RT Daily Blog

Finding The Right Digital Publisher

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 21, 2011 | PERMALINK

Bobbye Terry, who also writes under the pseudonyms Daryn Cross and Terry Campbell, is an author with experience writing across the genres and publishing in both traditional and e-formats. Now she shares her tips on how to choose the right digital publisher.

Are you a writer who craves to be published but no matter how many times you submit to print publishers you have a rejection to show for it? I know how frustrated one can be when this happens. If I’d saved every rejection letter I ever got, I could paper several houses, most likely including the White House, not that security would allow it. Now, I don’t claim to be the wise sage who has just the right answer, but I can give you my insights based on fifteen years of writing and having been published with a large New York house and a bunch of small press publishers with an emphasis on digital publication.

When choosing a home for your prize novel, don’t submit wildly in hopes that one of many will accept your work. Choose your publisher just like you would a physical property, with research, inspection and careful analysis of the contract. 

Things to consider: 


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog
16COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST


Weekly Web Wrap Up 2/18/2011

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 18, 2011 | PERMALINK

Did you spend your whole week Taming the VIP Playboy?
Here’s what you missed on the RT Website.

Contemporary Romance: Susan Wiggs shares her favorite scene from Marrying Daisy Bellamy. Read On >>

Historical Romance: Cara Elliott on her Circle of Sin series. Check Out The Interview >>

Series Romance: Fall in love with two new Harlequin Historical heroes. Meet The Men >> 

Fantasy: Take an in-depth look at the characters of The Sworn. Read A Message From The Author >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

The Authors Of A New Anthology Issue Us An Invitation To Sin

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 18, 2011 | PERMALINK

When we heard that historical romance authors Jo Beverley, Vanessa Kelly, Sally MacKenzie and Kaitlin O’Riley had pooled their talent to create this month’s anthology, An Invitation to Sin, our next move was clear. We went right to the four authors to tell us what surprised them about the unexpected relationships that bloom in each of their novellas!

The Surprise In “Forbidden Affections" by Jo Beverley:

I've always been fascinated by the gothic tales that gripped readers in the late 18th and early 19th century. People who think Regency misses were demure would get a shock to share their enjoyment of capture by bandits, terror from lascivious monks, and hauntings by a variety of ghouls. In my story, "Forbidden Affections", a young fan of such works finds herself plunged into a simulation of one of her favorite stories and like so many gothic heroines, can't resist exploring.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
8COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

A Book Signing E-vent With Nora Roberts, Jeaniene Frost And More At 10:30 On Saturday February 19th

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 18, 2011 | PERMALINK

You may not be able to make it to Boonsboro, Maryland this Saturday morning to meet  Nora Roberts, Jeaniene Frost and the other authors who will be signing books at Turn the Page Bookstore Cafe. However don't let the distance between you and Boonsboro keep you from attending this event!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Joss Ware On Selena Of Night Betrayed - The Newest Heroine Of The Envy Chronicles

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 18, 2011 | PERMALINK

Joss Ware's Selena is no ordinary leading lady. In the post-apocalyptic world of Ware's the Envy Chronicles, Selena serves as a hospice worker, guiding people to their final rest. But when the nearly dead Theo survives the death rattle that Selena knows so well, she realizes that she may have finally met the man who is her match. Now the author brings us up to speed on everything we need to know before venturing into the zombie-infested world of Selena, Theo and what remains of society in Night Betrayed.

About a year ago, I found a book written by a hospice doctor that was a collection of his experiences with death and the dying. The stories and incidents were fascinating, and only added to stories I’d heard from other people—another hospice doctor whom I know personally, along with others who’ve worked or volunteered, or otherwise been present in situations when someone is dying.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Two English Heroes

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 17, 2011 | PERMALINK

Are you seeking tall, dark and English? Your search is over with two new series romances heroes from Harlequin Historical.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Susan Wiggs' New Favorite Scene

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 17, 2011 | PERMALINK

Romance novel queen Susan Wiggs shares her very favorite scene from her newest novel. (No spoilers, she promises!)

The good news is, my favorite scene in Marrying Daisy Bellamy is touching, funny, emotional and entertaining. The bad news is, I can’t tell you what happens in that scene.

Why? Well, because it wouldn’t be fair to people who haven’t read the book yet. It’s got too many spoilers in it.

Part of the fun of Marrying Daisy Bellamy is the excruciating who-will-win-her-heart tension that has been running through all of the Lakeshore Chronicles, ever since Daisy burst onto the scene in Summer at Willow Lake, a troubled teen with a chip on her shoulder. Through the subsequent books, she has felt the push and pull of her heart between Logan–the father of her child–and Julian–the hunky Air Force pilot. So I can’t talk about that favorite scene and risk a spoiler.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Artist Interview: Joe Staton On Adapting Ayn Rand’s Anthem

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 17, 2011 | PERMALINK

Artist Joe Staton and author Charles Santino worked together to create the graphic novel adaptation of Anthem, the classic tale by Ayn Rand. In a *Web Exclusive Review* RT Reviewer Dawn Crowne says, “This graphic novel is a wonderful tribute to one of the most popular American novelists of modern time.” Crowne was particularly impressed with the way that the art of Anthem: The Graphic Novel reflected the story’s true sentiment that the future is a bleak one. Now Stanton takes us inside the pages of the project in this artist interview:

When creating Anthem: The Graphic Novel, how closely did you stay Rand’s original storyline?
Charles Santino and I were entirely faithful to book and respectful of Ms. Rand’s work. We really focused on the characterization of the two protagonists. I am especially proud of our work on Gaea [aka Liberty 5-3000]. She is such a strong character and we were really able to bring her out.

Where you at all intimidated adapting a work by such a popular author?
As an artist, you always feel pressure to make things look right. I mean, if you work on Scooby-Doo or Archie, you have to do it just right because everyone knows what they look like and how they act. Rand’s readers are just as strict. But I'd rather face an Ayn fan than a Star Trek fan!

The society in Anthem is made up of two very distinct groups – the workers living in collectives and the Council of Scholars who make the laws. How did you visually differentiate these two groups?


Read More>>

Tags: Comics/Graphic Novels/Manga, RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Dear Jane: What Apps Do You Need For Each Device?

BY Dear Jane, FEBRUARY 17, 2011 | PERMALINK

http://www.kobobooks.com/smartphonesWelcome to Dear Jane, a weekly column based upon reader mailbag questions on anything relating to e-books. No question is too simple or too mundane. We are all learning together. Send your questions to Jane@DearAuthor.com with "Dear Jane" in the subject matter.

Dear Jane: I was wondering if it would be possible for you to do a write up about what devices can download from each of these companies and what apps you would need to use. I know that on the Borders site they ask you to download the free Borders eBook app but I'm not sure if that is for a laptop, iPad, Kindle, etc. Same with Amazon and B&N. - M

***

Dear M: If you are reading on a dedicated e-book reader like the Kindle, nook, Sony, or Kobo, these devices do not any apps to be downloaded in order to read an e-book. In fact, these devices won't allow you to add new apps.* For a laptop or desktop, you have the following choices. I am just listing the programs with my recommendations. Over the next few weeks, I will do a mini rundown of each set of programs as it is too much for one post.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Robert Barclay

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 16, 2011 | PERMALINK

Author Robert Barclay talks about equine therapy and the role that it plays in If Wishes Were Horses. The author chats with RT Web Editor Morgan Doremus about the tragedies that his characters must each overcome to find love again. Get an in-depth look at these characters that will touch your heart in many different ways in this special author interview.

Robert Barclay on the characters of If Wishes Were Horse >>

Behind the Scenes with Robert Barclay >>

More From The RT BOOK REVIEWS Video Channel >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mainstream
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST