RT Daily Blog

Video Interview With Christy Reece

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 11, 2011 | PERMALINK

Fan favorite author Christy Reece is a master of the romantic suspense genre. Readers just can't get enough of her Last Chance Rescue series, which follows a team of private contractors who help recover kidnapping victims. You can get a special look at the newest Last Chance trilogy in the September issue of RT BOOK REVIEWS. And today the author chats with RT's Morgan about how she came to write romantic suspense novels, this month's Last Chance Rescue mini-series starter, Sweet Justice, and why she's so interested in tales of reunited lovers!

Christy Reece Talks "Reunion Romances" >>

More From The RT BOOK REVIEWS Video Channel >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
4COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST


Cheaper By The Dozen: This Week's Hot E-Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 11, 2011 | PERMALINK

One of our favorite features of the e-revolution is the sheer amount of books you can pack into such a tiny digital device. But what do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In our new column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee.

Historical Romance

Almost a Spinster by Jenna Petersen

Buy For $.99 >>

 

Contemporary Romance

Hollywood Scandals by Gemma Halliday

Get It For Free >>

 

Young Adult

Summer's Crossing by Julie Kagawa

Get It For Free >>

         


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Time Travel Spotlight: Author Interview With Lynn Kurland - With Reader Poll!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 11, 2011 | PERMALINK

We are focusing on time travel romances all week long on the RT site and we knew that our spotlight would not be complete without author Lynn Kurland. She has been writing these stories in different incarnations for the past fifteen years, and has moved from historical romance to the fantasy genre and back with her tales of characters that transcend both space and time. So today we caught up with Lynn Kurland to pick her brain about what it really means to write time travel tales!

***

Why a time travel romance? What is it about your characters being out of time and place that appeals to you?

For me, time travels are the ultimate fish-out-of-water stories. I think having characters completely out of their comfort zone forces them to confront things they might not otherwise, which hopefully makes for a good story.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Romance
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Morgan & Whitney Dish: Primal Law by J.D. Tyler

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 10, 2011 | PERMALINK

Author JD Tyler (the pen name for Jo Davis who also writes contemporary romances and eroticas) will keep fans on their toes with this all-new paranormal series starter. Fast-paced and suspenseful, Primal Law, the first in the Alpha Pack series will appeal to J.R. Ward and Sherrilyn Kenyon fans. But don’t be surprised if these sexy shifters leave you howling for more ...

Whitney: One thing I can say is for those readers looking for a leisurely, sweet read, Primal Law is not for you because this author doesn’t know the meaning of the word slow. The story has deadly fighting, sweaty sex and paranormal creatures literally coming out of the woodwork! 

Morgan: And that is just in the first couple of chapters.

Whitney: In the prologue, we meet hero Jaxon Law as he and his of team Navy SEAL shapeshifters are caught in an ambush. In the course of a few pages Jax loses his best friends in the fighting and learns that his lover, Beryl, is the one responsible for their deaths. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Time Travel Spotlight: Jude Deveraux Answers Our Questions

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 10, 2011 | PERMALINK

We are spotlighting time travel all week long and as you learned yesterday one of the web team's favorite time travel authors is Jude Deveraux. Although Whitney and Morgan can't decide which is a their number one travel tale, A Knight in Shining Armor and Remembrance top both of their lists for the must-read that they always suggest to readers looking to test the time travel waters. So it only makes sense to start our round of author interviews with the talent who got us hooked on this type of novel. Today we host an author interview with the incomparable Jude Deveraux!

***

A Knight in Shining Armor was first published in 1990 and has been in print ever since. What do you think it is about this story that continues to capture readers' imaginations?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Romance
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Debut Author Spotlight: Brian O'Reilly

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 10, 2011 | PERMALINK

Name: Brian O'Reilly

Book: Angelina's Bachelors

Genre: Contemporary Romance/Mainstream Fiction

Current Home: We live in the Greater Delaware Valley. It’s a great place to live (and my lifelong home, excepting short spurts in California and just outside NYC), within striking distance of great cities, museums, parks, and mountains, even an ocean. And home is where the kitchen is.

Career (in addition to writing): I’ve been a producer for about 25 years, and most recently, I was the creator and an executive producer of Dinner: Impossible on Food Network. I do some writing for political campaigns across the country and I’m currently developing a number of TV projects while working on a second “Novel with Food.”

Favorite Word: Beer. I think it’s one of the richest, most varied, friendliest words in the language, especially when paired with the interrogatory punctuation mark: “Beer?” I also love the word “slake,” as in “Come and slake your thirst, my friend.”


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

We Announce RT's Seal of Excellence Award-Winning Book For The Month Of August!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 09, 2011 | PERMALINK

Each month RT Book Reviews’ editors select one book that is not only compelling but pushes the boundaries of genre fiction and stands out from the more than 250 books reviewed in its latest issue and online. 

“Because of the sheer number of books we review each month in RT Book Reviews we have a unique perspective on which one is destined for the keeper shelf and therefore deserves our Seal of Excellence,” says Carol Stacy, Publisher and Internet Director. “It is our intention to share this gem with readers and draw attention to a fantastic book they might not otherwise pick up.“


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Spotlight On Time Travel Tales

BY Morgan Doremus, AUGUST 09, 2011 | PERMALINK

Whitney and I both love tales of time travel. So when better than the dog days of summer to feature stories about people coming and going across time? All this week we will be taking readers behind the scenes with some of our favorite time travel author aficionados and then we will share a look at what’s ahead for fans to anticipate! But we also wanted to do a bit of time traveling ourselves, so we decided to rewind to a few weeks ago to give you an insider's look at the conversation we had that prompted our spotlight on time travel romances ...

(Out the blue) Morgan: You know what book I love — Jude Deveraux’s A Knight in Shining ArmorIt is one of those stories that every romance fan should read at least once. 

Whitney: Time travel romance is hard to pull off, but Deveraux is a master. Another one of hers that really stands out for me is her reincarnation story Remembrance

Morgan: Let's spotlight time travel on the site! And we can choose our favorites to share.

Whitney: I call Remembrance! 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Romance
7COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Go In-Depth Inside Of Legacy By Cayla Kluver

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 09, 2011 | PERMALINK

Debut author Cayla Kluver's YA fantasy Legacy was published before she even graduated from high school. And Cayla’s beta reader — the first person who reads the story after the author has finished writing portions of it — is her mother. Working together the duo self-published the novel before it was picked up by Harlequin Teen! Needless to say, I knew I needed to get the inside story, so here are five question interviews with the author, her beta reader and her literary agent Kevan Lyons, for a special look at how Legacy came to be.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Perfecting Dialogue In Sarah Jane Stratford's The Moonlight Brigade

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 09, 2011 | PERMALINK

Author Sarah Jane Stratford delivers her second novel in the compelling Millennials series with this month's The Moonlight Brigade. RT reviewer Debbie Haupt praised the story saying, "If you love the flavor of bygone dialogue, a literary fantasy with a hint of Shelley or Stoker, you'll love this WWII-set tale." We wanted to know how the author crafted this evocative dialogue, so we asked her to deconstruct a few of her characters' conversations for this illuminating post!

When I first began exploring the millennial vampires, it was natural that they would be avid and erudite conversationalists, simply as a result of having lived so long. Being caught up in World War II wouldn't change that. At the outset of The Moonlight Brigade, it is 1941 and circumstances have taken Mors to Rome, his ancient stomping grounds, where he trains partisans to fight and falls in love with their leader.


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST