RT Daily Blog

Go In-Depth Inside Of Legacy By Cayla Kluver

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 09, 2011 | PERMALINK

Debut author Cayla Kluver's YA fantasy Legacy was published before she even graduated from high school. And Cayla’s beta reader — the first person who reads the story after the author has finished writing portions of it — is her mother. Working together the duo self-published the novel before it was picked up by Harlequin Teen! Needless to say, I knew I needed to get the inside story, so here are five question interviews with the author, her beta reader and her literary agent Kevan Lyons, for a special look at how Legacy came to be.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST


Perfecting Dialogue In Sarah Jane Stratford's The Moonlight Brigade

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 09, 2011 | PERMALINK

Author Sarah Jane Stratford delivers her second novel in the compelling Millennials series with this month's The Moonlight Brigade. RT reviewer Debbie Haupt praised the story saying, "If you love the flavor of bygone dialogue, a literary fantasy with a hint of Shelley or Stoker, you'll love this WWII-set tale." We wanted to know how the author crafted this evocative dialogue, so we asked her to deconstruct a few of her characters' conversations for this illuminating post!

When I first began exploring the millennial vampires, it was natural that they would be avid and erudite conversationalists, simply as a result of having lived so long. Being caught up in World War II wouldn't change that. At the outset of The Moonlight Brigade, it is 1941 and circumstances have taken Mors to Rome, his ancient stomping grounds, where he trains partisans to fight and falls in love with their leader.


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Forewords - The Books Before The Buzz

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 08, 2011 | PERMALINK

With our column, Forewords, we let readers know the latest book news about some of the web team's most-anticipated upcoming releases across the genres — just as the projects are announced!

RETURNING FAVORITE SERIES

Paranormal Romance - Fan favorite author Angela Knight continues her Time Hunter Series with a new novella. There’s no word yet on who will be meeting their match in “Enforcer” but we are looking forward to Knight’s next signature hero!

Mystery - Professional dog walker Ellie Englemen, an amateur sleuth who can psychically connect to dogs, will get her seventh adventure from author Judi McCoy. Heroine Ellie, and her yorkie-poo pup Rudy, are always a blast to spend time with so despite the fact that the story doesn't have a publication date or even a title yet, we are already excited.

Fantasy - Suzanne Johnson’s Sentinels of New Orleans series will continue with Elysian Fields. The story follows a wizard on the hunt for an evil necromancer who is raising the city’s most famous killers from the grave. This spine-tingling tale will hit stores in 2012.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

PJ Parrish Is Talking Evil Villains And The Killing Song

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 08, 2011 | PERMALINK

We are starting Monday off with a bang! Today the award-winning writing team PJ Parrish invites readers behind the scenes of their newest mystery novel, The Killing Songto talk about evil villains and all the forms they come in. Find out which killers give these authors the chills and what makes creating a convincing bad guy such a challenge ...

You think it’s hard to find a good man? Ha! Try finding a really bad one.

We’ve been looking for bad men for more than twelve years now. I’d say my sister and I are somewhat of experts on the subject of men with, ah...issues. We write thrillers and over the course of our eleven-novel career, we’ve encountered every kind of twisted, tortured, miserable example of the male species you can imagine.

But they’re our villains and we...well, I won’t say we love them but we do lavish a lot of attention on them. And we need to confess something right now –- it is getting harder and harder to make bad guys good.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Weekly Web Wrap Up 8/5/2011

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 05, 2011 | PERMALINK

This week's round-up is dedicated to L.A. Banks (aka Leslie Esdaile). We join her friends, family and fans in mourning her passing. 

***

HISTORICAL ROMANCE: Jennifer Ashley on her scandal-plagued heroes. Learn More >> 

MYSTERY: Get a taste of Jo Bannister’s Death in High Places. Read The Excerpt >>

CONTEMPORARY ROMANCE: Diane Escalera talks Dangerous Desire. Check It Out >>

EROTICA: Marie Harte’s newest novella gets 4 1/2 Stars. Read The *Web Exclusive Review* >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

How Do You Turn A Spy Into A Diplomat? Donna MacMeans' Redeeming the Rogue Heroine Has The Answers

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 05, 2011 | PERMALINK

Donna MacMeans' new historical novel Redeeming the Rogue is an August RT Top Pick. The novel follows English Lady Arianne Chambers who undertakes an unusual mission for her government, transforming spy Michael Rafferty into a man who could convince the world that he is a proper diplomat! We knew we needed to get the inside story on how Lady Arianne Chambers worked her magic. But we never expected the answer we got ... 

Good Morning. While it’s not considered proper to introduce oneself, I suppose under the circumstances it is necessary. Sometimes we all must sacrifice propriety when faced with the prospect of not otherwise achieving our goals. I know I did.

My name is Lady Arianne Chambers, sister to the Duke of Bedford. I’ve recently been commissioned by Lord Henderson to teach the finer points of international etiquette and in effect, mold, if you will, an Irish guttersnipe of a rogue named Michael Rafferty, so that he might catch the murderer of my good friend the British minister in Washington D.C.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
29COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cheaper By The Dozen: This Week's Hot E-book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 04, 2011 | PERMALINK

One of our favorite features of the e-revolution is the sheer amount of books you can pack into such a tiny digital device. But what do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In our new column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee.

Historical Romance

Lord of Scoundrels by Loretta Chase

Buy For $.99 >>

 

Contemporary Romance

Baby, I'm Yours by Stephanie Bond

Get It For Free >>

 

Young Adult

Fallen From Grace by M.J. Putney

Get It For Free >>

         


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Debut Author Spotlight: Michelle Diener

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 04, 2011 | PERMALINK

Name: Michelle Diener

Book: In a Treacherous Court

Current Home: Western Australia.

Favorite Word: Prolific. :)

Author Icons: I think I have too many to choose. No one author stands out as being my inspiration. I've read and absorbed so many books through my life, it would be impossible. Authors that stand out to me? Salman Rushdie, Iain M. Banks, A.S. Byatt, Barbara Kingsolver, Terry Pratchett, Dick Francis, Mary Stewart. But if I thought about it even a few minutes more, I'd come up with another ten.

Inspiration for writing: I can't really say whether I just always was a storyteller, or my early and deep love of reading started me off. All I know is, I wanted to write from the moment I actually COULD write at age 5 or so.

Writing Trick: If I'm stuck, I'll change the room I'm working in. Sometimes I'll work outside on the patio, or move from my study to the lounge. And I switch off the Internet. That seems to help my productivity a lot. :)


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
6COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Morgan & Whitney Dish: Pinch Me By Adena Halpern

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 03, 2011 | PERMALINK

A generations-old curse, a feisty grandmother and a heroine attempting to get back to the reality where she is married to her Prince Charming — there’s all this and more in Adena Halpern’s new novel, Pinch Me.

Morgan: Adena Halpern’s books are the perfect light read. Fun, uplifting, flirty, these are not “message” books. But in between the characters’ ridiculous adventures, a lesson slowly emerges — one that generally revolves around family and more specifically generations of women.

Whitney: And their difficulties in romance.

Morgan: True, although at the beginning of the story, our heroine, Lily, has a great love life! She is dating the most wonderful man. Smart, attentive, charming Gogo (yes, it’s a nickname) is perfect!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mainstream
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

We Mourn the Loss of Bestselling Author Leslie Esdaile aka L.A. Banks

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 03, 2011 | PERMALINK

We regret to announce that beloved author L.A. Banks (aka Leslie Esdaile) lost her battle with late-stage adrenal cancer on August 2.

Over the last few months the book community banned together raising money to help the author with mounting medical bills. (Ironically in March 2010 she spoke at a healthcare reform rally in Glenside, Penn., where she was selected to introduce President Obama but not before telling her story as a single mom with a daughter in college who was faced with the dilemma of choosing between insuring her daughter or herself. See her speech here.)


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Romance
8COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST