RT Daily Blog

Kathryn Smith Embarks On A YA Adventure Writing As Kady Cross

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 26, 2011 | PERMALINK

Author Kathryn Smith is known for her Regency romances, but these days she has traded in her pelise for some steampunk flying goggles and a new YA pen name, Kady Cross.

This month Cross introduces readers to a very different London in her YA debut, the steampunk tale The Girl in the Steel Corset. RT Reviewer Ellen Parsons calls the book, "A steampunk mystery with a delicious love triangle and entertaining Jekyll and Hyde element." The story opens with feisty heroine Finley Jayne doing her best to survive in this alternate-London. And yesterday at BEA Kady Cross shared that Finley Jayne's advice for when one is confronted by adults with dubious agendas, is very simple. The feisty Finley says, "Hit them!" So we knew we had to ask the author about  ...

Miss Finley Jayne's Rules For Surviving Her Steampunk World


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
4COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST


These Three May Novels Are Supernatural, Spicy And Proud Of It!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 26, 2011 | PERMALINK

This month there are three seriously spicy paranormals heating up the bookstore shelves. Virna DePaul, Karin Tabke and Denise Rossetti have each released paranormal reads with heat ratings that match the rising summer temperatures! To find out more about the caliente scenes in these sexy supernatural stories we went straight to the authors:

 

Blood Law
By Karin Tabke

Sons of Anarchy meets Rise of the Lycan. Blood Law is a story of primal survival. Of love, transcending age old hate. For this passionate love story to resonate, there was only one way to go: to paraphrase [the review of my book on] lovinmesomeromance, "It's stripped free of comedic humor and cumbersome layers leaving only the raw flesh and bones. No taboo is left unscathed and no soft words are used to cushion the often shocking and primal sexuality..."

     

Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Sneak Peek: Gregg Hurwitz's You're Next

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 26, 2011 | PERMALINK

RT brings you an exclusive first look at Gregg Hurwitz's upcoming novel You're Next. We go beyond the back cover blurb with the author who shares how this story is different from his other works. Also, check out the giveaway at the end of the author's message. 

***

Part of why I’m a writer is that I’m an insomniac. An image will hit me, or a scene, and it’ll gnaw on my brain in the small hours until I need to write it down to get it out. You're Next is the most emotional book I’ve written, I think because it’s the first book I’ve attacked fully from the perspective of a parent. 

What was the scene that struck me and wouldn’t let go?

A boy is dropped off by his father at an unfamiliar playground as a four-year-old and told to go play. Climbing out of the station wagon, he notices a single drop of blood on the cuff of his father’s sleeve. But whose?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

BEA 2011: Spotlight On YA Authors

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 25, 2011 | PERMALINK

Today we continue our coverage of BEA with a spotlight on some great Young Adult authors who attended this year's conference. 

We got a chance to ask some of our favorite YA authors to share their heroines' (and a special hero) tips for dealing with adults. First we chatted with Kady Cross, Julie Kagawa and Maria V. Snyder at the Harlequin booth.

Maria V. Snyder said that her heroine's tip for dealing with adults is, "before replying take a few seconds and fully formulate a response."

While Julie Kagawa's heroine Megan suggests that when it comes to interacting with authority figures, "Never enter with them into a contract. And be polite."

And Kady Cross (who readers may know as the Regency romance author Kathryn Smith) says that when confronted with adults with agendas, kick-butt heroine Finley Jayne's golden rule is, "Hit them!"


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Extended Excerpt: Lynsay Sands' The Reluctant Vampire

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 25, 2011 | PERMALINK

After over a dozen books, author Lynsay Sands' Argeneau series is hotter than ever. Releasing next week is The Reluctant Vampire and in honor of the sizzling supernatural series, we are giving you a peek between the covers -- the entire first chapter of the story!

 ***

Drina hardly noticed the rhythmic tap of her heels as she descended the stairs from the plane.

Her attention was shifting from the winter-dead trees surrounding the private airstrip to the man leaning against the back of a small golf cart on the edge of the tarmac. With dark hair and skin and a black leather coat, he could have been mistaken for a shadow if it weren’t for his glowing gold-black eyes. They peered at her, steady and cold from between his black wool hat and scarf, and he remained utterly motionless until she stepped down onto the paved runway. Only then did he move, straightening and walking forward to meet her.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

BEA 2011: Spotlight On Romance Authors

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 24, 2011 | PERMALINK

This year some of our favorite romance authors from across the sub-genres are attending BEA. Today were able to chat with some fan-favorite authors to find out what it is about their newest heroes that will make readers swoon.

Rachel Vincent is excited about her paranormal September release Blood Bound. She says that readers will love Cam Caballero because he will do anything to be with his heroine and protect her. She also warns readers not to skip to the last page ... hmm, sounds like we are in for something exciting!

Elin Hilderbrand gave us a peek inside of her mainstream novel, Silver Girl, and told us that readers should expect to fall in love with the main hero of the story, because this handsome sailor spends his summers tooling around tropical waters. This laid-back hero has us dreaming of hot summer days and long summer nights!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Susan Donovan And Celeste Bradley On Their Co-Written Novel A Courtesan's Guide To Getting Your Man

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 24, 2011 | PERMALINK

This month beloved romance authors Celeste Bradley and Susan Donovan team up to bring readers a very unusual tale of love. Their co-written novel, A Courtesan's Guide to Getting Your Man, is part historical and part contemporary, an RT Top Pick and sure to please. Today the authors chat about why their new novel is like nothing you have ever read before. From the intertwined chapters set in the past and present, to the way that the characters effect each other's lives and the scintillating historical scenes that Celeste Bradley calls her most racy yet, find out why you've got to check out this new novel!

Co-authors Bradley and Donovan chat about A Courtesan's Guide to Getting Your Man>>

More From The RT BOOK REVIEWS Video Channel >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

On The Bookshelves Tuesday 5/24/2011

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 24, 2011 | PERMALINK

Here's a look at the titles we love that hit shelves this week.

Historical Romance
  
 Scandal In Scotland
by Karen Hawkins

“The second book In Hawkins’ Hurst Amulet series reaches new heights in a humorous, fast-paced dramatic story that’s filled with sensual tension.”
  The Secret Desires of a Governess
by Tiffany Clare

“By incorporating the themes and red herrings of a classic Victoria Holt or Daphne du Maurier, [Clare] entices readers to keep turning the pages to uncover the mystery and savor the highly sensual romance.”
       
 The Wedding Of The Century
by Mary Jo Putney, Kristin James & Charlotte Featherstone

“Three authors have chosen very different settings, characters and weddings to let readers know any wedding is a good wedding — as long as there is love.”
  The Devil In Disguise
by Stefanie Sloane

“The debut of the Regency Rogues trilogy is a delightfully fun, sensual and suspenseful romance of a bad boy and a good girl with a twist or two thrown in for the fun of it.”
       
 The Vampire Narcise
by Colleen Gleason

“This is the most powerful and emotionally intense of Gleason’s trilogy.”
  More Than a Mistress
by Ann Lethbridge

“[Lethbridge’s] characters are delightful and full of naughty delight."
       

Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

BEA 2011: Talking Technology And The Future Of Books

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 23, 2011 | PERMALINK

This week authors, publishers and industry insiders have gathered in New York City to take part in the annual conference hosted by Book Expo America (BEA). All week long we will be bringing you a look to the action as we attend workshops, meet up with authors at book signings and much more.

Today we are thrilled to be talking about the future of books, the focus of today's "Day of Education" at BEA. Programs and presentations centered on the frontiers of publishing including the effects of the recent innovations in technology. From enhanced e-books, such as the Penguin Classics Amplified Editions that we reported on last week, to mobile publishing, to special social networking features authors can use to reach consumers, technology is playing an increasingly large role in the way that authors (and publishing industry insiders) connect to readers.

International Digital Publishing Forum's Digital Book Program


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Forewords - The Books Before The Buzz

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 23, 2011 | PERMALINK

With our column, Forewords, we let readers know the latest book news about some of the web team's most-anticipated upcoming releases across the genres — just as the projects are announced!

AUTO-BUY AUTHORS

Mystery - Starting Winter 2012, Lisa Gardner will begin releasing her next three books from Dutton. The first novel is tentatively titled Catch Me, there has been no word yet on the story’s plot.

Young Adult - Jennifer Lynn Barnes will soon release YA title Nobody a story about two “supernaturally unnoticeable” teens. One uses the skill to kill, while the other uses it to hide.

DIGITAL READS

Paranormal - Former Writing With the Stars contestant KC Klein has just sold her book Dark Future to Avon Impulse. The story has a science fiction twist; the heroine travels through time and space during a deadly war that she just might be able to bring to an end. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST