RT Daily Blog

December's Harlequin Medical Romances Are Full Of Holiday Miracles!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 06, 2011 | PERMALINK

This month's Harlequin Medical Romances feature couples with surprises. From unexpected reunions to old secrets, the heroes and heroines in December's Harlequin Medical Romances each need a miracle to get to their happily ever after. 


Swallowbrook's Winter Bride
By Abigail Gordon

Years ago, Dr. Nathan Gallagher broke Libby Hamilton's heart when he went to practice medicine in Africa. Now that he's back in town, he is facing his biggest challenge yet - winning back Libby by convincing her that she is the only woman he's ever wanted. 

Read the *Web Exclusive Review* >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST


Forewords - The Books Before The Buzz

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 05, 2011 | PERMALINK

With our column, Forewords, we let readers know the latest book news about some of the web team's most-anticipated upcoming releases across the genres — just as the projects are announced!

AUTO-BUY AUTHORS

Mystery - Rick Mofina’s series hero Jack Gannon has been winning over fans all around the world. (His April outing, In Desperation, is up for an RT Reviewer’s Choice Award this year.) We are pleased to learn that readers will be getting at least two more tales about the intrepid reporter!

Historical Fiction - Author Emma Donoghue is set to follow her bestselling story of psychological torment, Room, with the upcoming novel Astray. Get ready to travel through time, because the new tale will take you from the seventeenth to the twentieth century — and the book’s September 2012 pub date can’t come soon enough!

RETURNING FAVORITE SERIES


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Caught On Cover: December 2011

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 05, 2011 | PERMALINK

This month several of our favorite celebrities were "caught on cover", their likenesses spotted on some December new releases. Check out who we found:

Even though this couple is a bit too far away to tell what they look like, in our minds it is Debra Messing and Harry Connick Jr. from Will and Grace.

 

     

 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Weekly Web Wrap Up 12/2/2011

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 02, 2011 | PERMALINK

Tomorrow is take your child to the bookstore day! Spend the weekend getting your child some great new reads. You can learn more about it here.

Did you spend your whole week trying to fit A Baby Under the Tree?

Here's what you missed on the RT website.

***

HISTORICAL ROMANCE: Karen Erickson on novellas. She Keeps It Short And Steamy >>

YOUNG ADULT: Which debut author talks about surviving loss? Find Out Here >>

INSPIRATIONAL: We end Inspirational Month with at the books coming next year. See Our Picks >>

MYSTERY: There's no denying Martha Grimes has talent. Her Career At A Glance >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

If You Like ... You'll Love: Charlotte Featherstone’s Pride and Passion

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 02, 2011 | PERMALINK

Looking to add a few books to your TBR pile? In our newest column "If You Like ... You'll Love" RT staffers and reviewers will pick one new read and then suggest three other books that hold the same appeal. Today we look at Charlotte Featherstone’s latest, Pride and Passion.

Charlotte Featherstone is known for her extremely steamy historical romances. This month the author returns with the latest in her popular Brethren Guardian series. When Lucy Ashton agrees to wed the Duke of Sussex, she believes that her heart is held by another man — her new husband’s enemy. But the bonds of marriage reveal that not only is the Duke a passionate partner, his tender touches make Lucy question everything she’s ever believed. Will the joy they’ve found turn to despair when old ghosts threaten this new union?

RT’s Kathe Robin says, “…Featherstone mixes her haunting erotic style into a tale tinged with mystery, paranormal elements and the atmosphere of the era. Her characters have enough pride to fill the pages and plenty of passion as Featherstone stirs the pot, merging deep sensuality and a frightening, chilling mystery: a hunt for a madman that will have readers on the edge of their seats.”


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Pamper Yourself With Jill Shalvis' Head Over Heels Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 02, 2011 | PERMALINK

Have you worked hard all year long? Author Jill Shalvis wants you to remember to pamper yourself — and she's giving you the tools to do so in the comfort of your own home!

In the author's new release, Head Over Heels, heroine Chloe finally opens the Day Spa she's always dreamed of having in the inn she runs with her two sisters. And along the way she catches the eye of hunky town sheriff Sawyer Thompson.

To celebrate the release of her new Lucky Harbor romance, the author is giving away a Home Spa Day for one lucky winner and her two closest friends! The prize includes three luxurious terry-cloth lined robes, three spa tools kits and three Stress Management aromatherapy kits (along with three free copies of the book, of course).

Six runners-up will win a pedicure kit and a copy of the book. And everyone who enters the contest will receive an emailable PDF with an exclusive do-it-yourself foot cream recipe.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
10COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cheaper By The Dozen - This Week's Hot E-Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 01, 2011 | PERMALINK

One of our favorite features of the e-revolution is the sheer amount of books you can pack into such a tiny digital device. But what do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In our new column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee.

Historical Romance

The Secret Diaries of Miss Miranda Cheever by Julia Quinn

Buy For $1.99 >>

 

Contemporary Romance

One Fine Cowboy by Joanne Kennedy

Buy For $1.99 >>

 

Young Adult

My Fair Godmother by Janette Rallison

Buy For $2.51 >>

         


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Adventures In Self-Publishing: Masters of Seduction Paranormal Anthology

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 01, 2011 | PERMALINK

With our new column Adventures in Self-Publishing, we bring you at look at this ever-expanding market: going in-depth to see what types of titles readers can find, sharing special extended reviews and getting the how-to of self-publishing, straight from authors who are doing it on their own.

Today, Marsha Canham tells us how she and five other fan-favorite authors who have traditionally been print published, decided to release their own e-anthology, Masters of Seduction. Learn how this group of writers came together for the project, why they believe it makes e-book history and how you can get your hands on this new anthology!


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Morgan & Whitney Dish: Nora Roberts' The Next Always

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 30, 2011 | PERMALINK

This month Nora Roberts kicks off her new The Inn BoonsBoro Trilogy with The Next Always. The series follows the Montgomery family’s project to bring an old inn back to life and maybe find love along the way. In this installment, the middle Montgomery brother, Beckett, finally gets a chance to make a move on the woman he’s always had a sweet spot for … but will he fit into this widow’s ready-made family or is he not cut out to be a father to three young boys?

Morgan: I’ve been reading La Nora for years and years and years. And I can say without a doubt this book is a Nora Roberts (capital N, capital R) through and through.

Whitney: But what genre is this Nora book? She is known for stories with paranormal elements with fairies and ghosts, romantic suspenses and then the sweet, small town contemporary romances ...

Morgan: This falls in the last category, however, even with the rock solid footing in very realistic small town life, we also may see a ghost or two ...


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Karen Erickson On Historical Romance Novellas — With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 30, 2011 | PERMALINK

Want to read a hot romance but pre-holiday preparations have you too busy for a full-length book? We suggest you check out novellas to get your romance story fix. Today, author Karen Erickson tells us why she loves to read (and write) these quick stories and gives us a sneak peek at the latest in her Merry Widows series, "Her Christmas Pleasure." Plus, just in time for the holidays, Karen is giving readers a chance to win a gift card!

Sigh…I love a good historical romance. The first adult romance I ever read — after cutting my teeth on teen romances, especially the Silhouette ones — was The Flame and the Flower. I also became hooked on Jude Deveraux’s various series (Montgomerys and Taggerts — LOVED them all!) as well as LaVyrle Spencer’s heartfelt historical romances. I always wanted to write a historical romance but my first attempts oh, so long ago were…

Awful. Terrible. Which left me discouraged and I gave up (with reason, trust me).


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
44COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST