RT Daily Blog

Three Must-Read Paranormal Graphic Novels

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 22, 2010 | PERMALINK

Graphic novel lovers, are you craving some paranormal adventure? We are here to help with three *Web Exclusive Reviews* for spooky graphic novels you may have missed:

 

  Lucas and Jenna are stuck at summer camp, but something is clearly very wrong at Brain Camp. Some kids are disappearing while others are turning into braniacs and it's up to these two reluctant campers to get to the bottom of the mystery. This terrifying take on everyone's favorite school break was published in August. It was written by Laurence Klavan and Susan Kim with art by Faith Evan Hicks.

 

 


Read More>>

Tags: Comics/Graphic Novels/Manga, RT Daily Blog
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST


Tara Taylor Quinn On Psychological Twists

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 22, 2010 | PERMALINK

Tara Taylor Quinn’s romantic suspense series, The Chapman Files, has been full of unexpected twists and turns. This is especially true for Kelly Chapman’s latest adventure, this month’s The Fourth Victim. During this stop on the author's blog tour, she shares how her own life was affected by the psychological nightmare of domestic abuse, what she is doing to support a shelter in need and how readers can get also lend a helping hand. And don’t miss the author’s special giveaway at the end of the post! 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
4COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

WEEKLY WEB WRAP UP 11/19/2010

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 19, 2010 | PERMALINK

Did you spend your week making the P.I. Daddy's Personal Mission successful?

Here's what you missed on the RT website.

ASPIRING AUTHORS

Sherry Thomas on adding "That Touch of History" to your manuscript. Get Her Advice >>

Tim Downs suggests that all aspiring authors consider what they want from writing. Learn More >>

RT's Whitney provides some writer's block busters. Check Them Out >>

Mystery author Mary Stanton shares her suggestions for wanna-be mystery writers. Get the Scoop >>

MYSTERY: Authors from Thrillerfest 2010 on the value of conventions. Learn What They Think >>

HISTORICAL ROMANCE: Hear from the authors of A Harlequin Christmas Carol. Get the Details >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Sandra Brown Talks About Seeing Smoke Screen Come To Life

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 19, 2010 | PERMALINK

Sandra Brown's novel Smoke Screen comes to life on the Lifetime Movie Channel this Sunday night. The mystery, which got an RT rating of 4 1/2 stars when it was released in August 2008, follows TV reporter Britt Shelley as she attempts to prove her innocence after waking up next to a dead cop. Now RT's Morgan Doremus interviews the bestselling author to find out what her fans can expect from this movie adaptation.

***

What are your plans for Sunday night when Smoke Screen premieres on the Lifetime Movie Channel?

My husband and I will watch together from our "chairs" in the TV room of our house. Dogs Chase and Lucky will be nearby. We'll probably open a bottle of champagne. I'll have a flute in one hand and my phone in the other. I expect calls from family and friends.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

The Collected Inspirations for a Surprising Romantic Suspense

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 19, 2010 | PERMALINK

With thousands of books published every year, it can be difficult for authors to come up with a unique premise for a book. So when we found out that the e-book Trash Course revolved around a mystery set in a hoarder's booby-trapped house, we were immediately intrigued. We knew that we had to find out Penny Drake's inspiration for this unusual romantic suspense.

Humans collect stuff. But for some of us, this natural instinct goes haywire, and the victims discover they can’t throw anything away because they might need it some day. It’s not laziness or stupidity. It’s a psychological illness that’s very difficult to treat.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

3,2,1 ... Free Download

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 19, 2010 | PERMALINK

While we are not all sporting jet-packs and have robotic maids to do our bidding, Starbucks and sci-fi author Greg Bear are working together to make our world a little bit more futuristic. The coffeehouse giant has teamed up with the author to provide fans with a free e-copy of Bear's new novel, Hull Zero Three

Hull Zero Three marks the author's return to his deep space roots and the tale finds both the futuristic hero, Sanjay, and his ship in grave danger.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Science Fiction
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Mary Stanton’s Advice For Writing Mysteries

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 19, 2010 | PERMALINK

Author Mary Stanton, who also writes as Claudia Bishop, has published more than forty stories. Now the author shares “the absolute low-down, dirty-dog truth” about writing mystery novels. 

Late in the spring of 1993, my agent called me to tell me Berkley Prime Crime had made an offer on the partial of my first mystery novel, A Taste for Murder. And they wanted two more after that. 

I remember yelling for joy. I remember blessing my agent and all of his progeny to come. I remember shouting that this was my big chance.

I hung up the phone, danced around the kitchen, ran into the dining room and danced around that, then stopped smack in the middle of the living room floor and pulled my hair in complete and utter panic. 

I didn’t even have one complete mystery novel, and Berkley wanted THREE?

I grabbed a brown paper bag from the storage bin, breathed into it, and tried to get a grip. I didn’t know how to write a mystery novel. Berkley had made the offer based on the other novels I’d published and none of it, not one single book, was a mystery novel, and I was absolutely positively certain I was going to make a complete and utter ass of myself. 


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Fabio Moon and Gabriel Ba

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 18, 2010 | PERMALINK

Graphic artists Fabio Moon and Gabriel Ba are interviewed by RT's Web Editor Morgan Doremus. The authors chat about their award winning graphic novel, De:Tales. Get an insider look at the artists' inspiration and discover why they say De:Tales is a "universal" story. And don't miss the *Web Exclusive Review* of De:Tales after the interview!

Fabio Moon and Gabriel Ba Go Behind the Scenes of De:Tales >>

More From The RT BOOK REVIEWS Video Channel >>

Read the *Web Exclusive Review* of De:Tales >>


Read More>>

Tags: Comics/Graphic Novels/Manga, RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Footnotes

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 18, 2010 | PERMALINK


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

SCOOPED! Featuring NYC spots for book lovers, grammar resources and more!

BY Morgan Doremus, NOVEMBER 18, 2010 | PERMALINK

For my weekly column Scooped!, I scour the Internet, contact authors and pick my fellow RT editors' brains to make sure no reader question goes unanswered. This week, I pick out some NYC stops for a book lover, share some great grammar resources, find out Whitney's favorite recent read and more. Still have questions? Send them to me here and you may be featured in an upcoming post.

Question: I'm visiting New York City for the first time. What are some book lover stops I should make while I'm there? - Extremely Excited

Morgan: The New York Public Library at 40th Street and Fifth Avenue is absolutely beautiful. Not only are the lions that sit out front an iconic New York sight, but the craftsmanship and detail inside the library itself is breathtaking. Whitney's tip? Don't forget to look up! However, this being said, there are actually no books to check out at this library (alas, it is only for show). The actual circulation library is one block south.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST