RT Daily Blog

Forewords - Books Before The Buzz

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 18, 2011 | PERMALINK

With our column, Forewords, we let readers know the latest book news about some of the web team's most-anticipated upcoming releases across the genres — just as the projects are announced!

RETURNING FAVORITE SERIES

Mystery - Eighty-one years after Sir Arthur Conan Doyle’s death, his Sherlock Holmes series is returning with Anthony Horowitz penning The House of Silk: A Sherlock Holmes Novel. Horowitz has been endorsed by the Conan Doyle Estate, and promises "a first rate mystery for a modern audience while remaining absolutely true to the spirit of the original". The House of Silk will be released November 1st.

Urban Fantasy - Rob Thurman's fans will be happy to know that there are two more Cal Leandros books releasing as well as another Trickster novel in the works. 

Contemporary Romance - The next three books in Carolyn Brown's cowboy themed Spikes and Spurs series will be released from Sourcebooks. And if they are anything like the other stories in the series, they promise to be a boot stomping good time! 

NEW SERIES ALERT


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST


First Look: Jade Lee's Dragonborn Concept Art

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 18, 2011 | PERMALINK

Today author Jade Lee shares a sneak peek at the art of her new Dragonborn comic/graphic novel with RT readers. Comic book issues will be released this summer from Sea Lion Books and the complete graphic novel is scheduled to hit shelves this fall — but you don't have to wait that long to get a look at some of the ways that artist Wilson Junior is bringing Lee's beloved characters to life!


Read More>>

Tags: Comics/Graphic Novels/Manga, RT Daily Blog, Romance
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

An Evening With Author Gini Koch

BY MORGAN, APRIL 18, 2011 | PERMALINK

Saturday evening the romance section of Posman Books in New York City was jam-packed with fans all wanting science fiction romance author Gini Koch’s autograph. Earlier this month Gini released the third in her Alien Collective series Alien in the Family. Gini’s books sold out fast, but that didn’t stop readers from grabbing up the author’s post cards and magnates. Gini mingled with the crowd who she greeted like friends — one thing you notice right away when meeting Ms. Koch, she's a hugger. 

Traditionally sci fi romance has been a bit of a hard sell, but Gini is more than happy with her chosen genre — it gives her room to talk to the crowd about a wide range of topics. Everything from Galaxy Quest to love triangles was discussed during the signing with many references to music. (Aerosmith is the author’s favorite, but she says to really get into her series, try Smash Mouth’s album Get the Picture).  

Well into the evening, I decided to ask the crowd what they loved so much about Gini’s books and the answer was unanimous: one and all are in love with the characters (especially the dreamy Jeff) and they also couldn’t get enough of the series’ realism. “It’s just so believable,” claimed one fan. “Like it could really happen.” 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Science Fiction
4COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Weekly Web Wrap Up 4/15/2011

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 15, 2011 | PERMALINK

Did you spend your whole week learning How to Lasso a Cowboy?

Here's what you missed on the RT website.

***

ROMANTIC SUSPENSE: Kylie Brant talks Deadly Dreams. Get The Inside Scoop >>

INSPIRATIONAL: RT Reviewer Leslie interviews author Dan Walsh. Check It Out >> 

YOUNG ADULT: Ann Aguirre on how to stay alive in the dystopian world of Enclave. Read More >> 

GRAPHIC NOVEL: It’s a smart look at the dangerous world of dating in Mister Wonderful. Learn How >> 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Theme Spotlight: Witches

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 15, 2011 | PERMALINK

We love witches in our paranormal novels and we aren’t the only ones! Today author Kelley Armstrong chats about what makes witches so intriguing. Then we highlight some of the long-running series, newly started sagas and a few extra witches in this theme spotlight.

In my Otherworld series, most supernatural types get a single narrator. Only one breaks that rule—in eleven books, I’ve had three witch heroines. Why? Because I’ve discovered that witches are the most versatile character type. They have the best range of abilities limited only by skill and willpower. In short, they make great heroines.

Give a woman the power to cast spells, and she can be many things. She can be a kick-ass dark witch, like Eve Levine (Haunted, 2005). Or she can be a brainy ethical crusader, like Paige Winterbourne (Stolen, 2003). Like Paige, she can be constantly striving to develop her powers. Or like Savannah Levine, she can be genetically blessed with so much that she must struggle to control it. Every scenario leads to a different path for the witch…and for the woman.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Announcing The Winners Of The Sweet Valley Confidential: Ten Years Later Contest

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 15, 2011 | PERMALINK

In our March issue, we ran an interview and contest with the legendary Francine Pascal, Sweet Valley High creator. We asked readers to share your favorite memories of the series in our Sweet Valley Contest and were thrilled at the entries which brought back sweet memories for us. Winners have been chosen and will each receive a copy of Sweet Valley Confidential: Ten Years Later, which is in stores now.

M. says: My favorite memory is when my family was living in California, and we went to the library at least twice a week if not more and as soon as that car stopped, my sister and I would be out of the car so fast that you couldn't see us for the dust. My mom would holler at us and tell us to "walk" into the library. Needless to say, we "walked" at a very very rapid pace, each of us elbowing the other in order to be the first to reach the newest Sweet Valley High books.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Author Interview: Rosemary Harris

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 14, 2011 | PERMALINK

Mystery author Rosemary Harris continues her Dirty Business series with this month's Slugfest. This new mystery got 4 1/2 stars from RT and today the author chats with RT's Managing Editor Liz French about writing what she calls "suburban noir" mysteries, her heroine Paula and the role that Harris' experience as a master gardener plays in these books.

Rosemary Harris On Her Mysteries >>

More From The RT BOOK REVIEWS Video Channel >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Inside The Issue: June 2011

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 14, 2011 | PERMALINK

The June issue will be in stores soon. Here are some of the stories you can look forward to:

Grace Burrowes shares a look at her journey to becoming a published author.

Industry insiders remember Kensington founder, Walter Zacharius.

Nalini Singh gives details about her highly-anticipated upcoming novel.

Get a special look at the new comic book series coming from Shrek producer Aron Warner.

Find out which eight authors you need to be reading this season.

Also, we talk mind tricks with mystery author Marcus Sakey, Go Fug Yourself blogger Jessica Morgan gives us the details about the her new YA novel Spoiled and we've got news about our 2012 Chicago convention!

It's all between the pages of the June 2011 issue of RT BOOK REVIEWS. You can also SUBSCRIBE NOW and get access to RT's Bonus Content coming next week!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

First Look: Jennifer Estep's Touch Of Frost

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 14, 2011 | PERMALINK

The new YA series by Jennifer Estep follows teenage gypsy Gwen whose unusual psychic powers have resulted in her being, in Jennifer Estep’s own words, “shipped off to Mythos Academy” where she is surrounded by the offspring of ancient warriors. However, when a fellow student is killed and an ancient artifact disappears, Gwen can’t help but get involved. The first novel in the Mythos Academy series, Touch of Frost, doesn't hit stores for another three months but you can get a taste of it today!

***

I was almost clear of Valhalla Hall when a window on the second floor opened and a backpack sailed outside and plummeted to the ground in front of me. Somehow, I stifled the surprised scream in my throat. Especially since the backpack was followed a second later by a guy who landed in a low, perfect crouch. He got to his feet with ease, like the twenty-foot fall was nothing to him, and I saw who he was.

Logan freaking Quinn.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Celebrating Royal Babies In Aprils Series Romances

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 13, 2011 | PERMALINK

As we get excited for the upcoming royal nuptials we are putting the carriage before the horse and taking a look at the pregnant royals in this month’s series romances!

The Accidental Birthright
By Maisey Yates

Alison Whitman is a career woman. A driven “planner” who likes to have control over every aspect of her life, and when she chooses to have a baby, she thinks she's thought of every eventuality. Until she finds out that, thanks to an IVF clinic mix-up, her baby's father is a prince. Nothing about that follows a plan.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST