RT Daily Blog

Forewords - The Books Before the Buzz

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 23, 2014 | PERMALINK

With our column, Forewords, we let readers know the latest book news about some of the web team's most-anticipated upcoming releases across the genres — just as the projects are announced!

NEW SERIES

Young Adult - Bestselling author Abbi Glines is set for a new series, The Field Party, which will feature Southern bad boys, football and high school field parties. Release date for book one is TBA.

Urban Fantasy - In Lexie Dunne’s Superheroes Anonymous, Hostage Girl, who is repeatedly kidnapped by supervillains, winds up with superpowers of her own and begins a romance with a sexy superhero. This is the first in a new urban fantasy series and we can’t wait to hear more about it!

Romantic Suspense - Midnight Vengeance marks the beginning of a new series from Lisa Marie Rice. A second, untitled book is also on the way. Release date TBA.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST


Weekly Web Wrap-Up: 6/20/2014

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 20, 2014 | PERMALINK

Did you spend your whole week spending time with Family on the Range?

Here's what you missed on the RT site!

***

HISTORICAL ROMANCE: We breakdown Sarah MacLean's latest cover! See It Now >>

CONTEMPORARY ROMANCE: Read an excerpt from Christi Barth's newest novel! Keep Reading >>

EROTICA: Erin Dameron-Hill shares tips to keep your cover Amazon-approved! Read On>>

YOUNG ADULT: Michael Barakiva discusses his novel, fatherhood and culture. Read More >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

A.C.T.I.O.N. - Keeping Readers Engaged the Eve Silver Way

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 20, 2014 | PERMALINK

Keeping readers hooked and engaged for a whole novel isn't always the easiest thing to do while writing a book. We all know it's best to show, not tell, and that action and suspense keep the story interesting. But how should writers approach this? Author extraordinaire Eve Silver, who's celebrating the release of Push, has a memorable mnemonic device to help you keep readers engaged. Take a look:

Engage readers through action and suspense. Sounds simple, right? Put a ton of fight scenes, explosions, car chases or steamy love scenes on the page and you have action and suspense. Or do you? The truth is, readers have already read scenes like this over and over again. So what makes your story stand out? What makes it lure the reader to anticipate every word?

The answer is A.C.T.I.O.N.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Tweethearts: Tweets We Loved This Week

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 20, 2014 | PERMALINK

The Internet is full of hilarious gems and memorable words of wisdom from the masses. Authors, readers and publishers on Twitter are no exception and continuously put smiles on the faces of Twitter users daily in 140 characters or less. We've started compiling out favorite Tweets. Here are some of the standouts of the week:


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Samhain Publishing Announces Major Changes

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 19, 2014 | PERMALINK

Samhain Publishing has long been a driving force in the romance world thanks to their extensive list of authors, unique books and savviness in the digital market. Today, the company announced a few major changes that mark a new chapter in the publisher’s life.

In an effort to develop stronger industry relationships and stay ahead of the game, Samhain has announced owner Christina Brashear has returned as Publisher, resulting in changes in the editorial staff. Current Publisher Lindsey Faber will now serve as a consultant while Editorial Director Heather Osborn will now act as a freelance editor.

Brashear hopes this reorganization will bring Samhain back to “its roots of finding and publishing best-selling romance writers.” She also pledges to “continue to nurture and support our current authors while looking to find that next generation of best-selling writers…”


Read More>>

Tags: Publishing Industry News, RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Jay Crownover and the Do's and Don'ts of Dating a Bad Boy

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 19, 2014 | PERMALINK

Everybody loves reading about a bad boy and some of you might even be dating or have dated one in real life. But loving a bad boy isn't always easy, as many fictional heroines can atest. So we thought we'd ask New Adult author and bad boy expert Jay Crownover for some bad boy dating tips. Here's what she had to say:

Cover of Better When He's Bad by Jay Crownover I spend a good portion of every single day neck deep in book bad-boys. I really do have the best job ever! By now I think I’ve gotten a pretty good handle on what makes bad-boys tick and what makes them so much fun not only to write, but to love as well. I can’t say that there are any hard and fast rules when it comes to getting involved with a bad-boy because let’s face it, in the world of a true bad-boy, rules are always made to be broken. However, these are some do’s and don’ts that I think are pretty common if a lady or a book heroine wants to survive a relationship with a bad-boy.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

From Page to Screen: Upcoming Film and TV Adaptations

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 19, 2014 | PERMALINK

Page to Screen logo of a film reel

Summer is off to a great start and Hollywood shows no sign of taking a break as the heat rolls in and the days at the beach increase. This month's book-to-film news is rich with YA and mystery buzz with a dash of magic thrown in for good measure. Take a look:

Pretty Little Liars Lives On

ABC Family recently announced that it’s hit TV series, Pretty Little Liars, has been renewed for two more seasons. The show, based on Sara Shepard’s YA series of the same name, is currently on its fifth season, which means the show is now set for seven seasons. What twists and turns do they have in store for us now? We can’t wait to see!

Dumbledore and Rowling, Together Again

The cast has been revealed for HBO and the BBC’s upcoming miniseries adaptation of JK Rowling’s The Casual Vacancy. Included in the cast is Michael Gambon, who Rowling devotees will recognize as the actor who portrayed Professor Dumbledore in the movie versions of Rowling’s Harry Potter series. To see the full cast, click here.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cheaper By The Dozen - This Week's Hot E-Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 19, 2014 | PERMALINK

What do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In this column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee. All prices listed are accurate at the time of this blog's posting.

Historical Romance

Moon Racer by Constance O'Banyon

Buy It On Amazon For $0.99 >>

 

Contemporary Romance

Coulda Been A Cowboy by Brenda Novak

Buy It On Amazon For $1.99 >>

Buy it On B&N For $1.99 >>

 

Young Adult

Tiger Lily by Jodi Lynn Anderson

Buy It On Amazon For $1.99 >>

Buy It On B&N For $1.99 >>

         


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cleis Press Announces New Romance Imprint

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 18, 2014 | PERMALINK

In the November 2013 issue of RT Book Reviews we teamed up with Cleis Press to host a special contest that would determine the name of Cleis’s upcoming imprint dedicated to publishing unique and compelling romances. Readers were asked to submit their ideas and the winner would win a $250 cash prize, a complete collection of Cleis titles and a copy of every future title from the new imprint. Today, Cleis officially announced the new imprint and its name, chosen by grand prize winner Laura Wilson!

Drum roll, please...

Tempted Romance will be headed by Cleis Press publisher Brenda Knight, who will carefully curate the imprint's list. Beginning with Janine Ashbless’s Cover Him With Darkness, which releases September 22, Tempted will release one book a month, resulting in twelve books a year.

When asked about how the new imprint will differ from Cleis, Knight said, “Tempted Romance is very different from 34-year-old Cleis in that all the books are very carefully selected by me, a life-long romance reader who fell in love with the genre as a teen. A major distinction is that I am acquiring several romance novels, and even novellas, something Cleis has never done.”


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Very Short Reviews Of Difficult Books

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 18, 2014 | PERMALINK

Ah, classic literary fiction. It can be so wonderful, but at times dense, leaving us wishing for a guide to lead us through the venerable prose. Enter: Italian artist and writer Francesco D'Isa, who reviews the classics in a candid, tongue-in-cheek (and very short) way. We're happy to bring his column, "Very Short Reviews of Difficult Books," to English language readers! Check back here every Wednesday for three new reviews from Francesco.

***

The Prose Edda by Snorri Sturluson

The gods will be miserably slaughtered, and even if they know it in advance, they'd rather not to worry about it, as to “not upset their holy peace." In the history of the West, so many works come from Norse mythology.

Plot: The gods of good, the gods of evil and all the men will die. 

Rating: 97 out of 100 

The Confessions of St. Augustine by St. Augustine


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST