RT Daily Blog

Extended Review: A Handful Of Pearls And Other Stories By Beth Bernobich

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 22, 2011 | PERMALINK

Beth Bernobich's latest fantasy anthology A Handful Of Pearls and Other Stories, received an RT Top Pick! RT reviewer Victoria Frerichs who gave the collection a *Web Exclusive Review* says, "It is the most compelling ever read by this reviewer." Today Frerichs re-visits her review to explain why readers will connect with this brilliant anthology.

Sometimes, as a reviewer, you come across authors who stay with you well after the book is laid on the bedside table and the light is turned down. Some authors explore themes that disturb you, even as their characters touch you with their humanity.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Science Fiction
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST


Weekly Web Wrap Up 8/19/2011

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 19, 2011 | PERMALINK

Did you spend your whole week Winning Over the Rancher

Here's what you missed on the RT website. 

***

MYSTERY: Andrew Gulli stops by for a podcast interview about the serial novel he edited. Listen Now >>

HISTORICAL ROMANCE: Find out what themes these Regency-era Harlequin Historicals share. Read On >>

CONTEMPORARY ROMANCE: A diamond heist, pirates and a sweet romance. What book has it all? >>

EROTICA: The novella Lust After Death is this week's featured Steamy Short. Read The Review >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Morgan And Whitney Dish: Working Stiff By Rachel Caine

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 19, 2011 | PERMALINK

This week Morgan and Whitney dive into the first Revivalist novel Working Stiff by Rachel Caine. This new release has corporate spies, zombies and Bryn Davis, an ex-military veteran who has just inherited, and we use that word losely, a funeral home.

Morgan: I can say without a doubt that Bryn Davis is the first ex-military, dead, funeral director heroine I have ever read about.

Whitney: She’s definitely not your average romance heroine. And she is just as surprised by her new life as we are. Working Stiff starts with her first day of being a funeral director and just looks what happens. There’s awful customers, a girl who commits suicide in the bathroom, a creepy perv who hits on her, and oh yeah — she gets killed and then reanimated!

Morgan: Oh yeah, that teeny detail.

Whitney: And to add insult to injury it is the evil — and totally skeevie — mortician Fast Freddy who takes her out. 

Morgan: At the command of Fairview Mortuary owner Mr. Fairview, who had seemed so nice all day!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Too Hot To Touch Hero Chef Max Lunden Shares An Exotic Summertime Recipe

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 19, 2011 | PERMALINK

Craving a respite from your boring dinner routine? Today chef Max Lunden, the hero of Louisa Edwards' new contemporary romance Too Hot To Touch, shares an exotic — and refreshing — summer recipe to help spice up your evening.

Namaste, boys and girls! My name is Max Lunden. I’ve traveled the world, tasted a lot of exotic dishes, and learned to cook some crazy stuff…but nothing I saw out there in the wilds of South America or the mountains of Japan prepared me for what happened when I finally went back home to New York.

Not only did my family need my help to enter the Rising Star Chef competition—and let’s not even get into my issues with my family! Hello, there was a good reason I left home in the first place—but not everyone at my parents’ restaurant was excited to see me.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cheaper By The Dozen - This Week's Hot E-book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 18, 2011 | PERMALINK

One of our favorite features of the e-revolution is the sheer amount of books you can pack into such a tiny digital device. But what do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In our new column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee.

Historical Romance

Hearts Aflame by Johanna Lindsey

Buy For $.99 >>

 

Contemporary Romance

Love in Bloom by Karen Rose Smith

Get It For Free >>

 

Young Adult

Beasts and BFFs by Shannon Delany

Get It For Free >>

         


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

A Free E-Read From Yoon Ha Lee!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 18, 2011 | PERMALINK

Yoon Ha Lee's science fiction short story "A Vector Alphabet of Interstellar Travel," is currently being hosted on Tor.com. The story introduces readers to five different civilizations and describes how their languages, alphabets, and/or other forms of communication — i.e. religion and styles of dance — connects to the civilization's vessels of transportation. According to Lee, in the story, "each mode of transport is an alphabet expressing their understandings of the universe’s one-way knell." Lee's interest in various forms of communication, like those expressed in "A Vector Alphabet of Interstellar Travel", is not surprising considering Lee's math background as the discipline is often referred to as its own language.

The author, who has had several short stories published in print and around the web, is also a mathematician and former math teacher. Her first short story, “The Hundredth Question,” appeared in Fantasy & Science Fiction in 1999 and since that time Lee more than 24 stories published. Lee says that she sees herself as "someone who likes math even so, and can try to put it in words. I don't expect others to fall in love with the subject."


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Science Fiction
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Love Conquers All In Regency England

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 18, 2011 | PERMALINK

Two penniless misses meet their match in Regency England in this month's Harlequin Historicals. Although both Helene and Beatrice are worried about their futures, things may not be so bleak after they've won the attention of Max and Julius. But will these relationships be able to survive the challenges ahead?

In An Innocent Debutant in Hanover Square by Anne Herries, the well-mannered miss Helene Henderson worries that the venerable Lord Maximus Coleridge will feel he can not marry her after he learns of her lower class heritage. However, it turns out that there are much more dangerous problems stalking Max — he's in the crosshairs of an assassin! But this handsome lord won't let anything, not questionable lineage or life-threatening incidents, keep him away from the woman who has stolen his heart.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Podcast Interview: Andrew Gulli On No Rest For The Dead

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 17, 2011 | PERMALINK

Editor and author Andrew Gulli and his sister Lamia J. Gulli are the editors of No Rest for the Dead, an amazing new serial mystery that was co-penned by twenty six authors over a span of four years. Today Andrew Gulli chats with RT Web Editor Morgan Doremus about curating this tale and how a serial novel different from an anthology. (Here's a quick way to tell the two apart, unlike an anthology in a serial novel more than one author writes the story, but each tells a different part of a single tale.) Gulli also gives us an insider's look at the characters of No Rest for the Dead, and shares the inspiration behind this extremely intriguing mystery!

LISTEN HERE


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Writes And Wrongs: Shiloh Walker On Overcoming Professional Jealousy

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 17, 2011 | PERMALINK

Best-selling author Shiloh Walker pens this column of online advice for writers. Walker is a full-time author who is published in both e-book and traditional print formats. Now she shares her experience and advice to help aspiring and published authors figure out the "Writes and Wrongs" of the writing world.

There’s sometimes a belief that making it as a professional writer requires ‘something’.

What is ‘something’? Well, for some who haven’t quite gotten the ‘something’, it’s ‘knowing’ the right people.  For others, it could be luck. The ‘something’ could be that you have to be somebody to get published. It could involve that ‘publishing’ lotto, when you write a book that just hits the mark and becomes a cultural phenomenon.

That indefinable ‘something’ is one thing that inspires professional jealousy. Seeing a fellow writer from your publishing house get ‘backing’ that you’re not getting, that’s another. Seeing somebody hit a list when you haven’t done it…yep.  


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Inside The Issue: October 2011

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 16, 2011 | PERMALINK

The October issue of RT BOOK REVIEWS will be in stores soon and here are some of the stories you can look forward to this issue...

Bestselling author Sylvia Day is on our cover chatting about her new Renegade Angels trilogy. We shine the spotlight on sci-fi romances and also take a look at a new batch of tales that will haunt, chill and, dare we say, horrify you. We've also got the details about YA author Becca Fitzpatrick's graphic novel debut, a wrap up of this year's Romance Writers of America annual convention and Maureen Johnson talks about her new series featuring Jack the Ripper.

There's all this and more between the pages of the October 2011 issue of RT BOOK REVIEWS. You can also SUBSCRIBE NOW and get access to RT's Bonus Content coming next week. Until then, here's a sneak peak at the October issue's Table of Contents!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST