RT Daily Blog

Forewords - The Books Before the Buzz

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 18, 2014 | PERMALINK

With our column, Forewords, we let readers know the latest book news about some of the web team's most-anticipated upcoming releases across the genres — just as the projects are announced!

DEBUT AUTHORS

Contemporary Romance - Donna Schneider will step into the spotlight in 2015 with Taking Chances, which tells the story of a woman in mourning who decides to step out of her shell and ends up in the limelight when she ends up in the arms of one of Hollywood’s sexiest actors.

Young Adult - In Fifteen Ways to Brave, E. Katherine Kottara’s debut, a girl makes a bucket list of things to try following the death of her mother. Skinny-dipping and asking out the boy she likes are only the tip of the iceberg.

Contemporary Romance - Amy Reichert’s The Coincidence of Coconut Cake takes food, love and second chances to dish up a charming tale. Look for this in Summer 2015.

NEW SERIES

Contemporary Romance - Mackenzie Crowne’s A Game of Keeps features a superstar tight end who gets in over his head when he becomes embroiled in an unexpected custody battle against an irresistible blonde.


Read More>>

Tags: Publishing Industry News, RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST


Weekly Web Wrap-Up: 8/15/2014

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 15, 2014 | PERMALINK

Did you spend your whole week finding Her Stolen Past?

Here's what you missed on the RT site!

***

EROTICA: Read this sizzling excerpt from Katie Porter's Own. Read More >>

CONTEMPORARY ROMANCE: Check out Sudney Halston's sizzling cover! It's Hot! >>

YOUNG ADULT: Sarah Fine talks diversity, ghosts and her new novel. Read On >>

COVER BREAKDOWN: DJ breaks down Kate Meader's cover for Flirting With Fire. It's Hot >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Tweethearts: Tweets We Loved This Week

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 15, 2014 | PERMALINK

The Internet is full of hilarious gems and memorable words of wisdom from the masses. Authors, readers and publishers on Twitter are no exception and continuously put smiles on the faces of Twitter users daily in 140 characters or less. We've started compiling out favorite Tweets. Here are some of the standouts of the week:


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Open Casting: Adele Griffin on Addison Stone

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 14, 2014 | PERMALINK

The lives of young artists are always ripe with intrigue and drama, the kind that pulls you in and makes you want to know everything about them. One artist you should know is Addison Stone, though, you may have never heard of her — probably because she's fictional. But thanks to Adele Griffin's gripping faux biography, The Unfinished Life of Addison Stone, curious readers are given an in-depth look at the trials and victories of Addison's tragic life. Today, Adele discusses what went into writing the novel and where she drew inspiration from. Take it away, Adele!

The Unfinished Life of Addison Stone is a documentary-style novel about a troubled, brilliant young New York artist, now deceased. Inspired by Edie: An American Girl, the memoir of the gorgeous Warhol muse Edie Sedgwick, I told Addison as an oral history, fully illustrated with full-page art, plus photos, magazine and newspaper clippings, sketches and candid snaps of Addison’s brief, turbulent life.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Page to Screen: Upcoming Film and TV Adaptations

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 14, 2014 | PERMALINK

Page to Screen logo of a film reel Hollywood shows no sign of slowing down on their book-to-film adaptations. And this month, there are a host of exciting announcements that are sure to make any and all readers squeal and flail in excitement. Whether you enjoy zombies with an Austen twist, creepy YA or classic vampires, there's plenty here for you to whet your movie appetite. Take a look!

Pride and Prejudice and Zombies Lives Again

Just when fans thought the adaptation of Seth Grahame-Smith’s Pride and Prejudice and Zombies was dead, a recent announcement has breathed new life into the potential film. With Cross Creek Pictures taking over US distribution, principal photography is set to begin in September. Lily James and Sam Riley are now set to star. Read more over at Deadline.

A Wrinkle in Time Heads to Disney


Read More>>

Tags: Publishing Industry News, RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cheaper By The Dozen - This Week's Hot E-Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 14, 2014 | PERMALINK

What do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In this column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee. All prices listed are accurate at the time of this blog's posting.

Historical Romance

The Truth About Lord Stoneville

The Truth About Lord Stoneville by Sabrina Jeffries

4.5 stars Top Pick

Buy It On Amazon For $1.99 >>

Buy It On B&N For $1.99 >>

 

Contemporary Romance

When We Met

Tall, Dark, and Cajun by Sandra Hill

4 stars

Buy It On Amazon For $1.99 >>

Buy It On B&N For $1.99 >>

 

Young Adult

The Luxe

The Selection by Kiera Cass

3 stars

Buy It On Amazon For $2.99 >>

Buy It On B&N For $2.99 >>

         


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Rin Chupeco on the Ghost and the Girl and the Well

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 13, 2014 | PERMALINK

We love a good ghost story as much as the next person, making Rin Chupeco's The Girl From the Well an instant delight. With its uniquely creepy story and expert prose, this is one novel that will, pardon the pun, haunt you for days on end. Curious about the story behind the story, we asked Rin about the inspiration for the novel and here's what she had to say:

Inspiration for The Girl from the Well began with two things: the ghost and the girl. The more I wrote, the harder it became to separate the two. 

The idea for the ghost came to me several years ago, when I was still making my living writing technical manuals for a mobile-programming company, which was based in a rather old building. Since I often clocked out late, I inadvertently gave the other people working there some good scares. After a day's grueling overtime, the last thing you need is to have the dilapidated elevator doors slide open to reveal someone who could pass for The Ring's Samara standing inside (me). 

Samara’s character is named Sadako in the Japanese version of the movie, which was more popular where I live, so they took to calling me "good Sadako." It made me think about the concept of a 'good' ghost that didn't necessarily look the part. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cover Breakdown: Flirting With Fire by Kate Meader

BY DJ DeSmyter, AUGUST 13, 2014 | PERMALINK

Who doesn't love a hot fireman? If you don't, well, more for the rest of us, I suppose. When I heard about Kate Meader's Flirting With Fire, the first in her upcoming Hot in Chicago series, I was instantly hooked and knew I needed to read this steamy romance starring a PR hotshot and a sexy Chicago fireman. And then the cover was released and I was sold. Take a look:

The first installment in Hot in Chicago, a brand-new, sizzling series that follows a group of firefighting foster siblings and their blazing hot love interests!

Savvy PR guru Kinsey Taylor has always defined herself by her career, not her gender. That is, until she moved from San Francisco to Chicago to be with her fiancé who thought she wasn’t taking her “job” of supporting him in his high-powered career seriously enough — and promptly dumped her for a more supportive and “feminine” nurse. Now, as the new assistant press secretary to Chicago’s dynamic mayor, she’s determined to keep her eye on the prize: no time to feel inferior because she’s a strong, kick-ass woman, and certainly no time for men.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Very Short Reviews Of Difficult Books

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 13, 2014 | PERMALINK

Ah, classic literary fiction. It can be so wonderful, but at times dense, leaving us wishing for a guide to lead us through the venerable prose. Enter: Italian artist and writer Francesco D'Isa, who reviews the classics in a candid, tongue-in-cheek (and very short) way. We're happy to bring his column, "Very Short Reviews of Difficult Books," to English language readers! Check back here every Wednesday for three new reviews from Francesco.

Very Short Reviews of Difficult Books banner

Petrolio by Pier Paolo Pasolini 

Terribly unfinished, terribly difficult, terribly beautiful and ultimately terrible. A cursed novel (there's a mystery of a missing chapter) where Pasolini would have merged all his languages, if someone had not killed him before. 

Plot: The life of two Carlos. 

Rating: ●●●●○

Consider the Lobster by David Foster Wallace

The quintessence of the modern American essay: to discuss bullshit proving that it's not complete garbage, because sometimes it's connect to very important things. For example: to treat the discussion of vocabulary by bringing up the role of social and philosophical language. Good and funny. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

5 Tradionally Published Authors With Indie Titles Releasing This Year

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 12, 2014 | PERMALINK

A handful of traditionally-published romance authors have recently announced that they’re trying their hand at indie publishing. Kristen Callihan, Beth Revis and Nalini Singh are all self-publishing romances this fall, and Cora Carmack and Jennifer L. Armentrout, who have already found success self-publishing, also revealed that they're returning to indie publishing for winter releases.

The covers of The Hook Up and The Body Electric


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST