RT Daily Blog

A Reader’s Reflection on Veterans Day

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 11, 2010 | PERMALINK

Guest Blogger Kim Adams reflects on Veterans day, recognizes two veterans who inspire her and shares a very special way that you can also commemorate the efforts of the troops fighting overseas by participating in Operation Holiday Card.

November 11 has several names – Armistice Day, Remembrance Day, and Veterans Day. It commemorates the end of WWI on the 11th hour of the 11th day of the 11th month in 1918. It also honors all veterans who served and sacrificed.

In London, the Queen will lay a wreath at Whitehall.

In Ottawa, the Prime Minister will join veterans at the National War Memorial.

In Washington, DC, the President will lay a wreath at the Tomb of the Unknown Soldier in Arlington National Cemetery.

In Hawaii, my husband will be singing with the Sounds of Aloha aboard the USS Missouri as they recognized the veterans of the Pacific.

All will be wearing the poppy pins inspired by a poem written by Canadian Lieutenant Colonel (Dr.) John McCrae during WWI:

In Flanders fields the poppies blow
Between the crosses, row on row,
That mark our place; and in the sky
The larks, still bravely singing, fly
Scarce heard amid the guns below.

I was curious about November 11, 1941 – less than a month before the attack on Pearl Harbor. From President Roosevelt’s address at Arlington National Cemetery.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST


SCOOPED! Featuring Sunny, Caine, Banks and the RT Convention

BY Morgan Doremus, NOVEMBER 11, 2010 | PERMALINK

For my weekly column Scooped!, I scour the Internet, contact authors and pick my fellow RT editors' brains to make sure no reader question goes unanswered. This week, I reveal my favorite upcoming release, ask Sunny about her next book, discuss a YA vampire series and list a few of the authors that are attending the RT Convention in April. Still have questions? Send them to me here and you may be featured in an upcoming post.

Question: What’s the last book that you read that totally knocked your socks off? – Just Curious

Morgan: That one is easy. Last week I stayed up way too late reading Maya BanksNo Place To Run. It is the second novel in her new romantic suspense series. After I finished the KGI story, I sent this email to my fellow RT editors (it was timestamped 3:30 am — I was that excited.):  


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Inside The Issue: January 2011

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 11, 2010 | PERMALINK

The holiday season is always hectic, but steal some time to read the January issue of RT BOOK REVIEWS for an excellent break from the madness.

Here are some of the stories you can look forward to:

Delilah Marvelle chats about her new post-Regency series, which is releasing back-to-back!

Susan Elizabeth Phillips answers RT reader questions and shares an exclusive excerpt from Call Me Irresistible.

The RT staff looks ahead and shares which books they can't wait for in 2011.

Karen Dionne shares what prompted her to take a research trip to a volcano in Chile.

It's a spotlight on YA: Discover why so many films based on YA novels never get released, what sub-genre is gaining popularity and who will be at Teen Day in L.A. during the RT BOOK LOVERS Convention.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Jane Porter Offers Tips for Writing With Emotion

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 11, 2010 | PERMALINK

Contemporary romance author Jane Porter shares some essential lessons on emotional writing for aspiring authors.

Writing women’s fiction is about writing stories that are relevant to our women readers. According to Donald Maass, in Writing the Breakout Novel, today’s readers want an authentic experience. So if many modern-day readers expect to live the story through the mind of the character, than its our job as writers is to make the experience as real as possible. We must infuse our characters with depth and emotional integrity.

Last August in New Zealand I attended an all day seminar given by Christopher Vogler. It was an amazing session and he talked about how people are always looking for meaning in life, and how we especially look for it in stories. Readers crave stories that help them sense of life. Readers want to connect emotionally and spiritually.

So how do we write emotion? How do we show rather than tell?

I.  KNOW YOUR CRAFT 

There are six different techniques for conveying emotion in fiction writing:

1. Stating emotion - The easiest means of adding emotion to a story is for the narrator to simply state the character's emotion.


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog, Romance
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Jodi Thomas on Heroes and Daredevils

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 10, 2010 | PERMALINK

Author Jodi Thomas talks about daredevils, everyday heroes, and the man who inspired the hero of this month’s Somewhere Along the Way.

In the world of fiction we love to read about men who are bigger than life. Heroes and daredevils. I’ve found that most of the time it’s hard to define the line between the two. In life, as well as in books, there seems to be a certain kind of man who walks the knife’s edge between one and the other.

In my stories I love to create a hero who fights for what is right, who wins battles against injustice or saves the day, but there is another kind of man who takes one step further along the road. The daredevil, the man who doesn’t see, or fear death. He lives in many fields. He’s the barnstormer among pilots, the bull rider among rodeo people, the Special Forces in the military. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Living In The Shadows

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 10, 2010 | PERMALINK

Author Ann Christopher gives readers a sneak peek at her first multicultural romantic suspense novel, Deadly Pursuit. Learn why her hero, Special Agent Jackson Parker, is trapped in the shadows of an un-ending nightmare. And be sure to check out the excerpt at the end of this post!

What would you do if a vengeful drug kingpin wanted you dead?

Would you leave your job, move to the other side of the country and change your name?

Would you live your life in the shadows?

What if he found you anyway?


Read More>>

Tags: Romantic Suspense, RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Shiloh Walker on Author Presence

BY Shiloh Walker, NOVEMBER 10, 2010 | PERMALINK

Best-selling author Shiloh Walker pens this bi-monthly column of online advice for writers. Walker is a full-time author who is published in both e-book and traditional print formats. Now she shares her experience and advice to help aspiring and published authors figure out the "Writes and Wrongs" of the digital world.

Author Presence… what is it? When do you start building it? How do you protect it, maintain it… eek!

Author presence—well, this is mine. It’s your image so to speak, how you present yourself to your audience/soon-to-be audience.

Author presence… what is it?

It’s almost like your author voice, I guess, but it’s not being used to convey your story, but rather who you are.

My author presence? It’s kind of formed from my own personality.

I’m blunt. I try to be diplomatic, but I’m known for speaking my mind. Basically, that’s just me. In real life, I’m a little more blunt and if it’s not work related, I drop the diplomacy. Hey, it’s real life—I’m not always worried if I anger people. I don’t intentionally try to hurt feelings, but I don’t really see the point in sugarcoating things either.


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Maggie MacKeever and the Dark Side of the Regency Era

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 09, 2010 | PERMALINK

Historical romance author Maggie MacKeever explores the ugly side of Regency England with a heroine who has been forced to become able to fit in at both a ball and a bar. Learn about the historical truths that inspired The Tyburn Waltz in this special author message and then enjoy an excerpt of the story!

I was seduced by Georgette Heyer in the 70’s, and haven’t recovered from it yet. Since then I’ve written forty-three novels, most of them set in the English Regency. 

The Regency was an era of contrasts, a time of artistic refinement and cultural achievement; social, political, and economic change; bloodshed and warfare. Regency London was an excellent example of the immense contrast between rich and poor. One street might be lined with noble colonnades, bow windows and gleaming doorknockers; the next with gin-shops, pawnbrokers and broken-down dwellings so squalid they oozed filth. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

On The Bookshelves Tuesday 11/9/2010

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 09, 2010 | PERMALINK

Here's a look at the titles we love that hit shelves this week.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Maggie Shayne Shares Advice On Writing

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 09, 2010 | PERMALINK

Maggie Shayne is not only a best-selling romantic suspense author, she is also a nominee for Best Paranormal Author in RT’s 2010 Career Achievement Awards. Now the author shares some of the writing advice that has helped make her a star.

When RT BOOK REVIEWS asked me to write a blog with tips for aspiring romantic suspense writers, I thought, great! How is it going to sound when I tell them how I work? I mean, the way I do it is to puke everything that pops into my head out onto the page, and then look at it from different angles to see what shapes it made. You know, like when you read entrails to predict the future. I then re-arrange it all and flesh it out, changing my mind several times about countless key aspects of the story, including whodunnit most of the time, along the way, and then trust myself to make it all make sense in the final draft. 

My final drafts take one week. 


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, Romantic Suspense, RT Daily Blog
5COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST