RT Daily Blog

Tweethearts: Tweets We Loved This Week

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 25, 2014 | PERMALINK

The Internet is full of hilarious gems and memorable words of wisdom from the masses. Authors, readers and publishers on Twitter are no exception and continuously put smiles on the faces of Twitter users daily in 140 characters or less. We've started compiling out favorite Tweets. Here are some of the standouts of the week:

Sometimes ignorance is bliss.

Children these days. Think they can grow up and everything.

Is this a game-changer for dino-erotica?

Eh, who needs friends?

That's one mistake we'll gladly make over and over again.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST


How Jane Feather Became Trapped And Beguiled By Romance

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 24, 2014 | PERMALINK

Since it's Throwback Thursday, we decided to ask veteran romance author Jane Feather — whose latest, Trapped at the Altar, released this week — how she became enraptured by romance, specifically the timeless historicals that helped shape the genre. If you're on Twitter, check out the #TBTRom hashtag to see which classic romances readers hold near and dear to their hearts.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Lights! Camera! Action!: Kelly Fiore on Life and Movies

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 24, 2014 | PERMALINK

 While most of the time we wish our life could be like a book, we often watch a movie and think, "Gee, I wish my life was like that." In Kelly Fiore's latest book, Just Like the Movies, two girls set out to bring a little movie magic into their lives. Today, Kelly dishes on which movie she wished mirrored her own life and what she thinks now.

I think was 17 or so when Titanic came out. I remember thinking, in my less than rational moments, that it would be worth it to be stuck on a sinking ship and face a horrific, freezing cold death if it meant finding true love before going under.

What can I say? I’m a romantic.

These days, I don’t think an ideal relationship requires that much drama. But, as a teen, I was definitely drawn to movies where a girl fell in love with her best guy friend or a friend’s boyfriend or the boy next door. When I was a freshman in high school, I went to see Clueless in the theater. The relationship between Paul Rudd and Alicia Silverstone was both innocent and filled with chemistry. I adored how they started out sniping at each other, merely teasing and taunting as a form of flirting. I’m really attracted to that idea — the idea of fighting as foreplay, assuming of course that we’re talking about verbal sparring.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cheaper By The Dozen - This Week's Hot E-Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 24, 2014 | PERMALINK

What do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In this column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee. All prices listed are accurate at the time of this blog's posting.

Historical Romance

Wallflower Gone Wild

Wallflower Gone Wild by Maya Rodale

Buy It On Amazon For $1.99 >>

Buy It On B&N For $1.99 >>

 

Contemporary Romance

No Tan Lines

No Tan Lines by Kate Angell

Buy It On Amazon For $2.99 >>

Buy It On B&N For $2.99 >>

 

New Adult

Wait for You

Wait For You by J. Lynn

Buy It On Amazon For $1.99 >>

Buy It On B&N For $1.99 >>

         


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

It's Here! Watch the First Trailer for Fifty Shades of Grey

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 24, 2014 | PERMALINK

The wait is over, folks! This morning, Universal Pictures released the first trailer for the hotly anticipated movie adaptation of Fifty Shades of Grey, E.L. James's debut novel that took the world by storm. Watch the trailer below:

With a seductive new remix of Beyonce's "Crazy In Love", the trailer absolutely sizzles! Let us know what you love most about it and which scene you hope to see come to life on the big screen! Fifty Shades of Grey releases on February 14, 2015.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Hump Day Excerpt: Rogue By Katy Evans

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 23, 2014 | PERMALINK

Since rules were made to be broken, we're doing a little something different for Hump Day this week. Instead of a steamy excerpt from an erotic romance, we've got scene from Katy Evans' upcoming New Adult novel Rogue. But let's be real, we all know New Adult can get pretty hot and heavy. This scene from Rogue is so tantilizing, Katy's publicist confessed it left her red-faced in her cubicle. So clearly we had to share it with you. Greyson ... we just, we have no words. Enjoy!

“Leave it on,” he murmurs, then he rolls me onto my back and yanks my arms up over my head.

“But I want to touch you,” I breathe, undulating my body against the weight of his.

He pins my arms up in one hand and pulls off his tie with the other, then he wraps it tightly around my wrists. “Tonight, only I touch.”

“Why?”


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cover Breakdown: Broken Open by Lauren Dane

BY DJ DeSmyter, JULY 23, 2014 | PERMALINK

While Lauren Dane's The Best Kind of Trouble, the first in her new Hurley Boys series, doesn't hit shelves until next month, I'm already counting down the days until the sequel, Broken Open, releases. The moment I saw the cover, I fell in love. It's not often you see an interracial couple on a mainstream romance cover, so for that alone it's a winner. But the premise is equally as intriguing - especially the hero, musician and rancher Ezra - which makes this a book I have to read. Let's take a look!


Five years ago, Tuesday Eastwood’s life collapsed and left her devastated. After an empty, nomadic existence, she’s finally pieced her life back together in the small Oregon town of Hood River. Now Tuesday has everything sorted out. Just so long as men are kept for sex, and only sex ...

Then she met him.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cover Reveal: Dream A Little Dream by Kerstin Gier

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 23, 2014 | PERMALINK

A cover can make or break a book. Luckily for her, Kerstin Gier's covers have been absolutely stunning. The whole girl-in-a-big-dress cover trend has many hits and misses, and the covers for Kerstin's bestselling Ruby Red trilogy are definite hits. Today, she continues her good luck with the lovely cover for her upcoming book, Dream A Little Dream, the first in the Silver Trilogy — and we have the exclusive reveal. Let's take a look!

Mysterious doors with lizard-head knobs. Talking stone statues. A crazy girl with a hatchet. Yes, Liv’s dreams have been pretty weird lately. Especially the one where she’s in a graveyard at night, watching four boys conduct dark magic rituals. The strangest part is that Liv recognizes the boys in her dream. They’re classmates from her new school in London, the school where she’s starting over because her mom has moved them to a new country (again). But what's really scaring Liv is that the dream boys seem to know things about her in real life, things they couldn't possibly know — unless they actually are in her dreams? Luckily, Liv never could resist a good mystery, and all four of those boys are pretty cute ....

And now, the moment we've all been waiting for ...

 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Very Short Reviews Of Difficult Books

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 23, 2014 | PERMALINK

Ah, classic literary fiction. It can be so wonderful, but at times dense, leaving us wishing for a guide to lead us through the venerable prose. Enter: Italian artist and writer Francesco D'Isa, who reviews the classics in a candid, tongue-in-cheek (and very short) way. We're happy to bring his column, "Very Short Reviews of Difficult Books," to English language readers! Check back here every Wednesday for three new reviews from Francesco.

Very Short Reviews of Difficult Books banner

Trilogy of the City of K by Agota Kristof

Inside or outside, true or false, it doesn't matter: hell exists and it's in this book.

Plot: One horror and lie after another.

Rating: ●●●●○ 

Never Let Me Go by Kazuo Ishiguro 

Somewhere there's someone who loves like us, lives worse than us and dies for us; an Anglo-Japanese science fiction tale which coincides with our daily reality. 

Plot: In a college people are raised for transplanting organs. 

Rating: ●●●●○ 

Hopscotch by Julio Cortázar


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Places to Submit Your Manuscript: July 2014

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 22, 2014 | PERMALINK

You’ve written a book - congratulations! But if you thought that was hard, how about trying to find publishers open to submissions? Lucky for you, we gather open calls each month to help make the submission process a bit easier. This month, we have seven exciting opportunities for you and your book. Take a look:

Vinspire Publishing - Vinspire Publishing is currently open to submissions for historical romances, Amish romances and romantic suspense. For historical submissions, Vinspire is only looking for Highlander and Regency stories. To learn more about Vinspire Publishing and their submission guidelines, visit them here.

Forever Yours - Forever Yours, an imprint of Hachette, is currently open for romance submissions for all subgenres. So whether you write historicals, paranormals, or erotica, Forever Yours might be for you! But if you write YA, you’re out of luck. They’re looking for novellas and full-length novels, though, and to learn more about what they want to see, click here.


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST