RT Daily Blog

Writing With the Stars: Voting Extended By One Day!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 25, 2010 | PERMALINK

Attention Readers,

Due to our site glitch on Saturday, we are extending the voting for Writing With the Stars competition by one extra day.

The voting for the first round of the Writing With the Stars competition will now close on October 26th.

If you haven’t already … cast your vote now >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST


WEEKLY WEB WRAP UP 10/22/2010

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 22, 2010 | PERMALINK

Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Barnes and Noble To Split Up Its YA Novels

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 22, 2010 | PERMALINK

Barnes & Noble announced that the company will be changing the way that it shelves the YA section of its stores, reported Publishers Weekly earlier this week.

The teen fiction that Barnes & Noble carries will now be separated so that two popular sub-genre, paranormal romance and fantasy and adventure, will be have their own shelves within the larger YA section. Additionally, stores displays will now include the top 10 teen fiction best-sellers as well as a selection of spotlighted YA reads. 

The company's V-P of Children's Books, Mary Amicucci spoke with Publishers Weekly, in article on October 21st, about how the change to the company's YA section set-up is purely cosmetic. The actual size of the section will stay the same in all of the stores. So what prompted the move? Amicucci says, "It's really about improving the customer experience."

Learn More >>

Do you think that breaking out the YA sub-genres will improve your shopping experience?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Top Time Travel Tales!

BY Whitney Sullivan, OCTOBER 22, 2010 | PERMALINK

We have been celebrating parnormal books all month long, but one classic trope has been forgotten until now--time travel. So we asked some of our favorite romance authors what time travel story they like best and here are their answers:


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Barbara Taylor Bradford

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 22, 2010 | PERMALINK

In this intimate interview best-selling author Barbara Taylor Bradford chats with RT Senior Historical Reviewer Kathe Robin about her incredible writing career. They discuss the author's beloved heroine Emma, the evolution of her popular series and what inspired the author to write about women of "substance".

 

Barbara Taylor Bradford Reflects On Her Writing Career >>

We also got a chance to speak with Barbara Taylor Bradford earlier this month about her October release, Playing the Game, and she shared these details about her newest novel:


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mainstream
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Suzanne Enoch Offers Her Heroine Advice

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 21, 2010 | PERMALINK

In Regency England, flirting was more than just a skill, but an absolute necessity. So what happens when a young woman doesn't have the faintest idea how to act in polite society, especially around men? In her new novel, Rules of an Engagement, author Suzanne Enoch provides a woman in just such a situation with some helpful advice. (Including some choice words from the author herself.)

When I began writing the Adventurers’ Club trilogy, it was supposed to be about male explorers, soldiers, men who’d seen the dark places of the world and returned to the even more dangerous land of fancy soirees and Society mamas. The third book, Rules of an Engagement, began precisely the same way, with the adventures of seafaring captain Bradshaw Carroway.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Scooped! Featuring Johnson, Franco, Paranormal Movies and more

BY Morgan Doremus, OCTOBER 21, 2010 | PERMALINK

For my weekly column Scooped!, I scour the Internet, contact authors and pick my fellow RT editor's brains to make sure no reader question goes unanswered. This week, I report about Jean Johnston's upcoming book, confirm James Franco's debut as an author, provide some non-fiction reading suggestions and more! Still have questions? Send them to me here and you may be featured in an upcoming post.

Question: RT is covering paranormals all month long but only books. Can you suggest any paranormal movies? - W.P.

Morgan: Great question! My personal favorites are 28 Days Later and anything by Alfred Hitchcock. These movies could keep you busy for a while, but I also asked my fellow editors which films top their lists. Here are the results: The Shining, Candyman, Paranormal Activity, It, Disturbing Behavior and the original Freddy movie all thrill and chill the RT staff. But for slightly lighter fare, they also really enjoy Ghost, Shaun of the Dead, Star Wars, Meet Joe Black, Stardust and the Lord of the Rings trilogy.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

From Quirky to Kick-Butt with Beth Ciotta's Into The Wild

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 21, 2010 | PERMALINK

Author Beth Ciotta is known for her signature quirky characters. Now the author shares what inspired her to pit a “meek, neurotic” heroine against the Amazonian jungle in Into the Wild, which received a 4 1/2 stars Top Pick rating from RT.

I don’t know about you, but I have a thing for Indiana Jones. And Jack T. Colton (of Romancing the Stone) and Rick O’Connell (of The Mummy). Clearly I’m attracted to hunky treasure hunters with nerves of steel and razor sharp wit. I’ve watched theses movies again and again, always imagining myself in the heroine’s shoes. Living out any one of these romantic adventures would be the thrill of a lifetime. 

In my dreams. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Five Questions for YA Author Robert Paul Weston

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 20, 2010 | PERMALINK

Dust City, the new paranormal YA tale by author Robert Paul Weston, brings a fractured fairytale world to life. Now the author goes behind the scenes of his newest tale in this revealing interview. And don't miss the *Web Exclusive Review* of Dust City at the end of this post!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cast Your Vote In A Competition Overseas!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 20, 2010 | PERMALINK

Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST