RT Daily Blog

RT Essentials - Necessities For Surviving Your First RT Convention

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 08, 2014 | PERMALINK

The 2014 RT Booklovers Convention logo

May 13th is slowly creeping up on us, and before we know it we'll be en route to New Orleans for the annual RT Booklovers Convention! We were all RT Virgins once, and we know it can be a little overwhelming packing for your first RT Con. So we asked seasoned RT veterans the biggest question we know is on your mind — what do you absolutely need to pack? Below are several fantastic suggestions via Twitter and Facebook to help put your mind at ease.

 

These are all amazing suggestions. Comfy shoes are a must, you'll be on your feet for long, fun-filled days! Definitely do not forget to pack your phone charger, so you can meet up with friends, and — oh yeah, check in on your family back home. Bringing along a bunch of pre-made contact cards for easy raffle entries (they should include your name, email address, cell phone number and address. Business cards or address labels work great!) and pre-made shipping labels addressed to yourself so you can mail all the books and swag you collect, will make your life way easier. (There will be shipping available on-site at the convention hotel, and USPS post offices nearby.)

 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Convention
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST


Bitten Recap: Episode 1.13 - "Ready"

BY Mala Bhattacharjee, APRIL 08, 2014 | PERMALINK

The first season of Bitten comes to a head in 1x13, “Ready,” and you’d better believe the fur is flying!

Morning at Stonehaven means a guilt-wracked Clay gets a bath in an old-fashioned metal washtub. Fancy! The handmaiden washing his back? Elena. “You saved me,” she says, explaining that “I know everything.” As he watches, rapt, she slips his wedding ring on.

Tubthumping.

source

Downstairs, Nick and Jeremy stack the basement with wood, so it — and all their records — can go up Fahrenheit 451-style in case things go south. Some secrets are meant to be kept. Elena comes downstairs from tending Clay and notes that Nick’s not in great shape either, angry as he is about Antonio’s death. “I’m gonna make them pay,” she swears of the mutts. Jeremy gets none of her concern and all of her attitude. Clay needs “days, not hours” to recover and she will “stand in the way of anything that comes his way. Even you.”    

source


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, TV Recap, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

On the Shelves: 4/8/2014

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 08, 2014 | PERMALINK

Here's a look at the titles we love that hit shelves this week.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Extended Review: Afterburn/Aftershock by Sylvia Day

BY Mandy Boles, APRIL 07, 2014 | PERMALINK

Six months ago I had the pleasure of interviewing Sylvia Day about her novella "Afterburn," the debut book for Harlequin’s new Cosmo Red Hot Reads imprint. I loved "Afterburn." In true Sylvia Day fashion, the book is filled with sleek settings, hot men, smart women and steamy sex scenes. "Afterburn" and its sequel novella "Aftershock," previously only available as separate e-books, are now on sale together in one print edition containing both stories — Afterburn/Aftershock


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

April Gold Round Up o' Awesomeness

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 07, 2014 | PERMALINK

This month's issue of RT includes a phenomenon as rare as a quadruple rainbow — which we're not entirely sure is a thing — four Top Pick! GOLD reviews. We want to make sure you know all about their unrivaled awesomeness, so let's take a closer look at each pick!

 

       

 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Forewords - The Books Before the Buzz

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 07, 2014 | PERMALINK
With our column, Forewords, we let readers know the latest book news about some of the web team's most anticipated upcoming releases across the genres — just as the projects are announced!

DEBUT AUTHOR

Mainstream - Former Cosmopolitan and current SELF Magazine editor Jessica Knoll is ready to switch gears into novel writing with Luckiest Girl Alive, a mainstream title about an NYC magazine editor whose happily ever after is threatened by a documentary that could reveal a hidden part of her past. Release date: TBA.

NEW SERIES

Erotica - Former Teen Mom Farrah Abraham is entering the literary world for her next venture. She’ll be writing an erotic trilogy about a young almost-famous woman on the verge of scandal after rumors spread about a supposed sex tape, of which she’s the star. Celebrity Sex Tape in the Making is sure to be an entertaining read, so don’t miss it when it releases on July 1, 2014!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Weekly Web Wrap-Up: 4/4/2014

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 04, 2014 | PERMALINK

Did you spend the whole week keeping The Soldier's Promise?  

Here's what you missed on the RT website:

***


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Tweethearts: Tweets We Loved This Week

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 04, 2014 | PERMALINK

The Internet is full of hilarious gems and memorable words of wisdom from the masses. Authors, readers and publishers on Twitter are no exception and continuously put smiles on the faces of Twitter users daily in 140 characters or less. We've started compiling out favorite Tweets. Here are some of the standouts of the week:


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

2014 RT Convention Outfits: Danielle's Picks

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 03, 2014 | PERMALINK

The RT Booklovers Convention is only a few short weeks away! Which means if you're planning on attending the full week of books, babes (yes, we mean you) and shenanigans, you've got some packing to do! With a full schedule of panels, workshops, events — and of course parties, one outfit a day may not cut it. So bust out those extra large suitcases, because the RT staff is bringing you their dream outfits for the themed evening events and nighttime parties. Today, take a gander at RT Editorial Assistant Danielle Valente's picks.


Pirates, Scalawags & More

 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Convention
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

2014 Reading Challenge: Young Adult - We Check In

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 03, 2014 | PERMALINK


We're well into our reading challenge, where RT Web Team's DJ dared Elissa and Elisa to read Laini Taylor's Daughter of Smoke and Bone, a title a bit outside their comfort zone. (Here's part one.) Today, we're checking in to see how the quest is going thus far. DJ knows that if he picked a dud, his coworkers will never, ever let him live it down. For at least two weeks.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST