RT Daily Blog

Forewords - The Books Before The Buzz

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 21, 2011 | PERMALINK

With our column, Forewords, we let readers know the latest book news about some of the web team's most-anticipated upcoming releases across the genres — just as the projects are announced!

AUTO-BUY AUTHORS

Romantic Suspense - RT’s Whitney and Morgan absolutely adored the first two tales in Jami Alden’s gritty new series Beg For Mercy and Hide From Evil. So we were beyond thrilled to learn that we won’t just be getting one, but two more books about the characters that were part of the court case — and subsequent conviction — of the wrongfully accused Sean Flynn. 

Thriller - Bestselling author James Rollins teams up with Grant Blackwood for a new venture. The Tucker Wayne Series picks up where the popular Sigma Force tales left off. Fans will be thrilled to see more of the decorated Captain Tucker Wayne (and his war-dog) in 2013 and 2014.

NEW SERIES ALERT


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST


Video Interview: Colleen Coble

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 21, 2011 | PERMALINK

We're spotlighting inspirational reads all throughout November and in today's video interview author Colleen Coble takes RT's Morgan behind the scenes of the writer's ongoing historical and contemporary series. Learn about what elements the modern day Texas-set Lonestar series shares with Coble's historical tales that take place at the turn of the century in Mercy Falls. (Hint: Think lots of romance and suspense!) And then discover how Colleen Coble crafted the challenge that faces the hero and heroine of her newest contemporary tale Lonestar Angel — and what fans can expect next.

Behind The Scenes With Colleen Coble >>

More From The RT BOOK REVIEWS Video Channel >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Inspirational
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Magazine Extras: What We're Buying With Our Holiday Gift Cards

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 21, 2011 | PERMALINK

Visions of gift cards are dancing in our heads here at RT, and in our January issue you’ll get a look at what books we'd like to redeem our holiday gift cards for. As you wait for your issue to arrive, here's a sneak peek of what we’re wishing for!

Oh my wish list is long! I’d love the new Debbie Macomber’s Christmas Cookbook, maybe two — one to share. I’d love a BIG B&N gift card for a new color Nook, the brand new Harry Bosch novel The Drop, Explosive Eighteen by Janet Evanovich, V is for Vengeance by Sue Grafton, Vigilante by Stephen J. Cannell, Down the Darkest Road by Tami Hoag, Gun Games by Faye Kellerman and probably many, many more I’m forgetting!

— Debbie Haupt, reviewer

I always ask for gift cards for Von Maur or Target. Never a bookstore. If I want a book or e-book I want it now, I don't want to want until I get a gift card! However, here are the books or e-books that I am looking forward to buying — Oh heck, maybe I should just ask my family for cash!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Weekly Web Wrap Up 11/18/2011

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 18, 2011 | PERMALINK

Did you spend your whole week searching for a Camouflage Cowboy?

Here’s what you missed on the RT Website.

***

INSPIRATIONAL MONTH

Anna Schmidt has a new Amish romance series. Meet Her Selfless Heroine >>

Robin Caroll shares a look at her January 2012 inspirational mystery. Sneak A Peek >>

Ginger Garrett puts her own spin on Samson. We're Holding Out For This Hero >>

Should supernatural and sci fi elements be in these reads? Find Out What One Author Thinks >>

Can't decide if you want to write for the Christian or secular market? Lori Copeland Has Some Advice >>

***


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Inside The Issue: January 2012

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 18, 2011 | PERMALINK

The January issue of RT BOOK REVIEWS will be in stores soon and here are some of the stories you can look forward to reading ...

Meet The Smutketeers, four smoldering authors taking the erotica genre by storm! And then astrologers/authors Lindsay McKenna and Marilyn Campbell forecast 2012 in books to help you plan your reading list. We also reveal which books (and reading accessories) we can't wait to buy with our holiday gift cards. And we announce the long-awaited 2011 RT Award nominees! You'll also get a sneak peek at Nevada Barr's next forest ranger mystery and a look at the newest project from, Lemony Snicket himself, Daniel Handler, a YA novel titled Why We Broke Up.

There's all this and more between the pages of the January 2012 issue of RT BOOK REVIEWS. You can also SUBSCRIBE NOW and get access to RT's Bonus Content coming next week. Until then, here's a sneak peak at the January issue's Table of Contents!

 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cheaper By The Dozen - This Week's Hot E-Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 17, 2011 | PERMALINK

One of our favorite features of the e-revolution is the sheer amount of books you can pack into such a tiny digital device. But what do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In our new column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee.

Historical Romance

The Soldier by Grace Burrowes

Buy For $2.99 >>

 

Contemporary Romance

Love UnExpected by Shelia Goss

Buy For $.99 >>

 

Young Adult

Smokeless Fire by Samantha Young

Buy For $.99 >>

         


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Leanna Renee Hieber Talks Her YA Series First

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 17, 2011 | PERMALINK

This month the author of the popular Strangely Beautiful fantasy series, Leanna Renee Hieber, moves to the YA genre with Darker Still. When Hieber sits down with her good friend, RT's Morgan, the author shares why the Magic Most Foul series has what she calls "a more intimate scope" than her adult series. And then discover what inspires Leanna's intricately detailed gothic settings and why she is dedicated to writing stories that empower the voiceless.

Leanna Renee Hieber Talks Darker Still >>

More From The RT BOOK REVIEWS Video Channel >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Free E-Read: Charles De Lint's "The Invisibles"

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 17, 2011 | PERMALINK

Charles de Lint’s short story “The Invisibles” is currently available as a free e-read on Fantasy Magazine.

In the story, the author explores a social injustice and what it means to believe in magic. The narrator, a painter named Andrew, illustrates how our perceptions of the world around us affect our everyday lives. While sitting at a cafe with his friend, Ted, Andrew realizes that he can see a girl no one else in the room can. Intrigued, the young man decides to follow her home, and is shocked to discover that pedestrians are practically walking into her. She's invisible, but not to him.

The plot thickens when Andrew meets an unusual boy lingering outside of the girl's home. He explains who The Invisibles are, why no one can see them and gives Andrew a very cryptic message just before vanishing into a cloud of dust and garbage. The next day, Andrew consults Ted about the bizarre occurrences, and the discoveries Andrew makes are shocking.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Science Fiction
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

YA Fiction Guide For Adult Readers

BY Elissa Petruzzi, NOVEMBER 16, 2011 | PERMALINK

You know, you know, YA fiction is super popular right now. But surely it's not for you ... I mean, why would you want to remember high school? And I hear you, I do. I don't particularly revel in recalling my wallflower years either. But the great thing about YA is that you can delve into that high school world again, and experience all those dramatic feelings: the crushes, the heartbreak, the drama (oh, the drama!) and then close the book and poof! You're an adult again! No homework for you! So to help orient you into this most angsty of genres, I've detailed three outstanding selections that I think will help you understand what the YA craze is all about. You can even read past your bedtime. I won't tell, promise.

1. Impossible by Nancy Werlin. Oh my is this a gorgeous story. Just divine. Werlin weaves a modern-day fable around the song "Scarborough Fair," to wondrous results. You'll get lost in her rich world as you root for Lucy and her adopted family to solve the riddle and beat the bad guy before it's too late, and the same terrible fate befalls Lucy as did her mother, 17 years before.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Author Interview: Mark Greaney On His Gray Man Series

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 16, 2011 | PERMALINK

Thriller author Mark Greaney's popular series introduces readers to the legendary covert operative Court Gentry, aka the Gray Man. The series third, Ballistic, was recently released and there are plans in the works to bring the adventure to the big screen. (Brad Pitt is on board to play the titular Gray Man.) Today we sit down with Greaney for a chat about his globetrotting spy, the research he does to bring the series to life and how the author feels about the film adaptation that is currently underway.

RT BOOK REVIEWS: Your spy, Court Gentry, is a living legend. What would he credit as a key to his success as a covert operative?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST