RT Daily Blog

Heather Webber's Absolutely, Postively: An RT-Exclusive Look At Lucy Valentine's Mail

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 22, 2011 | PERMALINK

Heather Webber brings back her popular heroine Lucy Valentine in this month's Absolutely, Positively. For a taste of the type of paranormal investigative work that Lucy does at Valentine, Inc, we've brought you an RT-exclusive look at some of Lucy's recent correspondence. 

Dear Lucy,
I have a big, big problem, and I hope you can help me. I “borrowed” one of my mother’s cocktail rings for a recent night on the town (it matched my outfit perfectly). I woke up the next morning after one too many mojitos and realized the ring was missing! I have no idea where I lost it—and I don’t really want to be cut out of the will. Can you help me?
-Comm Ave. Socialite


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST


Forewords - Buzz Before The Books

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 21, 2011 | PERMALINK

It was a particularly busy week in the publishing world with lots of new projects announced. Check out our column Forewords where we bring you the latest book news about some of the web team's most anticipated upcoming releases across the genres — just as the projects are announced!

RETURNING FAVORITE SERIES

Young Adult Jeri Smith-Ready has just sold the concluding book to her Shade trilogy. Readers will also be getting a new, currently untitled, novel from the author.

Series Romance - There will be three more books in Loreth Anne White’s romantic suspense Sahara Kings series. 

Paranormal Romance - HQN will be publishing books 3 and 4 in Laurie London's Sweetblood series.

Fantasy - Love Keri Arthur’s Guardian universe? We’ve got good news - the spin-off series Dark Angel will set three new books in this fantastical world. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Sneak Peek: Tawny Taylor's Darkest Fire

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 21, 2011 | PERMALINK

RT brings you an exclusive first look at Tawny Taylor's new novel, Darkest Fire. We go beyond the back cover blurb for this special look at Darkest Fire which will hit bookstores late this March.

***

Hello everyone! I'd like to thank RT BOOK REVIEWS for the opportunity to talk about my upcoming release, Darkest Fire.

I confess, I'm a history geek. I spend the spring/summer/fall running around in period garb. So, you ask, what does my love for corsets and my insane habit of prancing around in pure wool in ninety-plus degree heat have to do with my book? I'm glad you asked.

As I'm doing research for a living history event, I often stumble upon interesting information. And that information tends to find its way into my stories. In the case of Darkest Fire, it was the mythology of the griffin.

Naturally, I took some liberties with the legend. In my book, Drako Alexandre is the leader of his generation of Black Gryffons—mortal guardians of humanity's most powerful secret. And though Drako has no desire to be tied down—a Dom, he actually prefers to do the tying--he must take a wife. He decides Rin Mitchell, a woman with a secret of her own, is the perfect choice. They strike a deal. He'll never have to give up his desire for domination and forbidden pleasures. And Rin will get the money she desperately needs to help her sister. But, of course, things don't turn out the way either of them expect...


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Finding The Right Digital Publisher

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 21, 2011 | PERMALINK

Bobbye Terry, who also writes under the pseudonyms Daryn Cross and Terry Campbell, is an author with experience writing across the genres and publishing in both traditional and e-formats. Now she shares her tips on how to choose the right digital publisher.

Are you a writer who craves to be published but no matter how many times you submit to print publishers you have a rejection to show for it? I know how frustrated one can be when this happens. If I’d saved every rejection letter I ever got, I could paper several houses, most likely including the White House, not that security would allow it. Now, I don’t claim to be the wise sage who has just the right answer, but I can give you my insights based on fifteen years of writing and having been published with a large New York house and a bunch of small press publishers with an emphasis on digital publication.

When choosing a home for your prize novel, don’t submit wildly in hopes that one of many will accept your work. Choose your publisher just like you would a physical property, with research, inspection and careful analysis of the contract. 

Things to consider: 


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog
16COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Weekly Web Wrap Up 2/18/2011

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 18, 2011 | PERMALINK

Did you spend your whole week Taming the VIP Playboy?
Here’s what you missed on the RT Website.

Contemporary Romance: Susan Wiggs shares her favorite scene from Marrying Daisy Bellamy. Read On >>

Historical Romance: Cara Elliott on her Circle of Sin series. Check Out The Interview >>

Series Romance: Fall in love with two new Harlequin Historical heroes. Meet The Men >> 

Fantasy: Take an in-depth look at the characters of The Sworn. Read A Message From The Author >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

The Authors Of A New Anthology Issue Us An Invitation To Sin

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 18, 2011 | PERMALINK

When we heard that historical romance authors Jo Beverley, Vanessa Kelly, Sally MacKenzie and Kaitlin O’Riley had pooled their talent to create this month’s anthology, An Invitation to Sin, our next move was clear. We went right to the four authors to tell us what surprised them about the unexpected relationships that bloom in each of their novellas!

The Surprise In “Forbidden Affections" by Jo Beverley:

I've always been fascinated by the gothic tales that gripped readers in the late 18th and early 19th century. People who think Regency misses were demure would get a shock to share their enjoyment of capture by bandits, terror from lascivious monks, and hauntings by a variety of ghouls. In my story, "Forbidden Affections", a young fan of such works finds herself plunged into a simulation of one of her favorite stories and like so many gothic heroines, can't resist exploring.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
8COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

A Book Signing E-vent With Nora Roberts, Jeaniene Frost And More At 10:30 On Saturday February 19th

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 18, 2011 | PERMALINK

You may not be able to make it to Boonsboro, Maryland this Saturday morning to meet  Nora Roberts, Jeaniene Frost and the other authors who will be signing books at Turn the Page Bookstore Cafe. However don't let the distance between you and Boonsboro keep you from attending this event!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Joss Ware On Selena Of Night Betrayed - The Newest Heroine Of The Envy Chronicles

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 18, 2011 | PERMALINK

Joss Ware's Selena is no ordinary leading lady. In the post-apocalyptic world of Ware's the Envy Chronicles, Selena serves as a hospice worker, guiding people to their final rest. But when the nearly dead Theo survives the death rattle that Selena knows so well, she realizes that she may have finally met the man who is her match. Now the author brings us up to speed on everything we need to know before venturing into the zombie-infested world of Selena, Theo and what remains of society in Night Betrayed.

About a year ago, I found a book written by a hospice doctor that was a collection of his experiences with death and the dying. The stories and incidents were fascinating, and only added to stories I’d heard from other people—another hospice doctor whom I know personally, along with others who’ve worked or volunteered, or otherwise been present in situations when someone is dying.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Two English Heroes

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 17, 2011 | PERMALINK

Are you seeking tall, dark and English? Your search is over with two new series romances heroes from Harlequin Historical.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Susan Wiggs' New Favorite Scene

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 17, 2011 | PERMALINK

Romance novel queen Susan Wiggs shares her very favorite scene from her newest novel. (No spoilers, she promises!)

The good news is, my favorite scene in Marrying Daisy Bellamy is touching, funny, emotional and entertaining. The bad news is, I can’t tell you what happens in that scene.

Why? Well, because it wouldn’t be fair to people who haven’t read the book yet. It’s got too many spoilers in it.

Part of the fun of Marrying Daisy Bellamy is the excruciating who-will-win-her-heart tension that has been running through all of the Lakeshore Chronicles, ever since Daisy burst onto the scene in Summer at Willow Lake, a troubled teen with a chip on her shoulder. Through the subsequent books, she has felt the push and pull of her heart between Logan–the father of her child–and Julian–the hunky Air Force pilot. So I can’t talk about that favorite scene and risk a spoiler.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST