RT Daily Blog

Cover Reveal: Honor Among Thieves by Elizabeth Boyce

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 18, 2014 | PERMALINK

It's time for another juicy cover reveal, faithful readers, and if you're a fan of dark, thrilling and romantic Regency tales, then this one's for you! Elizabeth Boyce is ready to launch her new series, The Honorables, with Honor Among Thieves, coming your way October 27 from Crimson Romance — and we're helping her kick it off with the exclusive cover reveal! Let the fun begin!

After an embarrassing wardrobe malfunction, Lorna Robbins is deemed an Original among Regency society. But little do they know just how unique she truly is. Lorna plays the popular lady of the ton by day, but at night, she becomes the grave robber secretly known as the Blackbird.

Desperate to pay off her recently deceased brother’s debt, she joined the Crib Cross resurrectionist gang as a last resort, and uses the information she gleans from her society peers to help the body-snatching group. Conflicted but determined to save her family estate and provide for her younger brother, she lives a lonely and treacherous double life … until her path crosses with surgeon and anatomy teacher Brandon Dewhurst.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST


Do You Believe in Aliens? Jennifer M. Eaton Dishes on Her New Novel, Plus a Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 18, 2014 | PERMALINK

Are aliens real? Was that really a UFO floating above your house the other night? YA author Jennifer M. Eaton's not entirely sure if aliens are real, but her new novel, Fire in the Woods, certainly suggests they are. Perfect for fans of Star-Crossed and Jennifer L. Armentrout's Lux series, Fire in the Woods is a thrilling story about girl who falls in love with a boy from another planet who has a secret that could cause the world to end. Today, Jennifer shares her thoughts on the existence of aliens and what she would do if she ever met one. Stay tuned after the post for a chance to win a copy of the book!

The existence of aliens is one of those topics like politics or religion — you probably shouldn’t talk about it in mixed company because it is bound to start a fight (probably with the religious or politically minded).

Most people either emphatically believe that aliens exist, or they are positive that they don’t. Having never personally met an extra-terrestrial, I prefer to remain on the fence. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Witches of East End Sneak Peek: Spoiler-y Pictures!

BY Elissa Petruzzi, SEPTEMBER 18, 2014 | PERMALINK

When I was a kid, I was watching a movie with my dad where the main character was in peril. He scoffed at my concerns, telling me, “They never kill the star!” Only, last Sunday, they did just that — times two! — on the wildest episode of the Witches of East End yet (which is seriously saying something for a show that’s starred an amorous tentacle man and an incinerated Virginia Madsen). The show finally made good on that curse Freya and Ingrid have been trying to beat since the premiere episode — that the sisters are destined to die young and be reborn again and again.

We scored a sneak peek at some pictures from this Sunday’s upcoming episode (Thanks, Lifetime!), and these creepy images are giving us All The Feels.  


We’ll call this one: “Yup, they’re really dead!”


We're right behind you, Jennifer!
source

And look at this one! Killian’s finally free of the spell that kept him from remembering that he loved Freya, and she’s dead! (If you aren’t watching this show, you really need to be.)


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, TV Recap, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cheaper By The Dozen - This Week's Hot E-Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 18, 2014 | PERMALINK

What do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In this column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee. All prices listed are accurate at the time of this blog's posting.

Historical Romance

How to Pursue A Princess

How to Catch A Wild Viscount by Tessa Dare

Get It On Amazon For Free >>

Get It On B&N For Free >>

 

Contemporary Romance

Rescue Me

Rescue Me by Jaci Burton

Buy It On Amazon For $0.99 >>

Buy It On B&N For $0.99 >>

 

New Adult

Defiance

Defiance by Stephanie Tyler

4.5 stars Top Pick

Buy It On Amazon For $0.99 >>

         


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Giveaway: Gone Girl Movie Bundle

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 18, 2014 | PERMALINK

Looks can be deceiving and nobody is ever who or what they seem — and in Gillian Flynn's breakout novel, Gone Girl, readers are taken on a spiraling and dark ride as Nick Dunne becomes the center of the investigation of the disappearance of his wife, Amy. Readers have been entranced by Flynn's novel and now a new audience will be introduced to this thriller with the upcoming film adaptation starring Ben Affleck and Rosamund Pike. Today, we have an exciting giveaway to help celebrate the movie!

Enter below to win a Gone Girl prize bundle that includes a movie-tie-in edition of the book and a $25 Visa gift card courtesy of Big Honcho Media. The best part about this is you can read the book before the movie comes out and use the gift card to buy your tickets! This giveaway is open to U.S. residents only and ends next Friday. Good luck!

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

In A Historical Slump? Connie Brockway's Tips For Getting Back In The Mood

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 17, 2014 | PERMALINK

Are you in a historical romance slup? With so many great contemporary romances dominating the market, it can be hard to get in the mood for a good Regency or Victorian-set romance. With her new novel, The Songbird's Seduction, Connie Brockway tackles the 1900s and shows her love for the Edwardian period. Today, Connie shares a list of her favorite Edwardian-set movies that are sure to make you fan of those tumultuous years.

Long before Downton Abbey hit American shores, I saw the Merchant-Ivory film, A Room with a View, and fell in love with the Edwardian period. It’s no surprise that my latest novel, The Songbird’s Seduction, takes place in 1908.

The Edwardian era was the last stand of an aristocratic lifestyle, a world of contrast and potential, where the word “girl” denoted maturity while the term “young lady” inferred naivety, where chauffeured motor cars took merry-makers to the theater and shop girls took typing lessons.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cover Breakdown: The Summer of Chasing Mermaids

BY DJ DeSmyter, SEPTEMBER 17, 2014 | PERMALINK

Sarah Ockler has been one of my favorite authors ever since I read Twenty Boy Summer — one of the first YA contemps I ever discovered. Since then, she's had a handful of other beautiful novels, but I'm particularly stoked to read her upcoming book, The Summer of Chasing Mermaids, which swims our way next June. I was instantly hooked by the premise, but was completely won over by the cover, which is perfect. Obviously, we had to dissect it for our Cover Breakdown series. Let's get started!

Sometimes, there are no words …

The youngest of six talented sisters, Elyse d’Abreau was destined for stardom — until a boating accident took everything from her. Now, the most beautiful singer in Tobago can’t sing. She can’t even speak.

Seeking quiet solitude, Elyse accepts a friend’s invitation to Atargatis Cove. Named for the mythical first mermaid, the Oregon seaside town is everything Elyse’s home in the Caribbean isn’t: An ocean too cold for swimming, parties too tame for singing and people too polite to pry — except for one.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Conversation Highlights with the Cast and Creator of The Maze Runner - With Giveaway!

BY DJ DeSmyter, SEPTEMBER 17, 2014 | PERMALINK

Last night, I was invited to a special Q&A with James Dashner and the cast of The Maze Runner at the 92Y here in NYC. The event was jam-packed with enthusiastic fans — most of which were very vocal Teen Wolf fans who pretty much died and went to heaven the moment Dylan O’Brien walked on stage. Joining O’Brien were actors Jacob Latimore, Thomas Brodie-Sangster, Alex Flores, Chris Sheffield and Kaya Scodelario. Entertainment writer Matt Patches moderated the discussion. Unfortunately, due to the volume of fangirl-level screaming, the cast wasn’t able to answer most of the questions clearly, but here are some highlights. I also have a Maze Runner movie poster signed by Dashner to give away at the end of this post!

- When asked about which movies or TV shows influenced the book, Dashner cited The Shining, Lord of the Flies and Lost as major influences.

- “The maze is probably the first image that came to me,” said Dashner. “And it became its own character.”

- On whether or not they read the book beforehand, O’Brien said, “I thought it was important to dive into the book as soon as possible,” but due to a tight filming schedule he didn’t have the time to finish it until later. Latimore said he read it after they had finished filming and could only picture his fellow cast members as the characters.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Very Short Reviews of Difficult Books

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 17, 2014 | PERMALINK

Ah, classic literary fiction. It can be so wonderful, but at times dense, leaving us wishing for a guide to lead us through the venerable prose. Enter: Italian artist and writer Francesco D'Isa, who reviews the classics in a candid, tongue-in-cheek (and very short) way. We're happy to bring his column, "Very Short Reviews of Difficult Books," to English language readers! Check back here every Wednesday for three new reviews from Francesco.

Very Short Reviews of Difficult Books banner

Crime and Punishment by Fyodor Dostoyevsky

Ask yourself what you are allowed to do, and you will not stop asking until you understand who you are. And if anything goes, you're nothing.

Plot: A guy with a fever kills a granny.

Rating: ●●●●●

Tristram Shandy by Laurence Sterne

If you think publishing is revolutionary now, the most daring experiments by the strangest contemporary authors had already been done by Sterne — in the second half of the eighteenth century. Funny, sometimes unreadable — and truly revolutionary.

Plot: A day in the life of Shandy's family.

Rating: ●●●●○


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cover Reveal: Garrett by Sawyer Bennett

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 16, 2014 | PERMALINK

Romance, secrets and hockey come together in full force in Sawyer Bennett's upcoming novel Garrett, the second book in her Cold Fury Hockey series, which kicks off this October with Alex. And while Garrett doesn't come out until February, we have something rather delicious to tide you over — the cover! And let us tell you, it's a hot one. But don't let us spoil it for you, read on to see the reveal and to learn more about the book.

Let's start by seeing what this book is about:

Carolina Cold Fury star Garrett Samuelson never wants to miss out on a single minute of fun. Whether he’s playing hockey, hanging out with friends, or walking the red carpet with a new date on his arm, he lives every day to the fullest. When he meets Olivia Case, he sees someone who’s exactly his type — confident, sexy, smart ... his next fling. But the more he pursues her, the more Garrett shares a side of himself that other women don’t normally get to see.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST