RT Daily Blog

We Announce RT's Seal Of Excellence Award-Winning Book For The Month Of June!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 09, 2011 | PERMALINK

Each month RT Book Reviews’ editors select one book that is not only compelling but pushes the boundaries of genre fiction and stands out from the more than 250 books reviewed in its latest issue and online. 

“Because of the sheer number of books we review each month in RT Book Reviews we have a unique perspective on which one is destined for the keeper shelf and therefore deserves our Seal of Excellence,” says Carol Stacy, Publisher and Internet Director. “It is our intention to share this gem with readers and draw attention to a fantastic book they might not otherwise pick up.“


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST


New Forum: What Women Want With Author Faith V. Smith

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 09, 2011 | PERMALINK

Today author Faith V. Smith kicks off her new thread on the RT Forums, “What Women Want” by sharing some of her thoughts about romance — and a few of her favorite heroes!

What does a girl want? My, that is a loaded question! I personally think women of all ages want a bit of romance. Of course, we can and have found it with the boy next door, the man of our dreams, the one and only that can make our hearts beat so fast we fear we'll pass out, or the man who can make you melt in a puddle of want. Yes, my readers, there is romance out there for everyone. It might be a candle fully lit, one already dimmed by years of togetherness, or one that is a memory of a love that has gone on to Heaven's gates, but beneath the trials and tribulations of life, there has to be the hope that someone, somewhere out there is the right frog.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview With The Survivors Author Amanda Havard!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 09, 2011 | PERMALINK

Debut author Amanda Havard will thrill readers with her paranormal story, The Survivors, an RT Top pick! Today the author chats with RT's Whitney Sullivan about her supernatural saga, and goes behind the scenes to give readers a special look at what they can expect from the tale — and what's coming next!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Morgan & Whitney Dish: Nightfall By Ellen Connor

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 08, 2011 | PERMALINK

Ellen Connor is actually the writing team of Ann Aguirre, who began in sci fi romance and now writes across the genres, and historical romance author Carrie Lofty. Now they have incorporated their talents to  thrill — and chill — readers with the new dystopian series Dark Age Dawning that starts with this month’s Nightfall.

***

Whitney: Morgan, I think it’s only fair that we tell readers that we’ve been excited for Nightfall since we first found out that Aguirre and Lofty were co-writing a series. 

Morgan: But it wasn’t just the authors that brought us to the story. It was the plot itself. I mean we’ve got civilization ending, our hero Mason kidnapping our heroine Jenna to save her (not that she would believe that) and hellhounds chasing them as prey. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Colleen Houck On Her Paranormal YA Series

BY Whitney Sullivan, JUNE 07, 2011 | PERMALINK

Author Colleen Houck has made waves in the YA community with her paranormal series that follows a teen who learns that the tiger she is caring for is actually an enchanted Indian prince. The story of Dhiren and Kelsey's love began with January's Tiger's Curse which received a Top Pick! from RT's Meera Patel and the rave reviews, "this is a book J.K. Rowling wishes she wrote..." This month their saga continues with another RT Top Pick, Tiger's Quest, and today the author chats with me about the inspiration for her hero, the Indian mythology that runs through the series and a hint about what fans can expect in the the series third, Tiger's Voyage!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

On The Bookshelves Tuesday 6/7/2011

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 07, 2011 | PERMALINK

Here's a look at the titles we love that hit shelves this week. 

Historical Romance


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Kim Harrison On Her YA Series- With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 07, 2011 | PERMALINK

 

RT Exclusive: Bestselling author Kim Harrison makes a virtual stop at the RT Daily Blog for the Dark Days of Supernatural book tour. Today the author chats about what it was like to move from her paranormal adult roots into the YA genre with her Madison Avery series. The author is also giving away signed copies of her new YA, Something Deadly This Way Comes and a very special grand prize — get all the details at the end of the post! 

One of the most frequent questions I get asked is where the characters come from, and to a great extent, I really can’t give the reader a satisfying answer. Characters come from everywhere, just like story ideas. Usually my characters are a conglomeration of people I’ve met, bits and pieces from here and there combined into someone totally new. Madison, however, was a bit different.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
97COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Forewords - The Books Before The Buzz

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 06, 2011 | PERMALINK

With our column, Forewords, we let readers know the latest book news about some of the web team's most-anticipated upcoming releases across the genres — just as the projects are announced!

AUTO-BUY AUTHORS

Historical Romance - The next three books in Elizabeth Hoyt’s Maiden Lane series have just been purchased by Grand Central. The stories will continue the series' focus on the characters of all classes who brought together by an orphanage in a London slum, proving that romance truly can bloom in the most unexpected places!

Series Romance - Always entertaining series author Kathleen O'Reilly will be releasing a romantic trilogy and Christmas novella next year. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Inside Andrea Kane’s The Girl Who Disappeared Twice – With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 06, 2011 | PERMALINK

 

Have you ever wondered what is actually in the personnel files of your favorite fictional detective? Today Andrea Kane satiates your curiosity with a sneak peek into the files of three members of the Forensic Instinct team. Get an up-close look at these investigators racing against the clock to locate The Girl who Disappeared Twice, the new series starter — and RT Top Pick — from mystery mastermind Andrea Kane. (And don’t miss your chance to win this new suspense story at the end of the post!)

***

From the personnel files of Forensic Instincts… 

NAME: Marc Deveraux 

AGE: 39 

SEX: Male 

CULTURAL BACKGROUND: Asian (maternal), French (paternal) 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
8COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Weekly Web Wrap Up 6/3/2011 - With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 03, 2011 | PERMALINK

What would you do if you found out the cute guy you liked was actually a Regency gentleman who had spent 200 years trapped as a statue? This is the dilemma facing Eva in The Kiss by Emma Shortt. Tell us what your response would be in the comments below and be entered to win a copy of this new e-book!

***

HISTORICAL ROMANCE: Author Debra Mullins on the secret identity in her new novel. Read More >>

MYSTERY: Get a look at PI Claire DeWitt. Read The Excerpt >>

EROTICA: Crystal Jordan gives readers an inside look at her new story. Learn More >>

MAINSTREAM: Elizabeth Joy Arnold talks about When We Were Friends. Watch The Video >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
12COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST