RT Daily Blog

Trend Watch: Mild Romance Is Hot, Hot, Hot!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 24, 2011 | PERMALINK

One of our favorite things about reading romance is the wide range of stories that fall under the genre. And that’s certainly the case when it comes to the spice, sizzle and steam factor of these stories. These days many authors are writing tales that are hot, hot, hot — the erotic romance sub-genre has exploded and even contemporary romances are skewing towards the fuego. But where does a romance reader go for a story that sweet not scorching? Today we chat about books that don’t skimp on the romance, but prove that sometimes less is more when it comes to the bedroom scenes.

Physical intimacy is an important part of a romantic relationship, but it’s not always something that needs to be seen on the page. This month Hester Browne’s novel, Swept off her Feet has RT’s B. Nakia Garner saying, “It is refreshing to see a book focus more on the idea of romance as opposed to actual romantic overtures.” Not having explicit sexual scenes on the page can give authors a chance to focus more on the development of the relationship a la the romance classics, Austen and Bronte.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST


Video Interview: Rick Mofina

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 24, 2011 | PERMALINK

Author Rick Mofina recently introduced his readers to a new thriller series hero, Jack Gannon. This month Jack's latest adventure, In Desperation, received an RT Top Pick! Today the author chats with RT Web Editor Morgan Doremus about the ways that his own background in journalism has influenced his writing and Mofina shares his advice for aspiring authors.

Rick Mofina On Writing >>

More From The RT BOOK REVIEWS Video Channel >>


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Sneak Peek: Devyn Quinn's Darkness Descending

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 24, 2011 | PERMALINK

RT brings you an exclusive first look at Devyn Quinn's upcoming novel, Darkness Descending. We go beyond the back cover blurb with the author who shares how this August's Buffy-inspired novel became the start of something so much more.

***

Darkness Descending, the first book of my Vampire Armageddon series with NAL, had a difficult journey finding its place in this world. It all began when I was watching a popular television show about a certain young blonde vampire slayer. The one thing that always struck me was how easy it seemed to create a vampire. A bite, the victim dies, and then rises instant vampire! As Ricky would say to Lucy, it seemed to me that there was more 'splainin’ needed to make everything mesh in a logical manner.

I know, I know. It's all fiction, right? But I want my fiction to make sense, I say, as I pound my desk with a fist.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
10COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Morgan & Whitney Dish: Return To The Black Hills By Debra Salonen

BY MORGAN, MARCH 23, 2011 | PERMALINK

This week, Whitney and I Dish about Debra Salonen's series romance Return to the Black Hills.

Morgan: I picked this week’s Dish book because the heroine is a Parkour expert. Ever since I watched the chase scene in Casino Royale with Daniel Craig, I have loved this sport.

Whitney: It’s pretty amazing and has definitely gained popularity in the past few years.

Morgan: For those unfamiliar, Parkour is all about moving through an urban space as fast as you can, but instead of going around obstacles, you use them to go faster. So you wouldn’t go around a fence, you would climb to the top and do a flip to the other side.

Whitney: If you YouTube “Parkour advertisement” you can see some really cool stunts! (But YouTubers be warned, that’s hours of good reading time that might slip down the drain.)

Morgan: I think Jessie’s Parkour really added a great physical aspect to the story. Debra Salonen could have just made her an adrenaline junkie, but by adding Jessie’s training to the mix, we see her as an athlete.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Writes And Wrongs: Shiloh Walker On Building Your Mailing List

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 23, 2011 | PERMALINK

Best-selling author Shiloh Walker pens this bi-weekly column of online advice for writers. Walker is a full-time author who is published in both e-book and traditional print formats. Now she shares her experience and advice to help aspiring and published authors figure out the "Writes and Wrongs" of the digital world.

A few columns back, I talked about collecting business cards/addresses when you visited bookstores or met booksellers at conventions or conferences. I also mentioned asking if it would be okay to add the bookseller’s name to your mailing list…

Today, we talk about that mailing list. If you don’t want to build your own or just need some extra exposure, you’ve got several resources for mailing lists. Patricia Rouse is one. She provides a mailing list service. RT provides a service called Bookstores That Care Network. There may be even other options out there.

Now I can’t speak personally for these resources as I’ve built my own mailing list over the past few years.

Why? What was the point? Why should you?

Easy.

Promotion.


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Sneak Peek: Jacquie D'Alessandro's Summer at Seaside Cove

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 23, 2011 | PERMALINK

RT brings you an exclusive first look at Jacquie D'Alessandro's upcoming novel, Summer at Seaside Cove. We go beyond the back cover blurb for a special look at this contemporary romance, which the author explains is very different from anything else she has ever written. 

***

First, I’d like to thank RT for giving me the opportunity to give readers a Sneak Peek at my upcoming book, Summer at Seaside Cove. It’s my first contemporary mainstream novel, and I’m so excited about it! All my previous contemporary stories have been either short, category length books or novellas that, because of their tight word count, have focused solely on the romance between the hero and heroine. While Summer at Seaside Cove is at its heart a romance, it’s also a multi-generational story, exploring the intricacies and difficulties of the heroine’s relationships with her mother, sister, and teenage niece. So, while it’s a romance, there’s also a lot more going on. I like to call it Romance--But More. 
 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

On The Bookshelves Tuesday 3/22/2011

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 22, 2011 | PERMALINK

Here's a look at the titles we love that hit shelves this week.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Meg Maguire (AKA Cara McKenna) On The Difference Between Writing Romance And Erotica

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 22, 2011 | PERMALINK

This month Meg Maguire impressed us with her Harlequin Blaze debut, Caught on Camera. The tale overflows with witty banter between the heroine and hero, who take a chance on their chemistry to turn a work relationship into something much more. Today Maguire, best known for the erotic romances she writes as Cara McKenna, gives us an inside look at her series romance and reveals the challenges of writing across genres. 

Thanks so much for having me today!

For those who haven’t heard of me—which is nearly everyone—I actively write contemporary romance, as well as erotica (under the name Cara McKenna). When I was invited to post, I was asked to talk about the differences I encounter, writing in my two genres. My romances are rather steamy and explicit, so on the surface the differences may not seem so great, aside from the obvious—the numbers of bodies rolling around and the particular bedroom shenanigans they get up to. But the differences run quite a bit deeper than that. The main genre rift for me is all about the external conflict, or lack thereof.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Ruta Sepetys On Between Shades Of Gray

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 22, 2011 | PERMALINK

YA author Ruta Sepetys takes us behind the scenes of her new novel, Shades of Gray, which is based on the true story of the Baltic refugees that survived the ethnic cleansing that was carried out on Stalin’s orders. Learn about the genocide that inspired this story, discover why this atrocity is rarely spoken of in the US and find out about the moments that came together for this tale both heartbreaking and hopeful.

“I will tell you what happened to me, but only if you promise not to use my name.”

That is what I heard while conducting research for my novel, Between Shades of Gray.

Fifty years had passed, yet their hands still shook when they spoke of their experience. Fifty years had passed, but the tears and grief were still raw. Secrets are painful and through my research I learned that secrecy can swallow the voice of an entire generation.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Announcing RT's March Seal Of Excellence: Aftertime By Sophie Littlefield

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 21, 2011 | PERMALINK

The RT Editors have chosen Sophie Littlefield's Urban Fantasy, Aftertime, as the twelfth Seal of Excellence recipient. This novel captured our editors' attention with the terrifying obstacles in the path of a mother trying to find her daughter in a post-apocalyptic world.

But why was Aftertime awarded the RT Seal Of Excellence and which other titles were contenders for the month of March? 

Find Out >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST