RT Daily Blog

Rachael Herron On The Role Of Knitting In How To Knit A Heart Back Home

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 28, 2011 | PERMALINK

Rachael Herron chats about the role that knitting plays in her first two novels, How to Knit a Love Song and How to Knit a Heart Back Home. Learn how a personal connection to with knitting evolved into writing stories stitched together with love.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST


Weekly Web Wrap Up 2/25/2011

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 25, 2011 | PERMALINK

Don’t worry if you spent the past week reeling from the news that you are Expecting Royal Twins!

Here’s what you missed on the RT Website.

Mystery: We shine the spotlight on debut author Sara J. Henry. Get The Details >>

Erotica: Tawny Taylor chats about her upcoming April novel, Darkest Fire. Learn More >>

Contemporary Romance: Catherine Anderson on the heavy themes in her stories. Read On >>

Young Adult: It's an RT-exclusive look at Megan McCafferty’s May novel, Bumped. Find Out More >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Read It First: An Excerpt Of The April Romance Lovin' Blue By Zuri Day

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 25, 2011 | PERMALINK

Contemporary romance author Zuri Day shares an RT-exclusive excerpt of her new novel Lovin’ Blue. Get a sneak peak at this tale of opposites attracting that RT Reviewer Jacqui McGugins calls, “ ... funny and bright with serious undertones and lessons big and small about the importance of accepting the past.”

***

“You!” Eden spat, her ire part anger, part chagrin, but mostly relief. “What are you doing here?”

“Well now little sis,” Jansen responded, his voice soft but firm. “I could ask you the same question.” He assumed his favorite wide-legged stance, crossed arms across a massive chest, and noted Eden’s eyes were larger, and more almond-shaped than he remembered. And were her lips always so full, and luscious?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Courtney Milan Chats With Dear Author Blogger Jane Litte

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 24, 2011 | PERMALINK

Historical romance author Courtney Milan first made waves with her debut novel, Proof by Seduction in January 2010. The author has since published two more books, including this month's RT Top Pick! Unveiled, and is nominated for an RT Reviewers' Choice Award. Now get to know the author better as Milan chats with Dear Author blogger Jane Litte in this RT-exclusive video. Learn what Milan thinks it takes to be a good writer, why she will never attempt a contemporary romance and which books are on her list of favorite reads.

Courtney Milan chats with blogger Jane Litte about writing >>

More From The RT BOOK REVIEWS Video Channel >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Margo Maguire's The Rogue Prince Giveaway

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 24, 2011 | PERMALINK

This month Margo Maguire’s new historical romance, Seducing the Governess, got an RT Top Pick! Today Maguire reveals her inspiration for this steamy new tale in an author message. You can also enjoy an RT exclusive excerpt of this new novel.

If you missed Margo Maguire’s previous novel, The Rogue Prince, then today is your lucky day! Three RT readers will win a copy of this May 2010 novel that RT Senior Reviewer Kate Robin called, “a love story that reaches the heart with its inherent tenderness and pure romance.” And if that doesn't sounds like a delicious way to beat back the winter blues, we don't know what is.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
32COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Julianne MacLean Aka E.V. Mitchell Talks About The Color Of Heaven

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 24, 2011 | PERMALINK

Author Julianne MacLean is best known for her historical romances. Recently, writing under the pen name E.V. Mitchell,  MacLean moved in a different direction with her mainstream novel, The Color of HeavenThe story follows heroine Sophie who is struggling to stay positive during her daughter’s battle with leukemia. But when old secrets surface after a serious car accident, Sophie's world may never be the same. Now check out this author interview with Julianne MacLean about the process of creating her first novel as E.V. Mitchell.

***

The main character in The Color of Heaven, Sophie, is a writer. How much of your own experiences as an author went into creating Sophie’s character?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mainstream, Romance
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Debut Author Spotlight: Sara J. Henry

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 23, 2011 | PERMALINK

Name: Sara J. Henry

First novel: Learning to Swim

Age: Forever not-quite-grown-up

Current home: On a dirt road in a small southern Vermont town

Author icon: Don’t really have one, but one of my favorite books has always been Brat Farrar, by Josephine Tey.

Number of manuscripts hidden under the bed: None, unless you count the one begun in pencil in a composition book when I was 12.

Time it took to sell first book: Six weeks – or ten years, depending on how you look at it (ten years of occasionally looking at the manuscript but having no idea how to rewrite, and six weeks after I finally revised the manuscript and sent it out).


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Catherine Anderson On The Difficult Themes In Her New Novel Here To Stay

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 23, 2011 | PERMALINK

Romance author Catherine Anderson shares why she doesn't shy away from serious subjects in her stories of love. Discover the topics she tackles in this month's Here to Stay and find out why she thinks readers relate to her heavier tales of contemporary love.

It is said by many that I tackle difficult subjects as a writer, including but not limited to rape, weight issues, child and spousal abuse, racism, and physical disabilities. Morgan Doremus, RT BOOK REVIEWS' web editor, feels that, despite the “not-very-uplifting” core themes in my work, readers look forward to the emotion they find in my books, and she has asked that I address this for RT readers.

That’s quite an assignment. I’ve often wondered, myself, what readers find in my work that has inspired such a huge and loyal following.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Lauren Oliver's Delirium and Megan McCafferty's Bumped - With Excerpts!

BY Whitney Sullivan, FEBRUARY 23, 2011 | PERMALINK

I am really enjoying the influx of dystopian societies in YA fiction. I love seeing how authors like Suzanne Collins, Ally Condie, and Cameron Stracher re-imagine society in response to a challenge.

The latest dystopian tale to leave me awestruck was this month's Delirium by Lauren Oliver. This RT Top Pick! takes place in a society where love is considered a disease; one which teens must have an operation done to protect them from. Even after I finished Delirium, I was unable to forget Oliver's unusual look at teen love.

So, I was intrigued to hear about another new dystopian novel dealing with teen love in an unexpected way. While Oliver puts a spin on the emotional side of love, this May Megan McCafferty's Bumped revolves around the physical side of love. In Bumped teens are encouraged to be sexually active in hopes of getting pregnant.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

A Look At The Books From Our January Issue Mega Book Giveaway

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 23, 2011 | PERMALINK

In the January issue of RT we ran a mega-book giveaway, offering 14 different titles from bestselling authors to some lucky readers. Hundreds of you entered to win one of the many, many books seen here! Check your emails in the coming days as winners are about to be notified. As for the grand-prize winner, that distinction belongs to Pam in Georgia, who is already waiting for her books to arrive.

Want to learn about other RT contests? Click Here >>

 

 

 

 

 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST