RT Daily Blog

The September Seal of Excellence: The Hunger Games Trilogy By Suzanne Collins

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 29, 2010 | PERMALINK

September 2010's RT Seal of Excellence is awarded to Suzanne Collins' the Hunger Games trilogy. The third book, Mockingjay, was released this past month, but the RT editorial staff agrees that the seal must go to the complete series. 

Why was the Hunger Games series awarded the RT Seal Of Excellence and which other titles were contenders for the month of September? 

Find Out >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST


Writes and Wrongs: Online Advice for Aspiring Authors

BY Shiloh Walker, SEPTEMBER 29, 2010 | PERMALINK

Best-selling author Shiloh Walker pens this bi-monthly column of online advice for writers. Walker is a full-time author who is published in both e-book and traditional print formats. Now she shares her experience and advice to help aspiring and published authors figure out the "Writes and Wrongs" of the digital world.

Promo, Marketing…do I have to…and how do I? 

Howdy. Welcome to an interesting project of mine…where I attempt to talk about something I hate. Yep. Hate. Things like promo. Marketing. Words that make me want to shudder and cringe in horror.

But there's a lame little joke that rolls around every once in a while…it goes something like…

Did you hear about the author that didn't promo…neither did anybody else.

So…back to… Promo…marketing…do have I to…and how do I?

Promo and marketing--naturally, no, you don't have to, but it will help your career if you can find the right route for you.


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors
4COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

The Smart Chicks Kick It Tour from Canada!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 29, 2010 | PERMALINK

Sadly the Smart Chicks Kick It Tour is now over. But before they wrapped up, we got one last report from author Jeri Smith-Ready about the final event in Canada.

Approaching the finish line is the most exhilarating moment in any marathon*. Not because it’s over, but because that’s where you get to reflect on the journey and revel in what you’ve accomplished.  

Also, it’s where people are cheering the loudest.  

At the final Smart Chicks Kick It tour stop in Brampton, Ontario, we were greeted by one of the biggest crowds yet (400-500 people!). Some had waited outside the store since 8 AM, before it even opened. These Smartest-of-all-Chicks snagged front row seats and therefore spots at the front of the signing line. 

The three-hour-long signing line.  

Three hours! This was after readers had flown, driven, or taken the train from as far as New Brunswick and Cold Lake, Alberta (those two Chicks won special prizes for coming the farthest). We were amazed and honored by their dedication and stamina. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

J.T. Ellison Picks Her Favorite Taylor Jackson Novel!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 29, 2010 | PERMALINK

Suspense author J.T. Ellison is doing the unheard of and picking a favorite novel from her popular Taylor Jackson series! Find out what makes this mystery stand out from the rest and the four reasons Ellison is most proud of it.

At nearly every event I do, someone asks me which book in my Taylor Jackson series is my favorite. That question is nigh on impossible to answer, because you’re always in love with the book you just finished, because its done, and you’re always in love with the book just published, because it’s your newest baby, and you’re always in love with your first, because it’s your eldest child. You can see where that leads… no good answer.

I’m going to let you in on a little secret. My newest Taylor Jackson, The Immortals, is hands down my favorite in the series.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Go Behind The Scenes Of Liz Carlyle's Latest Historical Romance

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 28, 2010 | PERMALINK

Historical romance author Liz Carlyle's new novel, One Touch of Scandal, blends ancient magic, a heroine framed for murder and undeniable passion. In this exclusive interview, discover how the author researched the novel's Indian influences, peek into the minds of the lead characters and learn Carlyle's rule of thumb for measuring if a relationship will stand the test of time. And don't miss your chance to "comment for a cause" at the end of this post to help Avon and Liz Carlyle support the charity Cat Angels!

RT: In One Touch of Scandal there is a lot going on. High society, murder, mind reading. Is it possible for you to describe the plot for readers in, say, 10 words or less?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

On The Bookshelves Tuesday 9/28/2010

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 28, 2010 | PERMALINK

Here's a look at the titles we love that hit shelves this week.

Historical Romance


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Lauren Oliver

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 28, 2010 | PERMALINK

YA author Lauren Oliver is interviewed by RT's Web Editor Morgan Doremus. The author chats about her popular debut novel Before I Fall. Get all of the insider details about Oliver's high school experience, what it was like to write an "unlikable heroine" and how a novel about repeating the same day seven times is really a story of change.

Lauren Oliver On Before I Fall >>

Lauren Oliver On The Nuances Of Being A Teen >>

Lauren Oliver's Advice For High School Teens >>

Lauren Oliver On Her Next Projects >>

 

More From The RT BOOK REVIEWS Video Channel >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Christmas Comes Early With Sherryl Woods - With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 28, 2010 | PERMALINK

Romance readers know it’s the start of the holiday season when the weather turns crisp and the Christmas-themed love stories start appearing in bookstores. This year, contemporary romance maven Sherryl Woods is at the top of our TBR list with A Chesapeake Shores Christmas. In this exclusive interview we talk to the author about some of her favorite holiday memories and why she decided to return to her Chesapeake series. And don’t miss the GIVEAWAY at the end of the post!

RT: What is your favorite part of getting ready for the winter holidays?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
6COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Harlan Coben Plays Dead

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 27, 2010 | PERMALINK

Best-selling author Harlan Coben’s debut novel, Play Dead, has been out of print for over 15 years, but tomorrow it is being re-released! Get the author's take on his first novel and find out what's in store for readers in his next novel, Live Wire.

RT: You originally wrote Play Dead over 20 years ago. What do you remember about crafting this novel? Any standout moments?

Harlan Coben: Writing a novel is a bit like having a baby – you block the pain so you can do it again. Like several of my later books, including Tell No One, my goal here was to write the ultimate love story and then blend in stay-up-all-night suspense. You can decide if it worked or not.

RT: How do you feel it stood the test of time? What part of the book are you most proud of? In hindsight is there anything about Play Dead you look back on and want to change?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
5COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

The Smart Chicks Kick It Tour In Naperville

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 27, 2010 | PERMALINK

Author Carrie Ryan shares insider details from the Napperville, IL stop on the Smart Chicks Kick It Tour. Check out all the action as Ryan reports on the latest news from her fellow authors, some of their best trivia answers and other highlights of the event.

When I got an email from Melissa Marr about the Smart Chicks Kick it Tour, I was a little star struck at the list of authors included. These are authors whose books are on my best bookcase, who I’ve looked up and I had a pretty fangirl moment of excitement that I’d now have the chance to meet and hang out with them. And let me tell you -- these are some Smart Chicks who are pretty awesome! 

Authors Melissa Marr and Kelley Armstrong posing with a fan


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST