RT Daily Blog

A Time Line Of Milestones In African American Romance

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 20, 2014 | PERMALINK

Inspired by Kelly Jensen's time line of black history in YA fiction, we wondered: has anyone done this for adult romance? We were disheartened to learn that finding a comprehensive history of African American romance isn't so easy. So we reached out to numerous authors, readers, publicists and editors to compile memorable milestones in the genre. The results? A list of how (and when) the genre developed into what romance readers know and love today.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST


Horror 101: Susan Vaught's Tips for Writing a Great Horror Story

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 20, 2014 | PERMALINK

Susan Vaught knows a thing or two about making readers shiver in fear and sleep with the lights on — and her latest release, Insanity, pulls out all the stops! With such a knack for writing an eerie and surprising horror story, Susan is the perfect author to share tips with us on how to write a creeptastic tale. So grab your pens and take notes! Take it away, Susan!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Self-Pub Like A Pro: Beverley Kendall Details Her Comprehensive Survey

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 20, 2014 | PERMALINK

Self-publishing! It’s been the buzz word in the publishing world for quite some time, as authors, editors, agents and more debate just where the future of publishing is heading. To help us all figure it all out, we'll be spotlighting various self-publishing heavy hitters — including authors, editors and industry professionals — here on the RT blog each month with our new Self-Pub Like a Pro column.

So what’s really going on behind the curtain? Author Beverley Kendall recently conducted a comprehensive survey to find out just that, and the results were surprising and illuminating. We got in touch with Beverley to find out more.

***

What are the top three most important takeaway points from your survey?

My first takeaway from the results of the survey is that self-publishing definitely isn’t a “get rich quick” scheme. It requires hard work and being successful in it takes time.


Read More>>

Tags: Publishing Industry News, RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cheaper By The Dozen - This Week's Hot E-Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 20, 2014 | PERMALINK

What do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In this column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee. All prices listed are accurate at the time of this blog's posting.

Historical Romance

Checkmate My Lord by Tracey Devlyn

Buy It On Amazon For $2.99 >>

Buy It On B&N For $2.99 >>

 

Contemporary Romance

Secrets of the Lost Summer by Carla Neggers

Buy It On Amazon For $0.99 >>

 

New Adult

A Little Too Much by Lisa Desrochers

Buy It On Amazon For $0.99 >>

But It On B&N For $0.99 >>

         


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Into the Archives with Jill Shalvis

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 19, 2014 | PERMALINK

Who doesn’t love a funny, sexy contemporary romance? We’re certainly big fans of those modern-day love stories, which means we are big Jill Shalvis fans! To celebrate her latest release, RT Top Pick! Once in a Lifetime, we got her to go Into the archives with us and tell us her three favorite novels from her very own backlist. Prepare your TBR piles!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Very Short Reviews Of Difficult Books

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 19, 2014 | PERMALINK

Ah, classic literary fiction. It can be so wonderful, but at times dense, leaving us wishing for a guide of some sort to help us through the precious prose. Enter: Italian artist and writer Francesco D'Isa, who reviews the classics in a candid, tongue-in-cheek (and very short) way. We're happy to bring his column, "Very Short Reviews of Difficult Books," to English language readers! Check back here every Wednesday for three new reviews from Francesco.

 

***

Ada or Ardor by Vladimir Nabokov

Incomprehensible from the very first line. You will understand some things later on, as long as you're willing to sink into a parallel universe, both elegant and perverse (in a good way, and yes, there is a good way). Nabokov’s depictions of sex have a lot to teach some lesser contributions to current erotic fiction.

Plot: Two siblings have been engaged in an incestuous relationship since they were twelve.

Rating: 95 out of 100.

Ulysses by James Joyce


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Erased or Restored? Kasie West Talks Memories

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 19, 2014 | PERMALINK

Kasie West's Pivot Point series has enthralled readers with its unique paranormal premise and colorful characters. In Kasie's latest, Split Second, Laila steps into the spotlight, sharing narration duties. Since Laila has the power to erase and restore memories, we thought we'd ask Kasie which memories she'd like altered. Here's what she had to say:

Most embarrassing moments I’d like erased:

Hmmmm, I’m kind of known for being a bit…out there. I have no shortage of times where I’ve spoken before thinking, or been loud or crazy or weird in public places. It’s hard for me to narrow it down. But here we go.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Kiersten White: The Heart-Breaking, Unbreakable Bond of Sisters

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 18, 2014 | PERMALINK

Kiersten White knows a thing or two about sisters, which is why the bond between twins Annie and Fia in the Mind Games series is so fantastic and believable. Now that Perfect Lies is out in the wild, we thought we'd ask Kiersten to talk about her own relationships with her sisters and how they've influenced Annie and Fia's. Take it away, Kiersten!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Bitten Recap: Episode 1.6 - "Committed"

BY Mala Bhattacharjee, FEBRUARY 18, 2014 | PERMALINK

In Bitten 1x06, “Committed,” Elena dons a bridesmaid’s gown and body parts get removed (not by her).

We open on Elena and Philip reveling in two days’ worth of reunion sex and talking about Becky’s wedding — and we learn they don’t live together! (I officially give up pondering where/why/how Elena hangs her hat.) More Snuggles of Wolf Denial continue as, back in Bear Valley, Jeremy and Clay discuss the mutt menaces. Jeremy mentions Nick talking to their allies, the Stillwells, in D.C., and Clay dubs them traitors. Yes, Clay is just crankypants because Elena left. Jeremy assures him she’ll be back and then finds a stranger on his doorstep: Samuel Boggs, a wolf who’s heard the Alpha is weak and is spoiling for a fight. Clay’s happy to give it to him, breaking his nose and tossing him out. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, TV Recap, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

On The Shelves Tuesday 2/18/2014

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 18, 2014 | PERMALINK

Here's a look at the titles we love that hit shelves this week.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST