RT Daily Blog

Tweethearts: Tweets We Loved This Week

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 06, 2014 | PERMALINK

The Internet is full of hilarious gems and memorable words of wisdom from the masses. Authors, readers and publishers on Twitter are no exception and continuously put smiles on the faces of Twitter users daily in 140 characters or less. We've started compiling our favorite Tweets. 

This week we dedicate Tweethearts to everyone who says that authors are "just like us."   


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST


It's My Life, I'll Read What I Want To: A Response to Ruth Graham

BY DJ DeSmyter, JUNE 06, 2014 | PERMALINK

As a twenty-two-year-old young adult man who's been reading and loving YA literature since I was twelve, I receive my fair share of unwanted and unnecessary judgement from others, especially since I read romance. I appreciate getting laughed at and told it’s not “manly” to read the books I love almost as much as I love being asked why I was adopted or if I can see out of my “squinty eyes”. So when Ruth Graham, a writer for the online magazine Slate, wrote this article, claiming "Adults should feel embarrassed about reading literature written for children", I was more than a little upset.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Confession: I Don't Mind Cheating In Romance

BY Elisa Verna, JUNE 05, 2014 | PERMALINK

Last week Mandi from Smexy Books blogged about how she can't stand emotional and physical cheating in romances. Specifically when the character doing the cheating is still with their significant other for the majority of the book. I know a lot of romance readers who can't stand cheating and I totally get it. Cheating is terrible in real life, so why should someone be ok with it in a story? And there are definitely situations in which a character should come clean about their cheating sooner than they do.

  


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

First Photo From the Fallen Film Released

BY DJ DeSmyter, JUNE 05, 2014 | PERMALINK

When the news broke that the film rights for Lauren Kate’s Fallen had been optioned, I pretty much had a full-on freak out. In my post-Twilight days, I fell in love with Kate’s engrossing series about fallen angels and star-crossed romance. And to see it come to life on the big screen? Well, color me excited.

And then the lead actors were announced and this pretty much sums up my reaction:

source

Casting is hard, I get it, but with so many YA adaptations getting it wrong, I was so, so happy and relieved that Addison Timlin and Jeremy Irvine met my expectations and more. While I haven’t seen any of Timlin’s previous work, she has an impressive resume and she looks how Luce looks in my mind. And Mr. Irvine is perfection. I’m swooning already. He’s exactly the kind of guy and actor I envisioned to portray Daniel.

UGH. WHY IS HE SO CHARMING?

source


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

The 100 Recap: Episode 1.12 - "We Are Grounders, Part 1"

BY DJ DeSmyter, JUNE 05, 2014 | PERMALINK

source

We begin on the Ark, where the Chancellor informs the survivors that the ship is (still) dying, but he’s proud of the strength the 100 have shown. He then makes the remaining supplies available to everyone instead of rationing, but nobody’s looking too hopeful. Especially Abby, who seems a bit distracted and runs out of the room to check on a patient. And Kane? Well, he’s still feeling guilty and a bit restless.

On the ground, Raven, Bellamy and the others are setting up landmines to protect themselves from the Grounders. Bellamy’s not letting people leave the camp, which gets Raven riled up because they need to go save Finn, Clarke and Monty. Bellamy seems to have lost all hope and is getting rather desperate.

A Grounder named Tristan, who’s taking over Anya’s unit, introduces himself to Clarke, who’s tied up and not looking too good. Anya’s not too pleased about getting replaced, but she doesn’t have time to brood because she spots a signal fire in the distance. Knocked unconscious, Clarke’s fate is left in the hands of the Grounder who killed Finn.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, TV Recap, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Videos Of Lee Child And Charlaine Harris From The 2014 RT Convention

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 05, 2014 | PERMALINK

One of the best things about RT Con is all the photos and videos that pop up after convention is over. It feels like we're doing it all over again — kind of. It actually just makes us want to fast-forward to next year, to be honest. Below are some videos posted on Lee Child's official YouTube account of Lee Child and Charlaine Harris' fantastic author chat from convention. If you watch these while sipping a hurricane it almost feels like you're back in NOLA. Enjoy!


You can find more 2014 RT Convention coverage here and you can find our full recap of Lee and Charlaine's panel here.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Convention, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cheaper By The Dozen - This Week's Hot E-Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 05, 2014 | PERMALINK

What do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In this column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee. All prices listed are accurate at the time of this blog's posting.

Historical Romance

Firelightby Kristen Callihan

Buy It On Amazon For $1.99 >>

Buy It On B&N For $1.99 >>

 

Contemporary Romance

Breathe by Kristen Ashley

Buy It On Amazon For $2.99 >>

 

New Adult

Best Kind Of Broken by Chelsea Fine

Buy It On Amazon For $0.99 >>

Buy It On B&N For $0.99 >>

         


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Madeline Ash On The Accessibility Of Writers And The Mytique Of The Author

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 04, 2014 | PERMALINK

With social media, sites like Goodreads and author blogs, writers have never been more accessible. But before all that, the only way readers and authors could connect was at author signings or via written letters. Today romance author Madeline Ash shares her thoughts on an Margret Atwood's theory on the double nature of writers and how writer accessibility has changed.

I’ve been going through some of my old university fiction readings, and rediscovered an interesting extract called Duplicity: the Jekyll hand, the hyde hand, and the slippery double, by Margaret Atwood. It discusses the theory of writers having double natures.

Basically, the theory is this: to be a writer is to have two identities cohabiting in the same body. One, the Person who exists when no writing is taking place (the one who brushes their teeth, does the grocery shopping, and clips their toenails) and ‘that other more shadowy and altogether more equivocal personage who shares the same body, and who, when no one is looking, takes it over and uses it to commit the actual writing’ — aka the Writer.

The cover of The Playboy's Dark Secret by Madeline Ash


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Very Short Reviews Of Difficult Books

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 04, 2014 | PERMALINK

Ah, classic literary fiction. It can be so wonderful, but at times dense, leaving us wishing for a guide to lead us through the venerable prose. Enter: Italian artist and writer Francesco D'Isa, who reviews the classics in a candid, tongue-in-cheek (and very short) way. We're happy to bring his column, "Very Short Reviews of Difficult Books," to English language readers! Check back here every Wednesday for three new reviews from Francesco.

***

The Purple Cloud by Matthew Phipps Shiel

What is the best ingredient in a realistic post-apocalyptic novel? A crazy narrator/protagonist. Our “hero by elimination” thinks randomly and acts erratically, insomuch as he makes you wonder if the author is also mad.

Plot: A guy reaches the North Pole and a toxic cloud kills all living creatures except him and a Turkish princess.

Rating: 78 out of 100

Les Enfants Terribles by Jean Cocteau


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

BookCon 2014 Thoughts - A Review Of BEA's New Reader Event

BY DJ DeSmyter, JUNE 03, 2014 | PERMALINK

We should’ve known BookCon was going to end up being a flailing mess when their lack of diverse panelists caused widespread criticism. But I think we all hoped it would turn out okay because they wound up with a great line-up and interesting panels. Boy, we were wrong.

The main problem with BookCon was the lack of organization. To begin, BEA exhibitor booths were spread out across two rooms of the Javits Center third floor, with one of the rooms designated for BookCon. The author Autographing Area was on the BookCon side, which caused a lot of chaos when Saturday rolled around and the estimated 9,000 BookCon attendees arrived in full force. The Autographing Area quickly became a mosh pit of sorts with a high possibility of being trampled. This caused confusion for both parties, especially since many BookCon attendees didn’t seem to be paying attention to how they needed to line-up or what to do in general. With all the pushing and shoving, it was like all the tourists from Times Square who forget the basic rules of walking and general manners were thrown into the Javits. Not fun.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST