RT Daily Blog

BEA 2011: Giant Book Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 27, 2011 | PERMALINK

We spent the past week at BEA meeting authors, publishers and fellow book enthusiasts. And each day we braved the long lines in the Autographing Area in order to give readers a chance to win signed books from fan favorite authors. 

Today is the day you've all been waiting for, because we are giving away not one, not two, but five bags full of signed books and ARCs from across genres! And with much thanks to all of the authors who contributed and publicists who made this giveaway possible, you can check out the lists below to see which books are in each bag.

To enter to win one or any of the bags, simply leave a comment below telling us what new book you can't wait to read and which bags you are hoping to win:

 

Mystery, Suspense and Thriller:

Inside by Brenda Novak — Signed and pubs in July!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mainstream, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Romance, Science Fiction, Young Adult
151COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST


Weekly Web Wrap Up 5/27/2011

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 27, 2011 | PERMALINK

We spent part of the week at BEA, one of the largest publishing conventions of the year. You can follow our coverage with the BEA Spotlights below and don’t miss your chance to win a giant bag full of signed books and Advanced Reader Copies (ARCs) from the event!

Spotlight On Technology And The Future Of The Book >>

Spotlight On Upcoming Romances In Novels Across The Genres >>

Spotlight On Young Adult Fiction >>

Video Interview With Julia Quinn >>

Win A Prize Pack of BEA ARCs And Signed Books >>

***


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Sneak Peek: Vampire In Atlantis By Alyssa Day

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 27, 2011 | PERMALINK

RT brings you an exclusive first look at Alyssa Day's characters from her upcoming Vampire in Altantis, the latest installment of the author's popular Warriors of Poseidon series. 

***

Daniel and Serai bring a whole new meaning to the phrase “star-crossed lovers.” They first fell in love more than 11,000 years ago, before Atlantis sank beneath the sea! In the time that has passed since then, Daniel became a vampire and very powerful mage in the Night Walker Guild, and Serai spent the entire time in magical stasis; frozen in time in Atlantis to be pulled out at some future time to marry an Atlantean king.

Serai isn’t a fan of this plan. 

She manages to escape the stasis pod and Atlantis just when Daniel has finally given up on life and plans to walk into the sun. When these two encounter another after eleven thousand years, it’s an explosion like the world has never seen! They have a mission, though: they must retrieve a very powerful gem from Poseidon’s Trident that has fallen into the wrong hands.  


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Extended Excerpt: Elizabeth Bass' Wherever Grace Is Needed

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 27, 2011 | PERMALINK

Get a peek between the covers of Elizabeth Bass' new mainstream novel, Wherever Grace Is Needed. With this extended excerpt you can meet Grace, the young woman struggling to figure out where home really is in this emotionally gripping tale of love and family.

***

Prologue
Memorizing the Sky
June 1988

In the living room, she went through the same ritual she’d performed everywhere else, joining the tips of the corresponding fingers of her two hands to look through, like a viewfinder, and then slowly walking around the room, examining every little thing. She needed to commit it all to memory. This might be her last chance to see this old house, with its odd-shaped cabinets and closets perfect for hiding, and the fireplace framed by faded multicolored tiles.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mainstream
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

BEA 2011: In-Depth With Historical Romance's Julia Quinn

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 26, 2011 | PERMALINK

This week at BEA we have enjoyed spending time with some of our favorite authors from across the genre. But without a doubt one of the highlights of this convention is the time we spent interviewing historical romance's Julia Quinn. The author spoke candidly about June novel, Just Like Heaven, and shared exclusive details about the project she is working with fellow romance mavens Eloisa James and Connie Brockway as they team up for another not-quite-anthology to follow-up winter 2011's reader favorite, The Lady Most Likely ...

Julia Quinn On Her New Projects >>

More From The RT BOOK REVIEWS Video Channel >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Kathryn Smith Embarks On A YA Adventure Writing As Kady Cross

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 26, 2011 | PERMALINK

Author Kathryn Smith is known for her Regency romances, but these days she has traded in her pelise for some steampunk flying goggles and a new YA pen name, Kady Cross.

This month Cross introduces readers to a very different London in her YA debut, the steampunk tale The Girl in the Steel Corset. RT Reviewer Ellen Parsons calls the book, "A steampunk mystery with a delicious love triangle and entertaining Jekyll and Hyde element." The story opens with feisty heroine Finley Jayne doing her best to survive in this alternate-London. And yesterday at BEA Kady Cross shared that Finley Jayne's advice for when one is confronted by adults with dubious agendas, is very simple. The feisty Finley says, "Hit them!" So we knew we had to ask the author about  ...

Miss Finley Jayne's Rules For Surviving Her Steampunk World


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
4COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

These Three May Novels Are Supernatural, Spicy And Proud Of It!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 26, 2011 | PERMALINK

This month there are three seriously spicy paranormals heating up the bookstore shelves. Virna DePaul, Karin Tabke and Denise Rossetti have each released paranormal reads with heat ratings that match the rising summer temperatures! To find out more about the caliente scenes in these sexy supernatural stories we went straight to the authors:

 

Blood Law
By Karin Tabke

Sons of Anarchy meets Rise of the Lycan. Blood Law is a story of primal survival. Of love, transcending age old hate. For this passionate love story to resonate, there was only one way to go: to paraphrase [the review of my book on] lovinmesomeromance, "It's stripped free of comedic humor and cumbersome layers leaving only the raw flesh and bones. No taboo is left unscathed and no soft words are used to cushion the often shocking and primal sexuality..."

     

Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Sneak Peek: Gregg Hurwitz's You're Next

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 26, 2011 | PERMALINK

RT brings you an exclusive first look at Gregg Hurwitz's upcoming novel You're Next. We go beyond the back cover blurb with the author who shares how this story is different from his other works. Also, check out the giveaway at the end of the author's message. 

***

Part of why I’m a writer is that I’m an insomniac. An image will hit me, or a scene, and it’ll gnaw on my brain in the small hours until I need to write it down to get it out. You're Next is the most emotional book I’ve written, I think because it’s the first book I’ve attacked fully from the perspective of a parent. 

What was the scene that struck me and wouldn’t let go?

A boy is dropped off by his father at an unfamiliar playground as a four-year-old and told to go play. Climbing out of the station wagon, he notices a single drop of blood on the cuff of his father’s sleeve. But whose?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

BEA 2011: Spotlight On YA Authors

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 25, 2011 | PERMALINK

Today we continue our coverage of BEA with a spotlight on some great Young Adult authors who attended this year's conference. 

We got a chance to ask some of our favorite YA authors to share their heroines' (and a special hero) tips for dealing with adults. First we chatted with Kady Cross, Julie Kagawa and Maria V. Snyder at the Harlequin booth.

Maria V. Snyder said that her heroine's tip for dealing with adults is, "before replying take a few seconds and fully formulate a response."

While Julie Kagawa's heroine Megan suggests that when it comes to interacting with authority figures, "Never enter with them into a contract. And be polite."

And Kady Cross (who readers may know as the Regency romance author Kathryn Smith) says that when confronted with adults with agendas, kick-butt heroine Finley Jayne's golden rule is, "Hit them!"


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Extended Excerpt: Lynsay Sands' The Reluctant Vampire

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 25, 2011 | PERMALINK

After over a dozen books, author Lynsay Sands' Argeneau series is hotter than ever. Releasing next week is The Reluctant Vampire and in honor of the sizzling supernatural series, we are giving you a peek between the covers -- the entire first chapter of the story!

 ***

Drina hardly noticed the rhythmic tap of her heels as she descended the stairs from the plane.

Her attention was shifting from the winter-dead trees surrounding the private airstrip to the man leaning against the back of a small golf cart on the edge of the tarmac. With dark hair and skin and a black leather coat, he could have been mistaken for a shadow if it weren’t for his glowing gold-black eyes. They peered at her, steady and cold from between his black wool hat and scarf, and he remained utterly motionless until she stepped down onto the paved runway. Only then did he move, straightening and walking forward to meet her.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST