RT Daily Blog

November Seal of Excellence Winner B.J. Daniels Talks About Her Romance-Filled Small Town

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 24, 2010 | PERMALINK

Author B.J. Daniels won RT’s November Seal of Excellence for her latest series romance, High-Caliber Christmas. This novel won the attention of the RT editors with its fast-paced suspense and sweet romance. Now the author shares how the fictional small town of Whitehorse, Montana has become the home to so much romance and what fans can expect to occur there next!

There is nothing more exciting than writing a book, falling in love with it and having someone else love it too.

With High-Caliber Christmas, I liked the characters from the first time I met them on the page. I’m a seat-of-the-pants writer so I am always surprised when I first meet my characters. I’m also surprised when I find out who the killer is. Heck, I’m surprised by most everything that happens in my books, I guess that’s why I love writing so much.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST


The Beauty and the Danger of the African Continent

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 24, 2010 | PERMALINK

Author Stephanie Tyler shares how her own relationship with Africa shines through in her portrayal of the continent in her romantic suspense novels. Delve into the wilds of this beautiful and dangerous land with Tyler's newest heroine, Dr. Olivia Strohm, who learns her own true strength in this month's Promises in the Dark. And don't miss the excerpt at the end of the post!

I always tell people that I could easily live in Africa and I truly mean that. The continent will always has a special place in my heart, as my husband was born in Songea, Tanzania and we’ve returned many times. Africa is a study in contrasts, with so much lush beauty and so much heartache mingling together, spectacular and tragic at the same time in an almost overwhelming way. It’s a place I understand, a place that contains so much beauty and danger and to me, that’s what romantic suspense is all about. Many of my books are set in Africa for this very reason.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Writes and Wrongs: On Bad Reviews

BY Shiloh Walker, NOVEMBER 24, 2010 | PERMALINK

Best-selling author Shiloh Walker pens this bi-monthly column of online advice for writers. Walker is a full-time author who is published in both e-book and traditional print formats. Now she shares her experience and advice to help aspiring and published authors figure out the "Writes and Wrongs" of the digital world.

In high school, I think, a friend of mind tagged me with the description brutally blunt. Yeah, that's me. You know how you’ve got different friends…the kind of friend who will tell you how amazing you look, no matter what? And then you’ve got the friend who will honestly tell you that the dress you’re wearing makes you look like hell? I’m that friend. I won’t do it to be mean, seriously.

But I’m blunt and today, I'm going to be blunt. Be warned. If you're home and able, grab some wine or a margarita.

We are talking reviews.

Bad ones. If you write for a living, you're going to get them.

Are they fun? Of course not. Fun or not, we are going to get them. They are just part of the job. Just like edits are part of it, just like promo is a part of it, just like a lot of other things are a part of it.


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Millionaire Matchmaker

BY Faygie Levy, NOVEMBER 23, 2010 | PERMALINK

If you're a longtime romance reader, you're going to want to watch tonight's Millionaire Matchmaker on the Bravo cable channel (9pm EST) as matchmaker Patti Stanger tries to find a match for Cindy Guyer, the queen of female cover models for romance novels. Guyer appeared on the cover of hundreds of romance and mystery novels in the '80s and '90s, including books by Catherine Coulter, Heather Graham, Lisa Kleypas, Mary Higgins Clark, Iris Johansen, Kathleen Woodiwiss and Sandra Hill. Will she find her own happily ever after? Tune in tonight and find out.


Read More>>

Tags:
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Karen Hawkins On What Makes Scottish Men The Best Heroes

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 23, 2010 | PERMALINK

Author Karen Hawkins embarks on a new series with One Night in Scotland, which releases today. The novel is not only an RT Top Pick! it has also been nominated to win the Best Scotland-Set Historical Romance category of the 2010 RT Reviewers' Choice Awards. So the author has stopped by to share her reasons why a Scot makes the best type of romance hero. And don’t miss the excerpt of One Night in Scotland at the end of the post!

Sometimes a good book (or series) can change your life. Such is the case when I discovered Elizabeth Peters' beloved Amelia Peabody series. Amelia’s intrepid curiosity, dry wit, and desire to unlock the mysteries of the ancients while simultaneously raising a family, civilizing her husband, and battling evil in the present time, made her a woman to admire. For me, she set a new standard for the term ‘heroine.’  


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

The Ladies' Shooting Club Comes to an End

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 23, 2010 | PERMALINK

The Blacksmith's Bravery wraps up author Susan Page Davis' latest inspirational series. Now the author gives readers behind the scenes look at her popular trilogy.

This book is the third in my series called The Ladies’ Shooting Club, set in an Idaho mountain town in the 1880s. When I first thought of this series, I wanted to write about a group of women who supported each other and did something unusual in the time and place.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Inspirational
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

On The Bookshelves Tuesday 11/23/2010

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 23, 2010 | PERMALINK

Here's a look at the titles we love that hit shelves this week.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

The Buzz Girls Dish Out Advice to Aspiring Writers of Young Adult Fiction

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 23, 2010 | PERMALINK

It’s the middle of our month-long focus on Aspiring Authors here on the RT Daily Blog and while we’ve brought you writing advice from authors across many genres, there’s one hot genre we haven’t touched – until today. Get tips on how to improve your young adult manuscript from seven authors turned bloggers, The Buzz Girls. These multi-published YA authors (and friends) have joined forces on the blogosphere to chat about books, boys and all sorts of buzz. Today they are giving advice to aspiring writers for young adult fiction based on their collective experiences. You can follow the Buzz Girls daily on their blog at www.booksboysbuzz.com.

***


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

The Story Behind The Dark Divine

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 23, 2010 | PERMALINK

Author Bree Despain shares the personal tale about the “what if” that inspired her series starter, The Dark Divine.

When I was little, one of my best friends was a boy who lived down the street from me. We spent hours together climbing in apricot trees, playing soccer, and letting our imaginations run wild. He was mischievous, always looking for ways to tease me—or trying to trick me into kissing him. However, in the second grade, his family moved across the country and we parted ways.

Several years later, I’d all but forgotten about my old friend when I walked into my ninth-grade history class, and was shocked to find a new guy sitting in the seat behind mine. In my quiet suburban neighborhood, this guy looked like Breetrouble with his long hair and torn clothes. I couldn’t see his face, and the idea of sitting near him made me nervous. I took my seat, reassuring myself that if I didn’t bother him, he wouldn’t bother me.

Except, the second I sat down, he started hassling me with obnoxious questions about my life. After I’d had enough, I turned around and snapped, “Who the hell do you think you are?”


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Young Adult
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Take a Guided Tour of Konigsburg, a Fictional Texas Town Alive With Romance

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 22, 2010 | PERMALINK

Contemporary romance author Meg Benjamin takes readers on a guided tour of the fictional Texas town of Konigsburg. Her latest Konigsburg-set novel, Long Time Gone, won the author a nomination for Best Small Press Romance in the 2010 RT Reviewers’ Choice Awards. And don't miss the excerpt of Long Time Gone at the end of the post!

William Faulkner used to have a sign in his study: “Yoknapatawpha County, William Faulkner, Sole Owner and Proprietor.” That’s sort of the way I feel about Konigsburg, Texas, the Texas Hill Country town I created for my first novel with Samhain Publishing, Venus In Blue Jeans. I’ve returned to Konigsburg several times since then, for Wedding Bell Blues, Be My Baby, and Long Time Gone, which was a Contemporary Romance RT Book Reviews Top Pick! in the December issue. My fifth Konigsburg book, Brand New Me, will be published by Samhain on December 7.

Konigsburg resembles other Hill Country towns like Kerrville, Marble Falls, Fredericksburg, and Boerne. But it’s unique in that (besides being mythical), it’s home to the Toleffson brothers and their families.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Romance
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST