RT Daily Blog

Very Short Reviews Of Difficult Books

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 19, 2014 | PERMALINK

Ah, classic literary fiction. It can be so wonderful, but at times dense, leaving us wishing for a guide to lead us through the venerable prose. Enter: Italian artist and writer Francesco D'Isa, who reviews the classics in a candid, tongue-in-cheek (and very short) way. We're happy to bring his column, "Very Short Reviews of Difficult Books," to English language readers! Check back here every Wednesday for three new reviews from Francesco.

***

Franny and Zooey by J.D. Salinger .

A treatise on mysticism mixed with a sitcom, starring two neurotic, smart and extremely American kids. Franny torments herself thus: "Just because I’m choosy about what I want — in this case, enlightenment, or peace, instead of money or prestige or fame or any of those things — doesn’t mean I’m not as egotistical and self-seeking as everybody else.”

Plot: A young girl is sick due to a book (where a Russian guy reads a book).

Rating: 97 out of 100.

The Road by Cormac McCarthy


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mainstream
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST


On Two Fronts: Sgt. Adam Fenner and Lance Taubold Talk Bromances and Their Unlikely Friendship

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 19, 2014 | PERMALINK

Call us crazy, but sometimes it the friendships that really make a romance novel for us, not just the love story and that HEA. So when we heard about Sgt. Adam Fenner and Lance Taubold's unique friendship, we were intrigued. Lance, a gay former Vegas performer, met Adam, a straight National Guard soldier, nearly a decade ago — and the close bond they developed was something neither expected. In their book On Two Fronts, both men recount how their friendship helped Adam get through several deployments. Today we hear from both authors about their bond — and their book.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

2014 RT Convention Preview: Booksellers and Librarians, This Is For You!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 19, 2014 | PERMALINK

The 2014 RT Convention logo

Booksellers and librarians — they're on the front lines of the publishing industry, bringing the goods directly to us, the better to feed our fix. And while our annual RT Convention boasts a bevy of events for every type of book lover, from readers to writers to aspiring authors, we have a whole track special events just for booksellers and librarians. Take a look at some of our favorites, and if you're registered as a bookseller or librarian, get your agenda ready!

Saints of Suspense Exclusive Party


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Convention
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Four Questions For Jay Crownover

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 18, 2014 | PERMALINK

This past weekend, our Assistant Web Editor DJ attended Authors in the City, an all day event that brought over 380 attendees and 80 of their favorite romance authors together for a giant book signing, meet and greets and more! While there, DJ caught up with bestselling author Jay Crownover, one of today's hottest New Adult authors, and asked her about her career so far, her upcoming series and what advice she has for self-published authors looking to move to traditional. Watch the exclusive interview below!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Looking for Heathcliff: The Best Villainous "Heroes"

BY Cyndy Aleo, MARCH 18, 2014 | PERMALINK

First came Emily Bronte's Heathcliff. Poor, uncouth, involved in what is one of the most dysfunctional relationships in history, he's not above kidnapping the daughter of his deceased lover (who married someone else because Heathcliff wasn't rich enough) in order to encourage a relationship that would allow him to gain more wealth and property.

The cover of Lothaire by Kresley Cole


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
4COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Magazine Extras: Jennifer Wilde On Shirlee Busbee From Issue Nine Of Romantic Times

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 18, 2014 | PERMALINK

What follows is an article written by Jennifer Wilde (aka Tom E. Huff) for his column "The Male Page" on the writing (and personal) life of romance legend Shirlee Busbee, as it appeared in the Spring #9, 1983 issue of Romantic Times magazine.

***

Writers are, according to general belief, tempestuous, temperamental creatures full of odd quirks and charming eccentricities that set them apart from the common herd. Embued with a certain mystique and an aura of glamour by much of the reading public, they are undeniably a bit different — nice folks to visit, but you wouldn’t want to live with one.

THE BUSBEES AT HOME

What is it actually like to live with one of these exotic beings? Tough, I assure you. My friend Howard Busbee is an expert on the subject, and I might add that he looks considerably older and drinks far more than he did before his vivacious and engaging wife, Shirlee, gave up a stable, responsible job to become a full time writer of torrid historical romances.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Bitten Recap: Episode 1.10 - "Descent"

BY Mala Bhattacharjee, MARCH 18, 2014 | PERMALINK

In Bitten 1.10, “Descent,” Elena’s current meets the ex — only he doesn’t know he’s the ex. Awkward!

As Elena packs for her gallery show in Toronto, Clay wears major sad puppy face and assures her he had nothing to do with Jeremy’s edict that he go with her. Torn, Elena tells him that she’s been shacking up with Philip. Clay swears he won’t do anything to “undermine your life there.” He even takes off his wedding ring and puts it on the opposite finger. Sniffle! Downstairs, Nick gets a frantic call from Joey Stillwell, who managed to escape Mutt HQ.

Aw, Clay. Bless.

After a flight so fast they didn’t need a commercial break, Elena and Clay are at Logan’s. He ‘fesses up about his impending werewolf fatherhood. “I’m avoiding Pack Law,” he says, dismissing the idea of taking the baby from Rachel and raising it wolfy. He then shows them the rattle. “It’s gotta be Santos,” Clay concludes. Elena urges Logan to open up to Jeremy and seek the Pack’s protection. Meanwhile, Victor Olsen is parked outside, watching her and stroking a rabbit’s foot. Ew. Back inside, Logan tells Elena about Philip’s wolf video woes. “Great,” she scoffs. “Skinny-dipping with my cousin. ‘Cause that’s not weird at all!” Snark aside, Logan thinks it’s all connected. Elena hopes they can get to the bottom of things during her photography show, like a February sweeps episode of General Hospital.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, TV Recap, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

On the Shelves: 3/18/2014

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 18, 2014 | PERMALINK

Here's a look at the titles we love that hit shelves this week.

Historical Romance

SWEET DISORDER

"Three unlikely couples find their HEA as Lerner weaves an enchanting tale. The repartee between Nick and Phoebe is the icing."


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

2014 Reading Challenge: Young Adult

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 17, 2014 | PERMALINK

The cover of Daughter of Smoke and BoneListen, we're not that great at sticking to New Year's resolutions. It's March, so we've long stopped counting calories. But hey, hey, look at us! We've already stuck to our reading resolution — to read outside our comfort zones — with Tiffany Reisz’s The Siren. Check out part one here

 And this month, DJ, our resident YA paranormal/fantasy romance fanboy, takes the reins. While Elisa and Elissa are always up for a great YA read, their reading tastes don’t tend to veer into the supernatural, so they'll be reading outside their comfort zone with Laini Taylor’s Daughter of Smoke and Bone!

THE SET-UP


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Your Lucky Day: Some Luck-filled Romances for your TBR

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 17, 2014 | PERMALINK

Happy St. Patrick's Day, dear readers! Are you celebrating with green beer? Some corned beef and cabbage? As always, our festivities mostly involve books, books and more books. So once you make it out of that crush of people at the bar, or finish up kissing the blarney stone, take a gander at our list of lucky reads to grant you good will all the way until next St. Patrick's Day. 

The original cover of THe Bad Luck Wedding Cake

Blind Luck Bride: This 2005 Harlequin American title from Laura Marie Altom tells the story of drunk, jilted Finn Riley, who bets that he'll be married within a week. So it's a good thing he soon runs into wedding dress-bedecked Lilly, who thinks Finn is her Marriage of Convenience groom. As luck would have it, wackiness ensues as they make their way to an HEA, ensuring a truly memorable read.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST