RT Daily Blog

Tell us What you'd Like in an RT BOOK REVIEWS app!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 20, 2010 | PERMALINK

There's an app for everything these days, and as our readers know we work hard to help you read smarter! So we are looking into how to best provide our readers with easy access to all of the content on our website. That's over 40,000 book reviews, as well as blog posts, magazine articles and much more!

Wouldn't it be great to be able to look up all the new reviews while you are standing in the bookstore? Or how about being able to scan any book's barcode to find out what the RT reviewers have to say about it? Or do you see the most value in being able to access our popular forums to check in with what your fellow readers have to say while you are on the go? 

We want to know what you'd like to see in an app that gives you access to RT's online content. Would you prefer to use a more streamlined free app or have access to an app that is more of a resource so that you can access all of RT's online content on your smart phone, iPad or tablet while you are on the go? Fill out this survey to share your thoughts about what you would like to see in an RT BOOK REVIEWS app.

Take the Survey >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST


Find the Cover Contest!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 20, 2010 | PERMALINK

To help you beat the winter chill, we've cooked up a little scavenger hunt for you within the pages of the new issue.

Somewhere inside our February magazine we've hidden a picture of the December 2010 magazine cover. One lucky reader who finds our hidden image will win a prize pack from RT. 

To enter email here with the location of the hidden December cover and your US mailing address. One entry per person please. The winner will be announced here on January 18th!

BLOG UPDATE 1/18/11: And the winner is Arlene S.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

WEEKLY WEB WRAP UP 12/17/2010

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 17, 2010 | PERMALINK

Did you spend your week trying to figure out if your cute new co-worker was Forbidden or For Bedding?

Here's what you missed on the RT website.

HISTORICAL ROMANCE: Play the game based on Stephanie Laurens' latest series. Get the Details >>

MYSTERY: The Haunted Home Restoration series is full of references to the author's life. Learn More >>

CONTEMPORARY ROMANCE: Teresa Medeiros gets truly modern with her new novel. Check it Out >>

YOUNG ADULT: Carrie Jones shares the inspiration for her kick-butt nice girl heroine. What is it? >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Your Last Minute Book Buying Gift Guide!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 17, 2010 | PERMALINK

Are you caught in a last minute gift-buying bind? Our favorite place to pick up gifts is, of course, the bookstore. Here are our holiday gift suggestions of 2010 books to fit everyone on your list!

For the Mom who wants ...

 a sweet romance

Call Me Mrs. Miracle
by Debbie Macomber

a thought-provoking read

This Must be the Place
by Kate Racculia

an Amelia Peabody-style adventure!

The Crocodile's Last Embrace
by Suzanne Arruda


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Test your Allison Brennan Book IQ and Win a Prizepack - Now Enter to Win Until January 4th!

BY Faygie Levy, DECEMBER 17, 2010 | PERMALINK

Suspense lovers will want to check out the January release Love Me to Death by Allison Brennan. This is the first book in the Lucy Kincaid series. As a teenager, Lucy was abducted and nearly killed as her family rushed to save her in the 2007 release, Fear No Evil. Now an adult and waiting to join the FBI, Lucy may be on her way to finding love, but first comes some major crime fighting.

To get you ready for the new series we thought it would be fun to revisit her past and the Kincaid family, many of whom have already gotten their own happily ever afters. Take the quiz below and see how much you know about the Kincaids. Several readers who answer all the questions correctly will win books from the author:  

 

1.How many children are in the Kincaid family?
a) 3
b) 5
c) 7

2. Who is Carina Kincaid’s partner?
a) Jim Gage
b) Will Hooper
c) Hans Vigo


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Three Overnight Dads from Silhouette Desire

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 16, 2010 | PERMALINK

In the Silhouette Desire line of series romances, men tend to take the fast lane to fatherhood. And whether they are marrying women who are nine months pregnant, or suddenly learning that they have children they’ve never met, these are all men on an emotional rollercoaster. Now three of this month’s Silhouette Desire authors give readers a special look at their "Overnight Dads" of December.

 

Trevor Jarrod, Inheriting His Secret Christmas Baby 
by Heidi Betts


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

SCOOPED! Featuring Holiday Reads, Free E-Books, Choosing RT's Top Picks And More!

BY Morgan Doremus, DECEMBER 16, 2010 | PERMALINK

For my weekly column Scooped!, I scour the Internet, contact authors and pick my fellow RT editor's brains to make sure no reader question goes unanswered. This week, I share insider information about both Christmas and non-Christmas romance books, the easiest way to find free e-books and give an insider look at how RT's Top Picks are chosen. Still have questions? Send them to me here and you may be featured in an upcoming post.

Question: How exactly do you choose which books will be Top Picks? -Kimi

Morgan: Top Picks are chosen by RT Reviewers as the best books of the month. They are the ones that we believe are truly special — perhaps even destined to be "classics". However, for the answer about how exactly they are picked, I turn to RT Senior Reviewer Kathe Robin who has reviewed close to 8,500 books in her 30 year tenure at RT! 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Mark Henry on Making the Switch

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 16, 2010 | PERMALINK

Urban Fantasy author Mark Henry talks about a writer’s best weapon again the threat of unemployment: the ability to diversify. Today marks the release of his first erotic tale, Stocking Full of Coal, writing under the name Amanda Feral. Get all the details about how this new novel came to be and don’t miss the *Web Exclusive Review* of the story at the end of this post! 

Writers get a lot of questions. What font do you use? Where do you get your ideas? Do you ever bathe? But one that’s been popping up a lot recently is: can you really make a living as a lower midlist author with very little other marketable skills?

The answer is an unequivocal maybe, often accompanied by a shrug.


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog, Erotica, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Three Heroes Next Door That are Melting our Hearts

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 15, 2010 | PERMALINK

Romantic suspense is full of ex-Navy SEALs and high-tech security experts. But this month the three men who are turning our heads are more of the hero next door type. Pamela Loewy's Wyatt Kelly and Joyce Lamb's John Logan are hard working police detectives, and KM Daughters' Patrick Sullivan is a police captain. They may not have flashy gadgets or untold riches to help them save the girl, but they can rescue us any day! Now Loewy, Lamb and Daughters give us a special look at these three everyday heroes who are melting our hearts.

 

Wyatt Kelly the hero of Saving Jemma  
by Pamela Loewy


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Inside the Issue: February 2011

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 15, 2010 | PERMALINK

The weather outside may be frightful, but this month's magazine is delightful! We've just wrapped up the February issue and it will be in stores next week.

Here are some of the stories you can look forward to:

We investigate some of fiction's hottest love triangles to find out which man fans think should win the heroine's heart. 

Debut author Darynda Jones talks about the contest that changed it all — and the sought-after shoes that grace her cover!

We look into "The Original E-book" to find out why some bestselling authors are taking a less traditional route to deliver stories to readers.

Douglas Preston and Lincoln Child give us a sneak peek at their new hero, Gideon Crew.

Find out how Colleen Houck's novel became the launch title for a new line of YAs.

Convention News: It's time to talk parties!

You can also check out the third round of the RT/Kensington Writing With the Stars competition, author Jana Oliver is featured in Teen Scene and much more!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST