RT Daily Blog

Scooped! Featuring Aspiring Author Advice, Regency Rogues and Chilling Anthologies

BY Morgan Doremus, SEPTEMBER 30, 2010 | PERMALINK

For my weekly column Scooped!, I scour the Internet, contact authors and pick my fellow RT editor's brains to make sure no reader question goes unanswered. This week, I share my reading habits, offer some aspiring author advice and get reading suggestions for Regency rogues and chilling anthologies. Still have questions? Send them to me here and you may be featured in an upcoming post.

Question: What is the best book you have read recently? - BB 
P.S. Just how many books do you read in a week anyway?

Morgan: Well BB, that depends on the week. I would say that I generally read about a dozen or more books per week — I've got to keep up with what's out there! I try to find a good mix of both print and e-books with paranormal romances being on the top of my TBR pile.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST


An Author's Arctic Voyage

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 30, 2010 | PERMALINK

Historical author Nicola Cornick’s new series starter was inspired by her own Arctic adventure. Learn how a winter wonderland became fodder for the regency romance, Whisper of Scandal. And don’t miss the excerpt of this new novel at the end of the post!

Unusual backgrounds and settings have always inspired me. I love to read them and I love to write them. Right from my very first book, which featured a Somerset cider wassail, I’ve enjoyed incorporating different elements into my Regency historicals. Whether this takes the form of a plot twist or a setting doesn’t really matter but there is always something unusual going on!

With Whisper of Scandal I have taken this to a new level by setting the book in Regency London – and the Arctic. Two years ago I was on a small cruise ship sailing around the island of Spitzbergen in the Arctic Circle. It was the most extraordinary trip of my life. The land was stunning – remote, lonely, beautiful. The history of the island was fascinating and I knew I wanted to set a book there. So the idea for Whisper of Scandal was born.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Mindy Klasky's Genie In A Bottle

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 30, 2010 | PERMALINK

What would you wish for if a genie offered to make your dreams come true? A healthy family? The perfect job? A chance with your one true love? The possibilities seem endless! In author Mindy Klasky's newest novel, To Wish Or Not To Wish, a genie agrees to grant Erin Hollister three wishes. But with only three chances to get it right, she’s faced with a serious dilemma. So, we asked the author what she would wish for... 

One genie... Multiple wishes... When I started to write the As You Wish series, I let my imagination run wild with possibilities.

Okay. For storytelling purposes, I needed to put a limit on the wishes my characters could make. I mean, world peace, the eradication of poverty, and a cure for all diseases might make for a wonderful place to live out the rest of our natural lives, but as background for a romance? Not so much fun...


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

The September Seal of Excellence: The Hunger Games Trilogy By Suzanne Collins

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 29, 2010 | PERMALINK

September 2010's RT Seal of Excellence is awarded to Suzanne Collins' the Hunger Games trilogy. The third book, Mockingjay, was released this past month, but the RT editorial staff agrees that the seal must go to the complete series. 

Why was the Hunger Games series awarded the RT Seal Of Excellence and which other titles were contenders for the month of September? 

Find Out >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Writes and Wrongs: Online Advice for Aspiring Authors

BY Shiloh Walker, SEPTEMBER 29, 2010 | PERMALINK

Best-selling author Shiloh Walker pens this bi-monthly column of online advice for writers. Walker is a full-time author who is published in both e-book and traditional print formats. Now she shares her experience and advice to help aspiring and published authors figure out the "Writes and Wrongs" of the digital world.

Promo, Marketing…do I have to…and how do I? 

Howdy. Welcome to an interesting project of mine…where I attempt to talk about something I hate. Yep. Hate. Things like promo. Marketing. Words that make me want to shudder and cringe in horror.

But there's a lame little joke that rolls around every once in a while…it goes something like…

Did you hear about the author that didn't promo…neither did anybody else.

So…back to… Promo…marketing…do have I to…and how do I?

Promo and marketing--naturally, no, you don't have to, but it will help your career if you can find the right route for you.


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors
4COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

The Smart Chicks Kick It Tour from Canada!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 29, 2010 | PERMALINK

Sadly the Smart Chicks Kick It Tour is now over. But before they wrapped up, we got one last report from author Jeri Smith-Ready about the final event in Canada.

Approaching the finish line is the most exhilarating moment in any marathon*. Not because it’s over, but because that’s where you get to reflect on the journey and revel in what you’ve accomplished.  

Also, it’s where people are cheering the loudest.  

At the final Smart Chicks Kick It tour stop in Brampton, Ontario, we were greeted by one of the biggest crowds yet (400-500 people!). Some had waited outside the store since 8 AM, before it even opened. These Smartest-of-all-Chicks snagged front row seats and therefore spots at the front of the signing line. 

The three-hour-long signing line.  

Three hours! This was after readers had flown, driven, or taken the train from as far as New Brunswick and Cold Lake, Alberta (those two Chicks won special prizes for coming the farthest). We were amazed and honored by their dedication and stamina. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

J.T. Ellison Picks Her Favorite Taylor Jackson Novel!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 29, 2010 | PERMALINK

Suspense author J.T. Ellison is doing the unheard of and picking a favorite novel from her popular Taylor Jackson series! Find out what makes this mystery stand out from the rest and the four reasons Ellison is most proud of it.

At nearly every event I do, someone asks me which book in my Taylor Jackson series is my favorite. That question is nigh on impossible to answer, because you’re always in love with the book you just finished, because its done, and you’re always in love with the book just published, because it’s your newest baby, and you’re always in love with your first, because it’s your eldest child. You can see where that leads… no good answer.

I’m going to let you in on a little secret. My newest Taylor Jackson, The Immortals, is hands down my favorite in the series.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Go Behind The Scenes Of Liz Carlyle's Latest Historical Romance

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 28, 2010 | PERMALINK

Historical romance author Liz Carlyle's new novel, One Touch of Scandal, blends ancient magic, a heroine framed for murder and undeniable passion. In this exclusive interview, discover how the author researched the novel's Indian influences, peek into the minds of the lead characters and learn Carlyle's rule of thumb for measuring if a relationship will stand the test of time. And don't miss your chance to "comment for a cause" at the end of this post to help Avon and Liz Carlyle support the charity Cat Angels!

RT: In One Touch of Scandal there is a lot going on. High society, murder, mind reading. Is it possible for you to describe the plot for readers in, say, 10 words or less?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

On The Bookshelves Tuesday 9/28/2010

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 28, 2010 | PERMALINK

Here's a look at the titles we love that hit shelves this week.

Historical Romance


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Lauren Oliver

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 28, 2010 | PERMALINK

YA author Lauren Oliver is interviewed by RT's Web Editor Morgan Doremus. The author chats about her popular debut novel Before I Fall. Get all of the insider details about Oliver's high school experience, what it was like to write an "unlikable heroine" and how a novel about repeating the same day seven times is really a story of change.

Lauren Oliver On Before I Fall >>

Lauren Oliver On The Nuances Of Being A Teen >>

Lauren Oliver's Advice For High School Teens >>

Lauren Oliver On Her Next Projects >>

 

More From The RT BOOK REVIEWS Video Channel >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST