RT Daily Blog

On The Shelves Tuesday 9/13/2011

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 13, 2011 | PERMALINK

Here's a look at the titles we love that hit shelves this week.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST


Elizabeth Jennings On Darkness At Dawn

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 13, 2011 | PERMALINK

It's rare that a book gets rated a Top Pick Gold, the highest possible RT BOOK REVIEWS rating. So we knew that Elizabeth Jenning's Darkness at Dawn was an extremely special story. Today Jennings gives readers an insider look at the Lucy Merrit, the heroine who must overcome the ghosts of her past in this thrilling romantic suspense.

The heroine of Darkness at Dawn, Lucy Merritt, is a manuscript restorer. I gave her this job on purpose.

I spent most of my formative years in Florence, Italy. Florence is not only a spectacularly beautiful city but it is a city uniquely dedicated to art. UNESCO estimates that half of humanity’s art works are in Italy, and half of those in Florence. Think of it—one relatively small city containing a quarter of humanity’s art output!

Of course much of the artwork is old and fragile, so one of the major industries in Florence is art restoration. Many of my friends were art restorers and my mother worked at an American graduate school of fine arts specializing in restoration. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Forewords - The Books Before The Buzz

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 12, 2011 | PERMALINK

With our column, Forewords, we let readers know the latest book news about some of the web team's most-anticipated upcoming releases across the genres — just as the projects are announced!

NEW SERIES ALERT

Series Romance – Love a man in uniform? Then Laura Marie Altom's new heroes are for you. Her upcoming tales feature Navy SEALS soldiers and the women who can’t resist their charms. Fittingly enough, her series, releasing soon, is slated to be called Navy SEAL Operation Family.  

PIQUING OUR CURIOSITY


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Inside The Issue: November 2011

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 12, 2011 | PERMALINK

The November issue of RT BOOK REVIEWS will be in stores soon and here are some of the stories you can look forward to this issue...

Get the details about Colleen Houck's popular YA series third, Tiger's Voyage. Fasten your seatbelts, we dive into a chilling fiction trend: plane crashes. Find out why sweet romances really hit the spot. And don't miss this issue's Teen Scene, where Cecily von Ziegesar reveals why her Gossip Girl stars are deadlier than you think.

There's all this and more between the pages of the November 2011 issue of RT BOOK REVIEWS. You can also SUBSCRIBE NOW and get access to RT's Bonus Content coming next week. Until then, here's a sneak peak at the November issue's Table of Contents!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Everything Is Fodder: Eileen Carr On Vanished In The Night

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 12, 2011 | PERMALINK

Today mystery author Eileen Carr comes clean about her "shameless" habit of using situations around her for writing inspiration. Do you want to know how soccer, alcoholism and the relationships that adults have with their parents all figure into her newest book Vanished in the Night? The author stopped by RT to answer this questions and more!

I get asked a lot about where I get my ideas. I think it would be easier to tell people where I don't get them. I am shameless. I don't think there's anything or anyone I won't mine for material for a book.

For instance, I mined my kids' soccer careers to come up with the setting for the school in Vanished in the Night. It gets trickier when you start stealing people's emotional lives. 


Read More>>

Tags: Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Weekly Web Wrap Up 9/9/2011

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 09, 2011 | PERMALINK

Did you spend your whole week being someone's Stand-In Mom

Here’s what you missed on the RT website.

***

HISTORICAL ROMANCE: We round up 6 adventure-filled tales. Find Out Which Ones >> 

MAINSTREAM: Take a bite out of debut author Meredith Mileti's Aftertaste. Read The Excerpt >>

YOUNG ADULT: What can you expect from the new paranormal Vanish? Author Sophie Jordan Shares >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Author Interview: Ashley March

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 09, 2011 | PERMALINK

Historical romance author Ashley March stops by RT to answer our questions just as her second full-length tale, Romancing the Countess, hits shelves. Discover why March loves writing in the Victorian age versus the more popular Regency-era romance, go behind the scenes to see how she created her two sizzling heroes and learn how infidelity figures in her novels. And don't miss your chance to find out why her third book is going to be a game-changer!.

RT BOOK REVIEWS: There has been a lot of buzz surrounding Regency set historical romance novels, but you have decided to focus on Victorian times in your books. In your point of view, what were the major differences between these times periods and how does that affect your plots and characters?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Free E-read: Connie Willis' "Nonstop to Portales"

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 09, 2011 | PERMALINK

In the free e-read courtesy of Lightspeed Magazine, “Nonstop to Portales” by Connie Willis illustrates the potential significance of sci fi authors and their futuristic works.

In the short story, protagonist Carter Stewart’s mundane career traveling the country has brought him to deserted Portales, New Mexico, where he desperately tries to find a way to kill some free time. After perusing the tiny southwestern town, Carter comes across a tour bus packed with anxious fans headed to a local celebrity’s ranch. Unbeknownst to Carter, the “celebrity” is a science fiction author he’s never heard of — Jack Williamson. Having gone on one too many local tours during his travels, Carter can’t quite figure out what makes this tour especially unusual, as this crowd isn’t your average group of sci fi fans. They treat the visit to Williamson's estate more like one would expect people traveling to Mecca. What is it about the author that causes such adoration and why hasn't Carter heard of the author before?


Read More>>

Tags: Science Fiction
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

The September 2011 RT Seal Of Excellence Is Awarded To ...

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 08, 2011 | PERMALINK

Each month RT Book Reviews’ editors award the RT Seal of Excellence to one book that is not only compelling, but pushes the boundaries of genre fiction and stands out from the more than 250 books reviewed in its latest issue and online.

So which novel won the September 2011 RT Seal of Excellence and what other titles were contenders for the Seal this month?

Here's your hint: It's "The Terminator meets My Fair Lady" in this unsusal historical romance that will leave readers breathless!

Find Out Now >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Morgan & Whitney Dish: No Proper Lady By Isabel Cooper

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 08, 2011 | PERMALINK

Sent from the future to save her time, Joan from Isabel Cooper's debut novel No Proper Lady is a very unusual heroine. Closer to what readers would expect from an urban fantasy character, Joan is used to fighting off monsters and dodging deranged demons. However, once in Victorian England she has to give up her advanced weapons and warrior techniques and instead learn the mores of her new historical setting in order to complete her mission. Good thing she finds gentleman Simon Grenville to assist in her transformation into a lady.

Morgan: I can confidently say that readers who open this book looking for a classic historical romance are going to be totally shocked — in a really great way.

Whitney: Definitely. Just take the first scene where Joan is preparing to be transported back in time to the Victorian era. I think this really sets the tone for this unusual story. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST