2011 CWA Dagger Award Winners Announced

The Crime Writers’ Association, has just announced the winners of the coveted Dagger Awards this year. The top book prize, the Gold Dagger, went to Tom Franklin for Crooked Letter, Crooked Letter. We were excited to see Franklin's terrific work has been honored. RT rated this novel as a Top Pick! and also nominated it for an RT Seal of Excellence award. (If you are interested in learning more about the story, be sure to check out the special author interview that Franklin gave us just after the book hit shelves.) 

Tom Franklin enters the ranks of an elite group of Dagger holders which also includes previous winners Sara Paretsky, Patricia Cornwell, Dick Francis and John le Carre, just to name a few. The CWA, a UK-based writer's organization, has been awarding Daggers since 1955. A look at their past winners shows the group has a strong track record of recognizing what's new in crime fiction as well as honoring authors who consistently deliver high-quality stories.

So who are some other 2011 winners? The New Blood Dagger for the best first novel went to SJ Watson’s Before I Go To Sleep. The Steel Dagger for thrillers was awarded to Steve Hamilton for The Lock Artist. And the Short Story Dagger was given to Phil Lovesey for "Homework" which was published in The Mammoth Book of Best British Crime Vol. 8.

For a complete list of all 2011 Daggar Award winners, see the CWA's website.