RT Daily Blog

Inside The Issue: March 2012

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 16, 2012 | PERMALINK

The March issue of RT BOOK REVIEWS will be in stores soon and here are some of the stories you can look forward to this issue ...

Kristina McMorris' WWII-set tale is sweeping us back in time! We round up the e-reader devices for an in-depth compare and contrast. Robyn Carr stops by to talk about the latest in her long-running series. Trend watch: historical fiction stories featuring Eleanor of Aquitaine are making their mark on the genre. Also, get your St. Paddy's Day reading list ready, learn more about author branding and find out why Stan Lee is taking on Shakespeare! 

There's all this and more between the pages of the March 2012 issue of RT BOOK REVIEWS. You can also SUBSCRIBE NOW and get access to RT's Bonus Content coming next week. Until then, here's a sneak peak at the March issue's Table of Contents!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST


Weekly Web Wrap Up 1/13/2012

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 13, 2012 | PERMALINK

Did you spend your whole week hiding from a Stalker in the Shadows?

Here's what you missed on the RT Website. 

***

It's the start of a new year, so we featured five new series for inspirational readers ...

Ann Shorey Talks About Her Sisters At Heart Series >>

Amanda Cabot Goes Behind The Scenes Of Her Westward Winds Books >>

Sue Duffy Keeps The Suspense Up In Her Red Returning Novels >>

Becky Melby Mixes Contemporary And Historical In Her Lost Sanctuary Series >>

Amish Adventure Abounds In Suzanne Woods Fisher's Stoney Ridge Series >>

 

***


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

It must really be Friday the 13th!

BY Whitney Sullivan, JANUARY 13, 2012 | PERMALINK

Ever wonder what it's like to be here in office with us? Well normally it's pretty quiet, but not today ... shattering the peace of this Friday afternoon at the office, we were called outside to see this piece of bad luck that happened just ten feet from our door. (Thankfully, the car doesn't belong to anyone here at RT!)

 

The fallen tree is blocking our entire street


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Magazine Extras: Romance Gets Academic

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 13, 2012 | PERMALINK

In the February issue of RT BOOK REVIEWS, we profiled the nonfiction academic study of romance, New Approaches to Popular Romance Fiction: Critical Essays, edited by two professors, Sarah S.G. Frantz and Eric Murphy Selinger. The volume, which will be published this year by McFarland, contains 18 essays about the romance genre and community, from luminaries in the academic world as well as romance authors and bloggers. The editors had so much to say about romances and genre fiction and their fascination with the books, that we wanted to continue the interview in online. So today we're bringing you the extended Q&A with the book's editors and RT Managing Editor Liz French. Read on to learn about how Frantz and Selinger formed the International Association for the Study of Popular Romance (IASPR) and what kind of books they like, not to mention how fun it is to teach college students about genre fiction!

RT BOOK REVIEWS: OK, I want to know a little more about you both. I see in the book’s bio listings that Sarah’s a professor in Fayetteville. How long have you been there?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Free E-Read: Naomi Novik's Short Story "Vici" Is Available Now

BY Janine Johnston, JANUARY 13, 2012 | PERMALINK

I have to admit, I’ve never really been into dragons. Book, film, or otherwise, the fire-breathing serpentine creatures just didn’t do it for me. Generally I choose science fiction over fantasy, so there aren’t many fantasy creatures on my bookshelf to begin with. However, my dragon aversion ended when I picked up His Majesty’s Dragon by Naomi Novik after her book signing at last year’s New York Comic Con. (That’s a solid five years after the book was published.)

Let me tell you, I absolutely adored the book. I was enthralled by Captain Laurence and his talking dragon Temeraire. Since then, I have been swept up in the author's universe, which weaves dragons into the Napoleonic era. Novik skillfully mixes fantasy and history to create a believable world. And all my hours of enjoyment are thanks to the excellent job that the first story did of winning over this sci fi reader.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Science Fiction
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

The January 2012 RT Seal Of Excellence Winner Is ...

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 12, 2012 | PERMALINK

Each month RT Book Reviews’ editors award the RT Seal of Excellence to one book that is not only compelling, but stands out from the more than 250 books reviewed in that issue and on the website.

So which novel won the January 2012 RT Seal of Excellence and what other titles were contenders for the Seal this month?

Here's your hint: Sparks erupt when a cop and a thief team up to try to survive a mob hit!

Find Out Now >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

What’s The Best Book Cover Of The Month? Take The Poll!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 12, 2012 | PERMALINK

We received such a great response from asking readers what they thought were The Best Book Covers of 2011 that we’ve decided to make this a monthly feature. The winning cover for 2011 was hands down The Perfect Play by Jaci Burton, but what will you choose for January 2012? Take a look at our top ten picks and then cast your vote in the poll at the end of the post!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
20COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cheaper By The Dozen - This Week's Hot E-Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 12, 2012 | PERMALINK

One of our favorite features of the e-revolution is the sheer amount of books you can pack into such a tiny digital device. But what do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In this column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee. 

Historical Romance

The Duke's Night of Sin by Kathryn Caskie

Buy For $1.99 >>

 

Contemporary Romance

Return of the Runaway Bride by Donna Fasano

Get It For Free >>

 

Young Adult

Slumber by Samantha Young

Get It For Free >>

     


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Whitney And Elissa Dish: Julie Anne Long's How The Marquess Was Won

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 11, 2012 | PERMALINK

Want to find out How the Marquess Was Won? You’ll have to read Julie Anne Long’s latest historical romance in her Pennyroyal Green series. But today you can get a taste of the tale in a very special guest Dish with Whitney and RT Senior Editor Elissa Petruzzi!

Whitney: So I think it’s important to start out by saying, I totally take pride in the fact that I introduced you to Julie Anne Long’s Pennyroyal Green books. 

Elissa: Ha! I fully give you credit for handing me I Kissed an Earl this summer. And therefore I also blame you for when I accosted Julie Anne Long at RWA Nationals, gushing over how much I love her series. Pennyroyal Green: it’s the Stars Hollow of historical romances. 

Whitney: The series certainly delivers. It's small-town romance, historical style, and Long’s latest, How the Marquess Was Won, is no exception. There’s the author’s signature witty banter, an excellent romance and a cast of extremely lovable characters. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Five Reasons To Read Christine Feehan's Spirit Bound

BY Morgan Doremus, JANUARY 11, 2012 | PERMALINK

Author Christine Feehan’s newest release is Spirit Bound, the second book in her paranormal Sea Haven series. A spin-off of the author's Drake Sisters novels, the Sea Haven books take place in the same fictional town on the California coast, which attracts those with supernatural gifts. In this outing, Stefan Prakenskii has been called to Sea Haven, or rather ordered to the town, to investigate Judith Henderson, a beautiful artist who has caught the attention of a dangerous criminal. Stefan adopts the persona of a mild mannered businessman in order to blend in, but living in a place where powerful psychics are the norm, Stefan cannot hide his gifts. He also finds it impossible to hide his feelings for Judith, which is unusual for Stefan who has been trained since childhood to stay emotionally detached from everything and everyone. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST