy of every future title from the new imprint. Today, Cleis officially announced the new imprint and its name, chosen by grand prize winner Laura Wilson!

Drum roll, please...

Tempted Romance will be headed by Cleis Press publisher Brenda Knight, who will carefully curate the imprint's list. Beginning with Janine Ashbless’s Cover Him With Darkness, which releases September 22, Tempted will release one book a month, resulting in twelve books a year.

When asked about how the new imprint will differ from Cleis, Knight said, “Tempted Romance is very different from 34-year-old Cleis in that all the books are very carefully selected by me, a life-long romance reader who fell in love with the genre as a teen. A major distinction is that I am acquiring several romance novels, and even novellas, something Cleis has never done.”


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Very Short Reviews Of Difficult Books

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 18, 2014 | PERMALINK

Ah, classic literary fiction. It can be so wonderful, but at times dense, leaving us wishing for a guide to lead us through the venerable prose. Enter: Italian artist and writer Francesco D'Isa, who reviews the classics in a candid, tongue-in-cheek (and very short) way. We're happy to bring his column, "Very Short Reviews of Difficult Books," to English language readers! Check back here every Wednesday for three new reviews from Francesco.

***

The Prose Edda by Snorri Sturluson

The gods will be miserably slaughtered, and even if they know it in advance, they'd rather not to worry about it, as to “not upset their holy peace." In the history of the West, so many works come from Norse mythology.

Plot: The gods of good, the gods of evil and all the men will die. 

Rating: 97 out of 100 

The Confessions of St. Augustine by St. Augustine


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Michael Barakiva On Fatherhood and Family History

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 18, 2014 | PERMALINK

One of the many delights of Michael Barakiva's One Man Guy is the inclusion of Armenian culture amidst the charming coming of age story. We wanted to learn more about Michael's decision to weave his own cultural history into the novel and how his own life influenced the novel. Here's what he had to say:

When you grow up Armenian, even half-Armenian like me, you grow up with certain obligations. First and foremost, you have to procreate. Ideally this would be with another Armenian, but I suspect anyone swarthy would do. When I told my mom I was gay, she told me I still had to provide her grandchildren — those of you who have read One Man Guy will appreciate the scene for which this exchange is lifted identically.

I’m not sure if this obligation to procreate existed before the Armenian genocide of the early 20th century, during which over one million Armenian citizens where systemically killed by the Ottoman Government. Turkey still denies these mass killings as genocide, although 26 countries do (including France, Russia and 43 U.S. States), adding insult to injury to what Armenians call Medz Yeghern (“The Great Crime”).


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Amazon's Banned Book Covers

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 18, 2014 | PERMALINK

After cover artist Erin Dameron-Hill posted these tips for how to prevent a cover from being flagged on Amazon, we had to ask: which covers has she seen flagged on Amazon and how does she, as a cover artist, work within Amazon's vague content guidelines to edit "racy" covers? Erin is here today to give us the rundown. (Note: Parts of this post appear in Erin's original post on her blog. She has expanded on it for RT readers.)

"What we deem offensive is probably about what you would expect.” - Amazon Kindle Direct Publishing Content Guidelines

For someone like me, that rule from Amazon’s KDP program is a little vague as to what makes a cover offensive. As an Award-Winning Cover Artist at EDHGraphics, Samhain Publishing, Ellora’s Cave Publishing, and Blushing Books Publishing with a focus on Romance and Erotica genres, I find there is little that offends me. How am I supposed to know what is appropriate for Amazon?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Erotica, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cover Breakdown: Never Judge a Lady By Her Cover by Sarah MacLean

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 17, 2014 | PERMALINK

Everybody loves a gorgeous book cover, especially when it plays with stereotypes. Sarah MacLean's cover for Never Judge a Lady By Her Cover, the fourth and final Rule of Scoundrels book, was recently released and we've been drooling over it ever since. Readers will finally get the story of Chase, the heroine who is a Lady by day and masquerades as a male gambling hall owner by night. Let's take a look:


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Five Booktubers Who Aren't Overwhelmingly Annoying

BY Elisa Verna, JUNE 17, 2014 | PERMALINK

Six years ago my YouTube-obsessed (then) teenage sister told me about this amazing YouTube channel called Vlogbrothers, and she subsequently bought and inhaled several John Green books as a result. She was enamored with the brothers for a good year, and understandably so. They're hilarious. While John and Hank didn’t talk much about books at first, the Vlogbrothers were my first exposure to all things book-related on YouTube.

Dubbed “booktubers,” several younger readers have started vlogging about books. And frankly, most of them are downright annoying. I feel like when I watch a booktuber video, there’s an 80% chance it’ll feel like someone is yelling in my face. It’s not that these people are naturally annoying — it’s just the style of video that’s become popular. And on YouTube, seemingly everyone wants to be popular. Many booktuber videos are filled with cluttered text, yelling and over-the-top attempts to be funny, all of which take away from why I wanted to watch the video in the first place: I want to watch someone talk (in a relatively calm way) about books!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST