RT Daily Blog

On The Shelves Tuesday 6/21/2010

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 21, 2011 | PERMALINK

Here's a look at the titles we love that hit shelves this week.

Historical Romance
  
 Shameless
by Anne Stuart

“In The House of Rohan series, no innocent is safe and readers are rendered breathless with chills of delight.”
  Seduction And Scandal
by Charlotte Featherstone

“Secrets, passions and conflicts abound as readers are led through a labyrinth of plot twists, séances … and love scenes that take their breath away and leave them panting for more.”
       
  A Wedding Wager
by Jane Feather

“This compelling read delivers an unforgettable cast of characters and places them in an irresistible story of a second chance at love …”
    The Darkest Heart
by Thea Devine

“[Devine] builds a vampiric world that is dark, sinister and sensual.”
             

Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST


Meet Eve Edwards And Sneak A Peek At The Other Countess — With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 21, 2011 | PERMALINK

Author Eve Edwards takes YA readers back to the past with her new series, The Lacey Chronicles. The series first, The Other Countess, is a July Top Pick! RT’s Raven revealed, “I stayed up way too late to finish this one — but it was so worth it! Edwards has created a richly detailed historical world with lively characters.” Today the author offers a special peek inside the series, gives you access to the entire prologue and first chapter and hosts a giveaway so you can enter to win your own Advance Reader Copy of The Other Countess!

A warm “hello” from Oxford, England, to all of you in the USA interested in the first of the Lacey Chronicles, The Other Countess. If you like your heroes handsome but troubled and your heroines disadvantaged but witty under pressure, then I think there will be much in the book for you. There are jousts and feasts, gossip and girlfriends, alchemy and arrests for treason, so I promise you are unlikely to get bored!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
7COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Forewords - The Books Before The Buzz

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 20, 2011 | PERMALINK

With our column, Forewords, we let readers know the latest book news about some of the web team's most-anticipated upcoming releases across the genres — just as the projects are announced!

NEW SERIES ALERT

Romantic Suspense - Get ready for Project Alpha, the newest series from Shayla Black. The series will follow genetically engineered soldiers as they fight to keep the world — and the women they love — safe. 

Paranormal Romance - Bestselling author Alyssa Day is launching the League of the Black Swan series. No word yet on the titles of the first three books, however, we do know that the stories will feature the Knights Templar and other supernatural vigilantes who are working to keep the world safe from the Dark Wizard of Bordertown. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Go Behind The Scenes of Black Heart Loa With Adrian Phoenix

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 20, 2011 | PERMALINK

Today we get an insider's look at Adrian Phoenix's Black Heart Loa with this mini-interview about the author's urban fantasy series. And then be sure to check out the first posting in Adrian Phoenix's Chapter Hunt to get an exclusive look at the first chapter of Black Heart Loa as it is released in four segments over the course of this week!

***

Black Heart Loa is a sequel to Black Dust Mambo. For readers new to the series, can you give us a three sentence wrap-up of "the story so far"?

You bet! In Black Dust Mambo, After unraveling the mystery behind her family history, a mystery that had drawn the deadly attention of the infamous Doctor Heron and nearly cost Kallie her life and her soul, she ended the root doctor's life with the help of sexy nomad (and winner of the carnival's wet boxers contest) Layne Valin, Kallie believed her family was safe at last. But before Kallie could catch a breath or even spend a little time in Layne's arms, she discovered that her bayou pirate cousin and his dog were missing and realized that Doctor Heron's dark revenge hadn't died with him. Now, there is nothing Kallie won't do to find her cousin and bring him home again.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
4COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Weekly Web Wrap Up 7/17/2011

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 17, 2011 | PERMALINK

Did you spend your whole week with the Baby on the Ranch?

Here's what you missed on the RT website.

***

HISTORICAL ROMANCE: Go behind the scenes of Alissa Johnson’s Nearly a Lady. Read On >>

EROTICA: Is it the end of an era, and Kate Douglas’ wolf tales series?  Find Out >>

CONTEMPORARY ROMANCE: Get a sneak peek at Money Shot. Susan Sey Shares A Story Snippet! >>

MYSTERY: Marcus Sakey chats about the unlikely inspirations for his new story. What Are They? >> 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Theme Spotlight: Highlanders

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 17, 2011 | PERMALINK

There are few characters more intriguing than the kilted warriors and fiery lassies of the Highlands. From Diana Gabaldon’s Outlander hero, Jamie, to the sparkling couples of Julie Garwood’s classic Scottish adventures, it’s no surprise that many of the spots on our keeper shelves are filled with these tales of love and brogue. But we count ourselves lucky that many of the authors who set their tales in the Highlands also can’t get enough of the area, and the age of Scottish Highlanders is not over! Today author Monica McCarty chats about why she loves the Highlands. Then we highlight some of the new crop of highlanders in current series, sagas that have just begun and a few extra credit Highlanders in this theme spotlight.

All it takes is a quick browse down the aisle (or virtual aisle) of your favorite romance store to see the number of covers with plaid to realize that Highlanders are hot (the books not just the men). With their sexy, usually-strapping, usually-alpha heroes, haunting castles, dramatic seascapes, windswept moors, and turbulent history, Scottish historicals have always been a popular sub-genre. But today, authors are putting fresh twists on the ever-expanding genre, giving a little something for everyone.

Readers can still find a good Romeo & Juliet style clan-feud or Outlander type time travel, but what if you want werewolves? Got it. Vampires? You bet. If you like Navy SEALS or Special Ops romance, I’ve got you covered. My new Highland Guard series—or what I call “Special Ops in Kilts”—is a genre-mixing blend of Scottish and military romance (think Suzanne Brockmann meets Braveheart). Whether you like a “wee” bit of history, a lot of history, medieval, Tudor or regency, family sagas, humor, drama, or mystery, you can find it between the pages of a Scottish romance.

- Monica McCarty

RECOMMENDED READS


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Sneak Peek: Seduce Me In Flames By Jacquelyn Frank

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 16, 2011 | PERMALINK

RT brings you an exclusive first lookSeduce Me In Flames, the second in Jacquelyn Frank's futuristic series. Read on to get a behind the scenes look at the Extreme Tactics Force and their mission directly from the author. 

***

Seduce Me in Flames brings us back to the adventures of the Interplanetary Militia in the Three Worlds universe. The Three worlds have seen some pretty interesting things, mostly centering around the vast political and cultural differences that tend to occur from one inhabited planet to the next. The IM polices these aliens, making sure they all play nice in the name of keeping the peace and seeing that everyone leads a reasonably happy existence. But where there are rules there are those who get very good at getting away with breaking them.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Morgan & Whitney Dish: Falling For The Nanny By Jacqueline Diamond

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 16, 2011 | PERMALINK

In author Jacqueline Diamond's latest novel, Falling for the Nanny, high school sweethearts Patty and Alec are reunited when this single father hires P.I. Patty to keep his daughter safe, not realizing that he will be putting his heart on the line!

***

Whitney: This story really is the perfect illustration of what you can expect when you pick up a Harlequin American Romance story, from the small-town setting that realistically lends itself to everyone being in each other’s business to the sweet nature of this romance between re-connected high school sweethearts.

Morgan: It was interesting for me because usually I don’t read the Harlequin Americans. I’m not really sure why not. But this one was right up my alley. There is something really comforting about a sweet read where the hero and heroine genuinely like each other. No artifice, no games. Just a real-life friendship that turns into more.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cheaper By The Dozen: This Week's Hot E-Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 16, 2011 | PERMALINK

One of our favorite features of the e-revolution is the sheer amount of books you can pack into such a tiny digital device. But what do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfotably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In our new column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Victoria Thompson's Historical Mystery Series Evolves

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 16, 2011 | PERMALINK

This month Victoria Thompson's thirteenth installment of her long-running mystery series hits shelves, Murder on Sisters' Row. So we asked the author to give us a special look at the evolution of her series and the world of the Gaslight Mysteries!

When I started writing the Gaslight Mysteries, set 1890’s New York City, I had no idea that I would discover “the more things change, the more they stay the same.” What has surprised me most about the research I do for the series is that the problems people were dealing with back then are the same problems we’re dealing with today. In Murder on St. Mark’s Place, the murder victim is a young woman whose only sin was trying to find Mr. Right. In those days, young women had just started working outside the home for the first time in history and courtship rituals had suddenly changed to allow men and women to go places together, unchaperoned. The women would go to dangerous places to meet prospective husbands, dance houses where they could partner with eligible men who would buy them drinks. Sometimes they found the man of their dreams, and sometimes they ended up raped or murdered. Just like today.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST