RT Daily Blog

Weekly Web Wrap Up 1/6/2012

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 06, 2012 | PERMALINK

This week the reading community mourns the loss of beloved author Penny Jordan. Jordan, who had been publishing books steadily since the early 1980s, lost her long battle with cancer early Sunday morning. We Will Miss Her >>

***

Here are other stories featured this week on the RT website: 

ROMANTIC SUSPENSE: Five reasons to read Maya Banks' latest. Read On >>

CONTEMPORARY ROMANCE: Jude Deveraux tells us all about her recent release. Listen To The Podcast >>

HISTORICAL ROMANCE: Secrets abound in January's Harlequin Historicals. Find Out The Truth >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST


Author Podcast: Jude Deveraux

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 06, 2012 | PERMALINK

Romance author extraordinaire Jude Deveraux chats with RT's Morgan Doremus in this exclusive author podcast. The pair bond over their mutual love for Deveraux's long-running fictional Taggert/Montgomery family and discuss some of the author's fan-favorite titles. And then the author shares an insider's look at her latest romance, Moonlight in the Morning, which starts an all-new trilogy in the small Southern town of Elidean.

 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
4COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

January's Harlequin Historicals Are Full Of Secrets

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 06, 2012 | PERMALINK

Secrets old and new twist up the plots of this month's Harlequin Historical Romances. Perceived betrayals, hidden treasures and fake identities keep these heroes and heroines struggling to determine what is the truth  — and whether or not they can trust the objects of their affection. 

 

A Dark and Brooding Gentleman
By Margaret McPhee

When Sebastian Hunter finds his mother's companion searching for a family heirloom, he is aghast. Should he trust the lovely Phoebe Allardyce when she says she's being blackmailed to steal?

Read The Review >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Caught On Cover: January 2012

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 05, 2012 | PERMALINK

This month several of our favorite celebrities were "caught on cover", their likenesses spotted on some January new releases. Check out who we found:

Brittany Murphy, you live on in our hearts — and on our romance novel covers

     

 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cheaper By The Dozen - This Week's Hot E-Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 05, 2012 | PERMALINK

One of our favorite features of the e-revolution is the sheer amount of books you can pack into such a tiny digital device. But what do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In this column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee. 

Historical Romance

Merely Magic by Patricia Rice

Buy For $1.79 >>

 

Contemporary Romance

A Weekend with Mr. Darcy by Victoria Connelly

Buy For $1.99 >>

 

Young Adult

Unearthly by Cynthia Hand

Buy For $.99 >>

         


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Debut Contemporary Author Emma Cane Is Gayle Callen — With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 05, 2012 | PERMALINK

What do we really know about new author Emma Cane, besides the fact that her debut contemporary, A Town Called Valentine, received 4 stars from RT BOOK REVIEWS? In the February issue, we dropped a tantalizing hint about the true identity behind this mysterious newcomer. Everyone has wondered which author has crossed romance genres — and now we’re finally free to reveal the answer .... Debut contemporary romance author Emma Cane is none other than beloved historical romance author Gayle Callen! And here to introduce the town behind her new series is Emma/Gayle herself and then be sure to check out how you can enter to win your own copy of her new contemporary romance.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
42COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Morgan And Whitney Dish: Rick Mofina's The Burning Edge

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 04, 2012 | PERMALINK

Today RT’s Morgan and Whitney Dish about Rick Mofina’s latest suspense The Burning Edge. Investigative reporter Jack Gannon knows he has a good nose for stories, but with his new executive editor pressuring him, will he be able to connect the dots between a terrorist threat and a vicious roadside slaying before it’s too late?

Whitney: Now you know that I don’t normally venture into what I consider “boy book” territory — and without a romance in sight this is definitely that type of story — but I have to say, I really loved the book!

Morgan: I knew that you were going to like Jack Gannon. This is the third book I have read in Rick Mofina’s series and they are always a fast-paced reads with amazing characterization and terrific plotting.

Whitney: Jack’s particularly excellent. Mofina does a great job of bringing his hero to life as a multifaceted man who is able to express his frustrations with his job, with his ex, with his shifty-seeming sources. 

Morgan: And he does this all without ever taking away from the action of the story.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Five Reasons To Read Maya Banks’ Whispers In The Dark

BY Morgan Doremus, JANUARY 04, 2012 | PERMALINK

This week author Maya Banks released the fourth book in her popular KGI series. And while Whispers in the Dark has a lot in common with the series’ previous stories, the author takes a turn towards the paranormal in this outing. The story opens as Nathan Kelly is held hostage in the caves of Afghanistan where his brothers can’t find him. There is only one person who can help, and she is in a whole lot of trouble herself. Shea Peterson has an inexplicable connection to the tortured soldier that allows her to not only communicate with the man, but she can also siphon off his pain. However, while Shea is able to help Nathan escape, she cannot escape from those who want to kidnap and study her for her amazing abilities. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

DKMS And RT: Working Together To Help Those Suffering From Leukemia

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 04, 2012 | PERMALINK

We are proud to announce that at the 2012 RT Booklovers Convention, we will be working with DKMS to help those with Leukemia, a cancer that affects a person's bone marrow and blood. DKMS matches donors with people who have the disease. Today, DKMS Donor Recruitment Coordinator Erika shares her own story of working at the non-profit organization and how you can get involved. It's easier than you think! 

I am not afraid of needles. Don’t get me wrong, I don’t like them, but ever since I was little I learned to just grit my teeth and deal with them. When I was finally old enough to donate blood, I was excited about being able to help others. 

Yes, I know I’m weird.

In college, I always made sure to donate at our blood drives every semester. Once while I was waiting to donate and scoping out the post-donation goodies, a volunteer from DKMS, the bone marrow donor center, approached me and asked “Have you ever thought of registering as a bone marrow donor?” 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Convention
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Maria V. Snyder On The Power In Touch Of Power

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 04, 2012 | PERMALINK

This month fantasy author Maria V. Snyder launches her new Healer series with Touch of Power, featuring a heroine with a very special power. Avry of Kazan is a healer who can mend the wounded with her touch — but this gift comes at a price. Avry internalizes the pain of those she heals, and is being hunted by a government who blames healers like her for causing a plague. Today Snyder shares an insider's look at her heroine's extraordinary ability, and reveals the personal inspiration behind Avry's healing powers.

The idea of Avry being a healer came from a variety of sources. At first, I had this vague notion about doing a story with a healer as the main protagonist (or an apprentice healer) during an epidemic. She was either going to be sought after for her powers — like everyone wanting her, or be hunted. I wasn’t sure. Then one night my daughter couldn’t sleep and she wanted me to tell her a story. She knew all my other books, so I started telling her about this healer. And every night, she’d ask, “What’s next?” That’s why Touch of Power is dedicated to my daughter.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Science Fiction
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST