RT Daily Blog

Video Interview: Colleen Houck On Her Paranormal YA Series

BY Whitney Sullivan, JUNE 07, 2011 | PERMALINK

Author Colleen Houck has made waves in the YA community with her paranormal series that follows a teen who learns that the tiger she is caring for is actually an enchanted Indian prince. The story of Dhiren and Kelsey's love began with January's Tiger's Curse which received a Top Pick! from RT's Meera Patel and the rave reviews, "this is a book J.K. Rowling wishes she wrote..." This month their saga continues with another RT Top Pick, Tiger's Quest, and today the author chats with me about the inspiration for her hero, the Indian mythology that runs through the series and a hint about what fans can expect in the the series third, Tiger's Voyage!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST


On The Bookshelves Tuesday 6/7/2011

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 07, 2011 | PERMALINK

Here's a look at the titles we love that hit shelves this week. 

Historical Romance


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Kim Harrison On Her YA Series- With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 07, 2011 | PERMALINK

 

RT Exclusive: Bestselling author Kim Harrison makes a virtual stop at the RT Daily Blog for the Dark Days of Supernatural book tour. Today the author chats about what it was like to move from her paranormal adult roots into the YA genre with her Madison Avery series. The author is also giving away signed copies of her new YA, Something Deadly This Way Comes and a very special grand prize — get all the details at the end of the post! 

One of the most frequent questions I get asked is where the characters come from, and to a great extent, I really can’t give the reader a satisfying answer. Characters come from everywhere, just like story ideas. Usually my characters are a conglomeration of people I’ve met, bits and pieces from here and there combined into someone totally new. Madison, however, was a bit different.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
97COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Forewords - The Books Before The Buzz

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 06, 2011 | PERMALINK

With our column, Forewords, we let readers know the latest book news about some of the web team's most-anticipated upcoming releases across the genres — just as the projects are announced!

AUTO-BUY AUTHORS

Historical Romance - The next three books in Elizabeth Hoyt’s Maiden Lane series have just been purchased by Grand Central. The stories will continue the series' focus on the characters of all classes who brought together by an orphanage in a London slum, proving that romance truly can bloom in the most unexpected places!

Series Romance - Always entertaining series author Kathleen O'Reilly will be releasing a romantic trilogy and Christmas novella next year. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Inside Andrea Kane’s The Girl Who Disappeared Twice – With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 06, 2011 | PERMALINK

 

Have you ever wondered what is actually in the personnel files of your favorite fictional detective? Today Andrea Kane satiates your curiosity with a sneak peek into the files of three members of the Forensic Instinct team. Get an up-close look at these investigators racing against the clock to locate The Girl who Disappeared Twice, the new series starter — and RT Top Pick — from mystery mastermind Andrea Kane. (And don’t miss your chance to win this new suspense story at the end of the post!)

***

From the personnel files of Forensic Instincts… 

NAME: Marc Deveraux 

AGE: 39 

SEX: Male 

CULTURAL BACKGROUND: Asian (maternal), French (paternal) 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
8COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Weekly Web Wrap Up 6/3/2011 - With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 03, 2011 | PERMALINK

What would you do if you found out the cute guy you liked was actually a Regency gentleman who had spent 200 years trapped as a statue? This is the dilemma facing Eva in The Kiss by Emma Shortt. Tell us what your response would be in the comments below and be entered to win a copy of this new e-book!

***

HISTORICAL ROMANCE: Author Debra Mullins on the secret identity in her new novel. Read More >>

MYSTERY: Get a look at PI Claire DeWitt. Read The Excerpt >>

EROTICA: Crystal Jordan gives readers an inside look at her new story. Learn More >>

MAINSTREAM: Elizabeth Joy Arnold talks about When We Were Friends. Watch The Video >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
12COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Four Harlequin Medical Romances Full Of Family Drama

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 03, 2011 | PERMALINK

As any fan of ER, Grey’s Anatomy and Nurse Jackie knows, sometimes the drama of doctors’ lives doesn’t end when they leave the hospital. From troubled teens to unexpectedly caring for a pair of young children and beyond, the June Harlequin Medical series romances each explore how new relationships can be affected by family drama.

Maverick in the ER 
By Jessica Matthews

Doctor Sierra relocated after her husband’s death but is unsure if she will still be able to save lives in the ER. It takes the encouragement of Trey, a sexy fellow doctor, to help her feel confident again. But when Trey’s preteen niece is diagnosed with a serious illness, Trey retreats inside of himself. Will this pair of doctors ever be able to find a way back to the love that had just started to bloom?

Read the *Web Exclusive Review* >>

 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Morgan & Whitney Dish: Eleven Scandals To Start To Win A Duke's Heart By Sarah MacLean

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 02, 2011 | PERMALINK

Feisty Italian miss Juliana Fiori has little interest in fitting into the upper echelons of the English ton, but she has promised to try for her half-brothers' sakes. However, all of her good intentions go out the window when she decides to teach the extremely proper Simon, Duke of Leighton, a lesson. One illicit wager later, Juliana is in the middle of her most outlandish adventure yet as she embarks on Eleven Scandals to Start to Win a Duke's Heart in Sarah MacLean's new historical romance. 

***

Morgan: One word, three syllables: delightful!

Whitney: One word, three syllables: perfection!

Morgan: Everything about this story simply shines. From the scandalous heroine to the overly uptight hero. The sparkling dialogue, the look back at favorite characters. One of the best historical romances I have read in a super long time!

Whitney: You know what this feels like? Classic Julia Quinn but with Sarah’s distinctive spin. That’s not to say you would ever confuse the two authors but that Sarah’s books consistently evoke the same reaction from me that Julia’s do, an “I can’t believe how amazing this book is” reading stupor.

Morgan: Most of that amazing feeling, for me, came from the irrepressible Juliana. I love that she is from Italy and foreign with a capital "F". Because English customs are so different from those in her homeland, the reader gets a look at the Regency from an outsider’s perspective.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
5COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Dark Days Of Supernatural Debut Author Interview: Veronica Roth And Tara Hudson

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 02, 2011 | PERMALINK

During the Dark Days of Supernatural Giveaway readers get a chance to enter to win a bag full of new paranormal YA tales. Today two of the Dark Days of Supernatural debut authors, Veronica Roth and Tara Hudson, give you an inside look at their new tales, Divergent and Hereafter as the authors interview each other.

Veronica Roth Tara Hudson
   

Veronica Roth: What about going on book tour are you most excited about?

Tara Hudson: I’m probably most excited to meet people at the signing – I can’t wait to talk with folks about Hereafter! I’m also excited to meet the other Dark Days authors in person, and do some of my own fan-girl squealing over your awesome books. I can’t think of a better group of gals with whom to share Hereafter’s release day, during our June 7th signing in Chicago!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

RT's Anne Elizabeth And A Special Look At Ziggy, The Ultimate Communicator

BY Anne Elizabeth, JUNE 02, 2011 | PERMALINK

Today graphic novel author Anne Elizabeth, who is also the RT BOOK REVIEWS Columnist on Comics, Manga and Graphic Novels, shares a special look into the world of the comic character Ziggy.

In a rare interview, I spoke with Tom Wilson II, the son of Ziggy creator and the artist of the popular newspaper comic strip for the past few decades. “I took over for my dad years ago. I suppose it was a natural progression. I grew up with Ziggy who was like an older brother to me. He taught me a lot...” said Wilson. “Ziggy was a loner, a sad sack if you will, who was able to speak directly to the audience about his issues and upsets. He could look the world in the eye and impart his wisdom.” This candidness melted hearts of readers around the globe.


Read More>>

Tags: Comics/Graphic Novels/Manga, RT Daily Blog
10COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST