RT Daily Blog

A Q&A With the YA Authors Behind The Caster Chronicles - With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 05, 2010 | PERMALINK
Photo Credit: Alex Hoerner  

Authors Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl have just released the second novel in The Caster Chronicles, Beautiful Darkness. Now authors take readers behind the scenes of their popular YA series – and don’t miss the GIVEAWAY at the end of this interview!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
7COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST


Check out the reviews for the Harlequin Romances of November 2010

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 05, 2010 | PERMALINK

Series Romance Fans, thank you for your patience!

We know you've had quite the wait for the reviews of the Harlequin Romances from November 2010. However, now you can browse through all six reviews online. Be sure to check them out to find out which novel RT Reviewer Pat Cooper calls a "sweetly romantic and sexy holiday romance that readers will find the perfect fit for their Christmas stocking reading." Answer Here >>

Read All The Reviews >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Anne O'Brien On The Many Sides of Historical Figures In Fiction

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 05, 2010 | PERMALINK

Anne O’Brien’s new historical fiction, The Virgin Widow, shows King Richard III in a very different light than other fictional works. Now the author discusses why she made this choice and provides a snapshot of her version of the king in an excerpt at the end of the post.

Writing history as romance can be a challenge, but a fascinating one. The hero and heroine must be worthy of the role or it just doesn’t work. Some lovers leap from the page of the historical novel: Abelard and Eloise, Katherine Swynford and John of Gaunt, Lord Nelson and Emma Hamilton. Some most certainly do not, and for many readers, Richard of Gloucester, later to be Richard III, heads the list.

It was my deliberate choice to write Anne and Richard’s story as a romance.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Real Life Romance With Judith Arnold

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 04, 2010 | PERMALINK

Author Judith Arnold chats about her experience turning a real relationship into a fictionalized one for her novel Meet Me In Manhattan.

I was thrilled when HCI Books invited me to write one of the launch titles for True Vows, their new line of Reality Based Romance™—and also apprehensive. Since selling my first book in 1983, I’ve seen eighty-six of my romance novels published. I’ve written comedies, dramas, novellas, series romances and stand-alone novels. But True Vows was an entirely new concept: romance novels based on the courtships of actual couples. 

In all the other novels I’d written, I’d made everything up. I’d created the characters, the stories, the conflicts. Could I write a novel in which the characters were real people? Could I shape a dramatic, passionate romance novel out of an actual love affair? 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Footnotes

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 04, 2010 | PERMALINK


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

The Author's Quest - Finding Historical Resources On The Web

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 04, 2010 | PERMALINK

In the age of the Internet, aspiring authors have a virtually limitless number of resources at their fingertips. This can be particularly helpful for those who wish to write about historical time periods. With the touch of a button, writers can be escorted through bygone eras, learning about each period's food, dress, manners and more. However, for the uninitiated, the sheer volume of information can be overwhelming. So we thought we would clear the confusion and gather together some of the best websites to help authors research the historical elements in their manuscripts.


 

At HistoricalNovels.info you will find more than just a dusty list of links. The site is full of solid gold resources for aspiring authors, from advice and articles collected in an easy-to-browse manner to an annotated list of books set around the world in different time periods. Don't be put off by the colorful graphics, there's a wealth of information here!


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Author Interview With Tom Franklin

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 03, 2010 | PERMALINK

M, I, Crooked Letter, Crooked Letter, I, Crooked Letter, Crooked Letter, I, Humpback, Humpback, I. Just a string of gibberish until it's put together as Mississippi, the setting of mystery author Tom Franklin’s Crooked Letter, Crooked Letter. This RT Top Pick! captures the feel of the South and has RT Reviewer Donna M. Carter raving, “Much more than a mystery, this literate, evocative tale is a story of guilty secrets, hidden loves and, ultimately, of redemption, with characters who are so real they practically walk off the page.” Now get an inside peek into the mind of the author behind Crooked Letter, Crooked Letter and don't miss the excerpt at the end of the interview.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

John Scalzi+Subterranean Press = A Free Short Story With A Twist

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 03, 2010 | PERMALINK

John Scalzi announced earlier this week on his popular blog, Whatever, that he has teamed up with Subterranean Press to present readers with a free short science fiction story. 

Scalzi's story, "An Election," follows the decision of a human man to run for a seat on the city council in a world where no human has held that office for thirty-six years. When the man finds himself on the wrong side of the acting councilman, it's clear that this will be an even harder uphill battle than they expected!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

RT Reports From Brooklyn Story's Launch Party

BY Faygie Levy, NOVEMBER 03, 2010 | PERMALINK

We at RT are always happy when we hear about a new author, but there's something special when the author is from Brooklyn, where RT is based. The latest author to celebrate the borough is Suzanne Corso. The author is getting raves for her debut mainstream novel, Brooklyn Story, which will be out in late December.

The book tells the story of a half-Italian, half-Jewish girl from Bensonhurst, Brooklyn in the late 1970s and her journey to find her place in the world. Brooklyn Story, which is already being looked at for film adaptation, with no less than Penny Marshall and Lorraine Bracco attached, was first written by Corso when she was just 19. Though it has been rewritten and revised, Corso says the essence of her story remained.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mainstream
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Diana Holquist Offers Writing Help

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 03, 2010 | PERMALINK

Author Diana Holquist shares her thoughts for aspiring authors with Sarah Wendell of the popular blog Smart Bitches, Trashy Books. Holquist discusses her creative process with blogger and how she incorporates alpha male heroes into her contemporary romances.

Diana Holquist on Her Creative Process >>

More From the RT BOOK REVIEWS Video Channel >>


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST